We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,064)
Filter reviews
2,064 results
Traveler rating
1,521
388
97
39
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,521
388
97
39
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ceviche the bus the river cooking class machu picchu welcome drink beautiful hotel star hotel pisco sours the hotel staff course dinner breakfast and dinner included dinner i highly recommend this hotel sacred valley sanctuary lodge junior suite
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 2,064 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

We spent two days and nights here before our trip to Machu Picchu. It's location is the best. The staff is the best. The food is phenomenal. The hotel is located next to a stream. Only minor complaint is that we were on the first floor, so we can hear when the buses to Machu Picchu passed by. If I were to come back, I would request a room on a higher floor.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank DiamondSuave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016

Planned our trip to Peru for months and selected this hotel based on reviews and description of services...We were not wrong! From the minute they pick you up at the train station to the check out day, everything is delivered with excellent sense of service. Nice welcome iced tea upon arrival, smooth check in process, escorted to the room, no mixed up in the room category, it had exactly what we asked for...balcony, river view, king bed, breathtaking view! Excellent food quality and presentation and dinner and lunch...outstanding service, great food variety at the breakfast buffet which opens at 5am so you make it to machupicchu on time...nice representation of peruvian dishes at breakfast. Great spa service, very nice bartenders, got to meet the Chef who shared some nice tricks, excellent ceviche & pisco class....what can I say, our stay was beyond memorable, will do it all over again! I've worked in luxury resorts for over 15 years, and I can say that Sumaq has certainly the right formula to run their business. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florida16Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile

Stayed only 1 night as part of a group tour and had a room on the first floor overlooking the river (& road to Machu Pichu). The road was no more than 3 metres from our window. Because there are no roads in or out of the village (only access is by train), at most times of the day the only traffic on the road are the small buses that ferry thousands of tourists up the mountain to Machu Pichu and as the sacred site closes at 5:00pm the last bus to pass is at about 6pm. But they don't tell you about the mass migration at some ungodly hour in the morning (4:30am ?) of buses taking tourists to see the sunrise! This was a bit much for an aged body trying to recover from the assent the day before.
There are probably quieter rooms but I suspect they might look at a rock face at the back of the hotel and sleep can be caught up on on the train back up the valley to the big smoke of Ollantaytambo!
Otherwise apart from the ubiquitous feather doona that I tend to drown in, the hotel and staff were just great.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Warooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016

Very comfortable hotel closest to the mountain. Great staff. Everyone is very attentive to ensure you have a good time.Excellent food. The dinner was very good, and the choices for breakfast excellent. Very comfortable. They will transfer your luggage to the train-station so you can enjoy a full day on the mountain!

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank _liselottelindgren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

We were here this month, Sept 2016. Great rooms, we got an upgraded room. Nice bathrooms, wifi in your room, but somewhat weak.

Service was quite good, it seems Peru is a very hospitable country because of its people. MP was a great place to visit, and this hotel is nestled right in the valley, with breathtaking views near the river.

The spa service was excellent. We did not use the pool b/c of season.

Overall, if you are in MP and wish for a luxury respite from the days of hiking, this is your place.

I was not very impressed with the food. Supposedly this hotel has a top notch chef, but the food left something to be desired. It's all subjective, my 2 cents.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank natural1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews