We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vegan meals. ”
Review of La Casa de Bamboo

La Casa de Bamboo
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Huacachina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Thai, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: La Casa de Bamboo is a family run cafe, serving great coffee, the only place with an expresso machine, serving export quality peruvian coffee. All our food is home made vegetarian and vegan, and ranges from crepes, to thai curry, and home made brownies with ice cream.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Vegan meals. ”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I went there twice over a few days. It's run by a lovely hostess who was very accommodating to our vegan requests and gave us some great food. Definitely eat here.

Helpful?
Thank Seanv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    69
    12
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“The best food in Huacachina - Fact!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Ok first things first, there is not a lot of choice in Huacahina foodwise, and to be honest most places there serve pretty substandard food. Having been annoyed at this, I was so happy to come across this place. The food here is delicious, homemade and just what you need. I tried a few dishes whilst here and my favourite without doubt was the Thai red curry, with vegetables that were cooked to perfection! This is a rarity in Peru in general, so was a real treat. Other great dishes include the chocolate brownie, the mushroom pasta, the falafel and the hummous/guacamole dips.

Beth is really lovely, as are her children and you really get a warm and friendly welcome. Also, you have to meet Tom the cat, he is adorable. Seriously though, when eating in Huacachina there is nowhere better so don't even bother, it will be disappointing (don't say I didn't warn you). Thanks again for everything :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious, authentic food with no fuss”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We had both breakfast (French toast and fruit salad) and lunch (toasted sandwiches) in one sitting. Everything was delicious and good value for money. A must-try in Huacachina!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amberross90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucre, Bolivia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Warm And Friendly Reception”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was one of the best meals we've had in South America; not only was the food delicious but the reception we received was warm and friendly. The owner is so lovely, she makes you feel like you're back at home for 'Mum's' cooking. Her children are really sweet and we even got treated to a game of Uno with them whilst we waited for our food. The brownies and banoffee pies are absolutely out of this world (homemade) and the hummus and falafel is sensational (again, homemade!).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Special_Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were only in Huacachina for 24 hours and we ate here twice! The place is a tranquil oasis, within an oasis. The food and specifically the cakes here are amazing and it is all home made. We had brunch both times and enjoyed every morsel with home comforts such as porridge and french toast. The coffee is also lovely. We spent a good bit of time just relaxing in the shade of this charming garden. An absolute must visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa de Bamboo also viewed

Huacachina, Ica Region
Huacachina, Ica Region
 

Been to La Casa de Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing