We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big disappointment”
Review of Inti Winaywayna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inti Winaywayna
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here briefly before a 5.30am departure for Machu Picchu. The room was damp and smelly, the previous guests shampoo etc we're still in the shower from the previous day, I sat outside to avoid the stench of the room which was cut with stale incense. The foyer was tired with dirty furniture. We also got itchy bites from the beds, not a nice memory at all.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ThistleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    31
    10
    11
See reviews for
8
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

we were booked into this hotel but after seeing the public areas and room we decided to go elsewhere. The hotel needs a complete refurb. The furniture in the publc areas is old and tired and the room we were given was tiny. The bed almost touched the opposite wall. The bathroom was just as bad and a bit grimey. Its OK if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep but my wife and I like a bit more comfort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Muito simples. O apartamento é bem pequeno e o banheiro pior ainda. Não tem nenhum conforto. É aconselhável pagar mais USD 100,00 em um hotel melhor para hospedar-se em Aguas Calientes.
Very simple. The apartment is very small and the bathroom even worse. There's no comfort. It is advisable to pay an additional $ 100.00 in a better hotel to stay in Aguas Calientes.
Muy simple. El apartamento es muy pequeño y el baño incluso peor. No hay ningún confort. Es recomendable pagar un adicional de $ 100.00 en un hotel mejor para alojarse en Aguas Calientes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norberto99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Pros: 1) HUGE: the bedrooms and the bathrooms were huge! Very spacious. 2) Breakfast: Okay, we actually didn’t eat breakfast here as we got up very early to catch the buses to Machu Picchu, but we caught a glimpse of the menu, and it looked delicious! 3) Accommodating: They arranged a pick up from the train station to guide us to the hotel when we arrived. Also, when we checked out, they held our bags while we visited Machu Picchu. They also had someone meet us at the train station to drop them off so we didn’t have to walk back to the hotel and trek our bags back to the train station when departing. 4) Hot water: Very important during the autumn season in Peru

Cons: This really isn’t a con in my books, but I do just want to let others know that this hotel is farther away from the bus stop and the train station and closer to the hot springs. So depending on if you are particular about location, this may be seen as too far away. But honestly, it’s like a 10 minute walk to the bus stop and the train station. Not far at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank workanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you are in really good shape, the elevation and uphill climb to this hotel may be bearable but it was a really steep hill that seemed to go on forever. When we got to the hotel, the front desk person seemed clueless. The hotel smelled of urine. The rooms are not nearly as nice as the pictures make them out to be. There are no TVs and the bathrooms are tiny. You can hear everything in this hotel. Some people arrived later than us (after 11pm) and were dancing and laughing downstairs which you could clearly hear in the room. The breakfast was just OK. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawnstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Frankly the only reason to spend the night in Aguas Calientes is to be able to wake up first thing in the morning to go to Machu Picchu. We spent the night at this Hotel, which is more like a motel. It was clean and the staff was very friendly. When we arrived, there was nobody at the reception desk. After repeatedly calling out, the cleaning lady came and was nice enough to give us our key for the room and check in later (this appears common since we heard several people complaining that at other hotels, they could not find the staff to let them in the room). The hotel is up the hill from the train station 5-10 minute walk. What was really nice was on the day of checkout, the hotel starts serving breakfast at 4.30 am (as people prepare to board the first buses to Machu Picchu at 5.30 am) and offered free of charge to take your bags to the train station in the afternoon as people head out after climbing Machu Picchu. Trust me after climbing Machu Picchu and Wayna Picchu, this was a life saver because the bus leaves you at the bottom of the town. The hotel is located around a small plaza with another hotel and restaurants, but it was fairly loud, there were lots of talking, some firecrackers, some election campaign going on so if you are a light sleeper and looking forward to wake up at 4am, it may be inconvenient. Again, the staff was very kind and friendly and it was clean. It did the job which is to provide the means to allows us to get up at 4 am to visit at first dawn Machu Picchu.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank K-Davis2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Good location, not far from the bus and train and handy for the hot pools. It is also right in the heart of restaurants and shops. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel and rooms are only average.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rupa Wasi  Lodge
Rupa Wasi Lodge
#12 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hatun Inti Classic
Hatun Inti Classic
#14 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inti Winaywayna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inti Winaywayna

Property: Inti Winaywayna
Address: Av. Confraternidad 452 | Edificio Santa Lucia Dpto. 303, Wanchaq, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Inti Winaywayna Hotel Aguas Calientes
Inti Winaywayna Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing