We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,156)
Filter reviews
2,156 results
Traveler rating
1,587
401
105
42
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,587
401
105
42
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ceviche the bus the river cooking class machu picchu welcome drink beautiful hotel star hotel pisco sours breakfast and dinner the hotel staff course dinner included dinner i highly recommend this hotel beautiful room sacred valley sanctuary lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,156 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2019

HOtel looks great from the lobby, but the rooms were small, no hangers in the closet, the local train is 20 feet outside your window. I thought an airplane was landing on top of the building during the night...it was a train passing by...what a way to wake up!
The staff at the front desk seemed unexperienced.LOcation is perfect to head to Machu PIcchu day trip to hike the trails. Great location to the local shops, footsteps away.

Room tip: Great location to Machu PIcchu, but trains run thru the night...noisey!
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BankerT27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

Of the five hotels we used in Peru, the Sumaq, Aguas Calientes, was clearly the best. Starting with the "curb appeal" of the building, our stay got better and better. Staff personnel were accessible, friendly, and helpful. The restuarant was excellent with a full array of typical Peruvian and internatinal cuisine. The ceviche was wonderfully tart and spicy, and the veal done perfectly. We enjoyed classes (included) in making ceviche and pisco sours, thanks to a capable bartender and a well-schooled chef. The rooms are ample, clean, and well decorated. Beds are comfortable and the pillows excellent. The only drawback was intermittant access to WiFi; one almost had to be in halls and public areas to get on line. A minor issue for an otherwise excellent establishment

Room tip: View of the beautiful Urubamba River that created the Sacred Valley
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Dear Paul,
We appreciate your kind comment and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel.
We work hard to meet your expectations, and we are happy to know that our staff, culinary experience and services in general have been to your liking. We hope that, thanks to the culinary classes that you have taken part in, you can prepare some Peruvian dishes at home.
We hope to see you soon at Sumaq.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

We stayed at Sumaq when we visited Machu Picchu. When we arrived at the station there were porters from the hotel there to pick up our luggage and deposit it at the hotel so that we didn't have to schlapp it. When we arrived at the Sumaq we were welcomed with a glass of bubbly (non-alcoholic) and some nibbles and checked into a nice room with a view of the river. Included in our rate was a cocktail breakfast and also dinner and as in the evening it rained it was lovely not to have to venture out for dinner. When taking the bus down from Machu Picchu it will stop at the hotel if you request as you enter the bus. And the hotel is only a short walk to the train station.

Room tip: overlooking the river - high floor
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Dear Polly,
Greetings from the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel family. We appreciate your preference during your trip to Machu Picchu. We work hard to meet your expectations, and we are happy to know that our staff, culinary experience and services in general have been to your liking.
Your opinion encourages us to continue working as we take part in the wonderful experience that our guests have in Machu Picchu.
We hope that you will return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019

This may just be the nicest hotel I've stayed in - anywhere! It is a lovely hotel at the base of the mountain. Rooms are beautifully-appointed, beds are comfortable and we had a quiet and restful night's sleep. Service is outstanding as well. The hotel provides so many little extras. Our check-in included an invitation to sit on comfortable couches and enjoy a lemonade and small snack, while they came to us with an ipad to complete the check-in process. We left our room briefly to explore the area, and came back to find a beautifully arranged fruit tray waiting for us in our room. An attendant knocked on our door and asked us if we needed more towels (even though we had already been provided 2 per person), then offered us chocolates when we politely declined. Breakfast and dinner (with wine) were included in our overnight stay. Both were delicious. They even offered us a free cooking class, which we had no time for. (Machu Picchu awaited!) This was an outstanding hotel, definitely the best of the 5 hotels that we stayed in while traveling around Peru.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aewarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Dear Guest,
Greetings from the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel family. We appreciate your preference during your trip to Machu Picchu. We work hard to meet your expectations, and we are happy to know that our staff, culinary experience and services in general have been to your liking.
Your opinion encourages us to continue working as we take part in the wonderful experience that our guests have in Machu Picchu.
We hope that you will return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

Booked the Hotel almost a year ago for what was to be a special occasion. Flew from Australia to experience the mystique of Machu Picchu. Selected the Hotel based on reviews despite the heavy price.

Many great aspects of the experience but also many frustrating ones. Things that should not happen in a Hotel of such standard and price. Staff were friendly and tried to make good the various “oops” but the apologies one thing after another wore thin.

Great location, great vibe. Sadly the little things do matter.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Doryundercover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews