We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu(Aguas Calientes)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
$118
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$185
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Waman Hotel Machupicchu(Aguas Calientes)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
El MaPi by Inkaterra(Aguas Calientes)
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Casa del Sol Machupicchu(Aguas Calientes)
$223
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ecopackers Machupicchu(Aguas Calientes)(Great Value!)
$50
$28
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$548
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,954)
Filter reviews
1,954 results
Traveler rating
1,448
363
91
35
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,448
363
91
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscevichethe busthe rivercooking classmachu picchuwelcome drinkbeautiful hotelstar hotelpisco soursthe hotel staffcourse dinnerbreakfast and dinneri highly recommend this hotelbeautiful roomincluded dinnerroom ratesacred valley
Filter
Updating list...
1,215 - 1,220 of 1,954 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We have just returned from a 12 day vacation to Peru with our 12 yr. old grandson. The Sumaq hotel was Perfect! The rooms were gorgeous, the food was delicious and very artfully prepared, and the staff was exceedingly attentive and pleasant. The location right on the river at the base of the mountain, couldn't be more convenient to Machu Picchu. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Packer178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Staff was wonderful, friendly and professional. Loved the eco friendly amenities! The food was beyond fantastic and your iced coca tea was very yummy! The hotel is gorgeous, just a couple minutes to town and train station! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

beautiful rooms, fantastic food, and amazing staff right at the foot of Machu Picchu

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
Thank CorinneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

no heat and no hot water no response to questions as to why not good ability to communicate in english even though in a major tourist area could not get proper info on how to get luggage back to train station without hiking up a hill with two women and a 13 yr old

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank ttonneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, E-commerce Manager at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2010

Dear Mr. Ttonneman,
Thank you for staying at Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel.
We would like to apologize for the inconvenient you had during your stay at the hotel.
It’s important to say, that the problem you’ve mentioned was solved within the 30 minutes it was reported.
By the day of your visit, it was the reopening of the town and unfortunately, there was a general blackout in Machu Picchu that affected all the area and caused a problem in our water pumps which provide the hot water and heating.
We are really sorry you had to go through this inconvenient. Our mission is to provide the best service and do everything possible to accomplish and exceed your expectations.

We look forward to have you again at the hotel.
Best regards,

E-commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

When I first planned my trip to Machu Picchu and Peru my biggest concern was finding a great hotel around Machu Picchu. What I found at the Sumaq Machu PIcchu was pure bliss. I was shocked and very happy how well the hotel was built and how comfy the rooms were. Service was top notch and the food was perfect.

I would go back to Machu Picchu just to stay at Sumaq and I plan on heading back again, just a year after I was last there.

You will not want to leave. Sumaq is the perfect hotel in the perfect location.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoireeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews