We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost reservations?!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inti Winaywayna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aguas Calientes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inti Winaywayna
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lost reservations?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We arrived as a group late in the evening and the hotel had lost (?!) our reservations forcing us to look elsewhere. The hotel looked reasonably clean and there were a large number of US college fraternity members staying as guests.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aleem_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    31
    10
    11
See reviews for
8
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We booked our trip through Peru in Holland and the agency booked this hotel. After checking out all our hotels on internet we saw the reviews about Inti Winaywayna and were not happy. But since it would only be for one night we just let it go. When we arrived in Aguas Calientes we were met at the train station by some guy from the hotel who took us to the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised when we saw our rooms, very big, huge bathroom with an amazing view over the jungle and a (very small) balcony. It is true that there are a few rooms without any windows but the outer rooms are perfect and those were the one we got. Aguas Calientes is very small so it doesn't really matter where you stay but this is a good spot, 2 minutes walk and you are right in the center of town.

If I would ever have the opportunity to go back to Machu Picchu I would go back to this hotel without any hesitation! The staff were nice and we had an amazing massage in our hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudithAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

rooms where ok, just what i paid for. hot shower, nice bed and tv. breakfast REALLY por, the recepcionist REALLY bad. but well, for one night its worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jealbornoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

We were assigned room 204 which had no outside window, only one out into the stair lobby!

Other people had specifically asked for the rooms with proper windows so we couldn´t be swopped over. The room smelt really really damp and despite having the door open for a couple of hours the smell never shifted.

The whole hotel has a serios damp problem as all of the room had the windows open to try to clear the smell.

The staff did try to help but there isn´t much they can do to overcome the fundamental problem that this hotel has.

The shower was pretty good once you let it run for 5 mins to get some hot water, there is also a hair dryer.

I would only stay in this place again if there was no where else at all to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I_MLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

The hotel is located off the beaten path in a residential section of town. The room was a concrete box, small and damp with no window other than a sliding window overlooking the hallway and no furniture other than the bed. There was a dehumidifier in the room that made a terrible noise when it started up. The dehumidifier was obviously necessary because there was a large water spot on the ceiling, partially covered up by a painting, which was the only decoration in the room. Although the room was prepaid through a package, we left and booked a room at the Hatuchay Towers. We knew we wouldn't be getting any sleep in this dingy, damp, smelly room, so paying for another hotel was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

We booked this hotel through South America Hotels.net, which features nice photographs of clean rooms with nice views. Our room had no windows, opening into a corridor near reception. It was damp, smelled damp and had been occupied by smokers, even though we requested no smoking accommodation. There was no furniture other than a bed and bedside cabinets. The room was almost clean.
Everyone gets up early in Aguas Callientes and things get pretty noisy at 5am. But this hotel seemed to be noisy all night with staff listening to the radio loudly in reception, or walking the corridors with their walky talkies.
Breakfast at the hotel was average.
The location was a little way from the better end of town and surrounded by building sites. We had to walk through rubble to get to the reception.
In over a month of travel, this was the worst hotel we stayed in while in Peru.

  • Liked — Can't think of a good point.
  • Disliked — Smelly, damp, noisy room.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2007

The service here really shines. When the girl at the front desk realized that we were going to miss the free breakfast (b/c we were planning on going to MP before sunrise) she offered to have packed lunches made by 5AM! They also stored our luggage for the day, then brought it out to the train station in time for our train.

The rooms themselves are nothing to speak of -- small and cramped, but everything was clean (esp. the bathroom). Be careful not to get one of the fully interior rooms with no outside windows for ventilation. Our bathroom window cracked open onto the hallway to let the steam out and between that and the thin doors, we could hear everyone passing in the hallway. Earplugs did the trick, but be forewarned.

  • Liked — Excellent service.
  • Disliked — You could hear hallway noise
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAmF0rReal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.0 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rupa Wasi  Lodge
Rupa Wasi Lodge
#12 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inti Winaywayna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inti Winaywayna

Property: Inti Winaywayna
Address: Av. Confraternidad 452 | Edificio Santa Lucia Dpto. 303, Wanchaq, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Inti Winaywayna Hotel Aguas Calientes
Inti Winaywayna Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing