We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butterfly Park near Aguas Calientes”

Mariposario de Machupicchu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed January 11, 2016

This is a lovely little butterfly park that we found by the side of the trail that leads from Macchu Picchu to Aguas Calientes. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly and the butterflies were abundant and easy to see. Well worth visiting.

Date of experience: September 2015
2  Thank Deuche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"eggs"
in 6 reviews
"life cycle"
in 5 reviews
"butterfly garden"
in 6 reviews
"eco system"
in 2 reviews
"blue morpho"
in 2 reviews
"personal tour"
in 2 reviews
"interesting place"
in 3 reviews
"different species"
in 2 reviews
"nice place to stop"
in 2 reviews
"great guide"
in 2 reviews
"low key"
in 2 reviews
"hiking trail"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful butterflies"
in 2 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 2 reviews
"native plants"
in 2 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 2 reviews
"min walk"
in 2 reviews
Filter

59 - 63 of 231 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2015

This place is amazing! I wish I could remember the name of the guide who carefully explained the organization's mission, the native plants critical to the butterflies ability to thrive, and each butterflies life. She was knowledgeable and able to describe technical detail in English as well as Spanish. Fascinating and fun!! It's only S10 to enter - like $3 US. It was such a surprisingly delightful tour, I made an additional donation on our way out.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank SantaMonicaCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2015

At a cost of 10 Soles to see some butterflies as the emerge from their cocoons this is worth the 20 minutes it takes to visit. Four different kinds of butterflies, the most impressive being large ones with blue wings when they fly. The host tells you about the butterflies, points out their various eggs, larvae and cocoons and what they are eating in the net-covered enclosure. I visited it as i walked to the Museum down the road and this was a more interesting stop for me.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank JohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2015

we had a great time walking to this...it's very close to the start of the MP hike entrance...the people that work there are so friendly, very knowledgeable about butterflies and their life cycles, as well as the local ecosystems...saw interesting species as well...they also have the cutest and only kitten we saw in town... :)

Cool short trip to see a bit of the area within a fairly short walk of AC. Good chance to also go to the museum from here close by if that's your thing. @ 30 mins each way.

Date of experience: November 2015
2  Thank JSDeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2015

I anticipated to see variety of colorful butterflies, not to learn the lifecycle of butterflies from a guided tour. This place is good for children science field trip.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Minda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariposario de Machupicchu also viewed

Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu
Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu
 
Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu
Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu
 

Been to Mariposario de Machupicchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing