We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumaq”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Sumaq”
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Awesome Hotel ... 5 star all the way ... rooms are exquisite ... staff very helpful!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABQCappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    331
    83
    33
    16
See reviews for
397
861
82
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I never expected to be host by a hotel like that in Peru. It was one of the best experiences I ever had. I am in travel business since 1985 and hardly a hotel surprises me as this one did. Rooms are very comfortable, high quality amenities, very well maintained building, a professional staff really takes care of your needs and the food is out of this planet. During one of dinners we had, I required the presence of the chef and he was touched by the standing ovation he received from all members of the group. As Peru is the third largest country in South America and they realized tourism is the main key to keep poverty behind and bring prosper to the people. Tourism in Peru must be seen as an example for Argentina and Brazil. The quality of the services in every hotel gets better every year. I highly recommend this hotel because of the outstanding service provided. It is simply excellent. (http://www.sumaqhotelperu.com/)

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRLUCAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, california
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed at Sumaq for two nights and we could not be happier with our stay! A great alternative to the overly priced Sanctuary Lodge. We booked a room and meal plan that allowed two meals at the Sumaq's restaurant per day, and let me say, the food was fantastic! Hands down the best restaurant in Aguas Calientes. We were big fans of the Sumaq Salad! The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the doting staff was extremely friendly. Front rooms can be noisy when the Machu Picchu buses leave for sunrise, but they also have the best views. A truly wonderful hotel. Money well spent!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alycarleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2009

A great find; modern hotel at the base of Machu Picchu. Facilities are comfortable, very clean, with great amenties. Excellent service. Dinner menu expectional. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great for people who like the adventure of a place like Machu Picchu, but want to stay in luxury.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleobengal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Va.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

When we reached Aguas Caliente, Sumaq staff were there to greet us and take our luggage on to Sumaq Hotel while we went with our guide to Machu Picchu. We found Sumaq a soothing respite after a day exploring Machu Picchu. Each staff member at Sumaq Hotel showed professionalism and excellence in customer service. Dinner was wonderful, as were the welcoming fruit drinks and the cocktails we sipped in the upstairs bar/lounge. We loved our room whose balcony overlooked the Urubamba River. We had no problem our second day taking the bus - staff make the call and then the bus stops at the door of the Sumaq - up to Machu Picchu for more exploration, and then back again for our lunch (it was a staff member who suggested we have our lunch at the one outside table overlooking the Urubamba River, which we did) before heading to the train station for our return to Cusco. And, of course, when we arrived at the train station, Sumaq Hotel staff had already brought our luggage there. This is a very well run excellent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Just got back from 8 days in Peru. The Sumaq was my favorite hotel. The food, service, hospitality, room, view, and cleanliness were top notch.
What I liked:
You are greeted with a glass of freshly squeezed juice when checking in.
There are many perks: afternoon deserts, teas, pisco sours...
All the rooms open to fabulous views of the river
Clean, clean, clean!
all updated (new hotel) technology
it is modern yet still feels authentic
one of the best dinner I've ever eaten
the bus to Machu Picchu can pick you up & drop you off infront of the hotel

What I didn't like:
The Spa prices are ridiculously high

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleymartabano
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

The Sumaq was a perfect refuge from a hectic amount of travel, and the perfect place to spend the night before our 5am trek up to machu picchu. The staff was incredibly accommodating, the food fantastic, and the rooms very nice. My only complaint is that I wish we could stay longer. Amazing.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleymartabano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
2,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Property: SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing