We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT! Service outstanding, gourmet dining, deinitely 5 star gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
“PERFECT! Service outstanding, gourmet dining, deinitely 5 star gem!”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

My husband and I arrived dirty and sweaty, with a blue rice bag containing all our belongings after completing five days hiking/camping the Inca Trail and Machu Picchu. We were warmly greeted with cool juice. When the front desk attendant heard we intended to return to Machu Picchu again the next day, she immediately noted the time (late afternoon) and sent a porter to town to purchase admission tickets and round trip bus pass for us. She also upgraded our room when she learned it was our anniversary. It was simply fabulous! Sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine with the majestic view of the mountains and river at sunset was perfect. The hotel is immaculate.The bedding luxurious. The bathroom was definitely 5 star- by American standards--very large. It had a large 2 person jacuzzi and separate shower. Dinner (included in room cost) was a 5 course, gourmet dining experience with impeccable service. Buffet breakfast (also included with room) had large selection of fresh fruit, meat, cheese, cereal, pastries, breads and juices coffee. Next day for return to Machu Picchu, bus picked us up and dropped us off at hotel. Hotel also allowed us to check out late so we could take a shower after Machu Picchu, before the long train ride back to Cusco at 4 pm. I can't think of a single thing that needs improvement!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcmtpbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,355
    335
    84
    34
    16
See reviews for
414
871
82
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, UK
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We arrived late afternoon after doing the trek and had a quick turnaround to meet up with friends for a meal. We therefore didn't have time to complain about the shower which didn't work. Our room was damp and musty.
Breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly - they could possibly have sorted out the problems, but we chose to spend our limited time enjoying the location. Our friends had a shower which worked but the bathroom had too many mosquitoes to enable them to relax and enjoy the shower we all craved after the trek.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niel-Wolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We were to get picked up by our guide at the train station and be taken for the Machu Picchu tour, and go to Sumaq afterwards. Except our guide did not show up, Sumaq and the manager Alejandro, brought us to the hotel, made us immediately comfortable, gave us a snack, juices - he got on the phone, got in touch with the tour company and the guide showed up 15 min later.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vyas274352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang,Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Totally unexpected to find such a wonderful hotel in this remote lcoation. The staff of the hotel were beyond helpful. The hotel restaurant served excellent Peruvian cuisine. The rooms were very clean and very well equiped. Located on the bank of the Urubamba River with truly dramatic views of the Urubamba Valley.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lackawanna, New York
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

WE just returned from South America. We stayed at Sumaq Hotel while we were in Machu Pichu and it was wonderful!! The rooms were beautiful and the meals were even better. I would not have expected so many gourmet meals in Peru. It is definitely worth the price. I feel it was better than the Sanctuary Inn. You are right in town and could wander around and taking the bus up to the park is half the fun. I can't believe they never have any accidents!!! Great trip!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDEbDDS1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We booked into the Sumaq hotel after reading the many rave reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel was clean and tidy, our room was large, and the dinner included in our rates was good. However we did not experience the excellent service that many other reviewers spoke of. The staff were friendly, but did not go out of their way for us. Perhaps this was because we arrived with our guide, who looked after things where the staff may have otherwise. The hotel was also very large. We would have preferred something more 'boutique' and intimate. For us it didnt make for the unique experience that we were looking for, but for many I am sure that it would be just fine, as you will see from the other reviews!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapermelbgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

After seeing the beauty of Machu Picchu by day, the Sumaq was an elegant respite from the heat and crowds. The chocolates, meals and steam sauna were wonderful. The steam sauna was a relaxing healing experience after getting a cold from the pollution in Lima. Its a 'must-do' for overall peace of mind & relaxation. We will definitley return!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowy1466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,024 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
2,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Property: SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing