We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good based on the area”
Review of Inti Winaywayna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aguas Calientes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inti Winaywayna
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This hotel was in a package with our tour. Although some of the older folks found it a bit of a trek from the station with their luggage the hotel was pleasant. Our party had rooms ranging from very so so to ours which we found very nice. The room we had was clean and comfortable as were others in the hotel but we were on the 4th floor with a veiw over a little square and our friends had a smaller room with no outside window. It appears to be pot luck in South America where hotel rooms are concerned. Staff were pleasant without going out of their way.
A good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Takeiteasytheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 72 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

My wife, daughter and I stayed in this hotel on the night before our early departure for Machu Picchu the next morning. We were met at the train station by a hotel staff member as well as our guide for the next day. A very comforting way to arrive in a strange town. The ten minute walk to the hotel was actually a nice way to see some of the town which is not very big. The hotel was clean, quite, room was spacious, the staff was most accomodating and the breakfast was more than adequate. I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: There was a hostel next door which was fairly noisy until about 11:oo PM. Try to avoid that side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We arrived as a group late in the evening and the hotel had lost (?!) our reservations forcing us to look elsewhere. The hotel looked reasonably clean and there were a large number of US college fraternity members staying as guests.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Aleem_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We booked our trip through Peru in Holland and the agency booked this hotel. After checking out all our hotels on internet we saw the reviews about Inti Winaywayna and were not happy. But since it would only be for one night we just let it go. When we arrived in Aguas Calientes we were met at the train station by some guy from the hotel who took us to the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised when we saw our rooms, very big, huge bathroom with an amazing view over the jungle and a (very small) balcony. It is true that there are a few rooms without any windows but the outer rooms are perfect and those were the one we got. Aguas Calientes is very small so it doesn't really matter where you stay but this is a good spot, 2 minutes walk and you are right in the center of town.

If I would ever have the opportunity to go back to Machu Picchu I would go back to this hotel without any hesitation! The staff were nice and we had an amazing massage in our hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudithAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

rooms where ok, just what i paid for. hot shower, nice bed and tv. breakfast REALLY por, the recepcionist REALLY bad. but well, for one night its worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jealbornoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We were assigned room 204 which had no outside window, only one out into the stair lobby!

Other people had specifically asked for the rooms with proper windows so we couldn´t be swopped over. The room smelt really really damp and despite having the door open for a couple of hours the smell never shifted.

The whole hotel has a serios damp problem as all of the room had the windows open to try to clear the smell.

The staff did try to help but there isn´t much they can do to overcome the fundamental problem that this hotel has.

The shower was pretty good once you let it run for 5 mins to get some hot water, there is also a hair dryer.

I would only stay in this place again if there was no where else at all to stay at.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I_MLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

The hotel is located off the beaten path in a residential section of town. The room was a concrete box, small and damp with no window other than a sliding window overlooking the hallway and no furniture other than the bed. There was a dehumidifier in the room that made a terrible noise when it started up. The dehumidifier was obviously necessary because there was a large water spot on the ceiling, partially covered up by a painting, which was the only decoration in the room. Although the room was prepaid through a package, we left and booked a room at the Hatuchay Towers. We knew we wouldn't be getting any sleep in this dingy, damp, smelly room, so paying for another hotel was worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank traveljunkie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rupa Wasi  Lodge
Rupa Wasi Lodge
#13 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
607 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hatun Inti Classic
Hatun Inti Classic
#17 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inti Punku
Inti Punku
#25 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waman Hotel
Waman Hotel
#11 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inti Winaywayna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inti Winaywayna

Address: Av. Confraternidad 452 | Edificio Santa Lucia Dpto. 303, Wanchaq, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $106 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Inti Winaywayna Hotel Aguas Calientes
Inti Winaywayna Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing