We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Quiet, edge of town, great service, good restaurant, nice view across the road of Urubamba River.

Avoid the craziness of town if you're tired. This is a restful place. And each employee seemed to take an extra step of hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GManPackerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,355
    335
    84
    34
    16
See reviews for
414
871
82
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to stay had brilliant room 1107 has jacuzzi bath and a real fireplace in seating area nice kingsize bed very comfortable - we were on a tour and was the best all round hotel we stayed in service was excellent - great position overlooking the river - bus stops right outside on way back from Machupicchu. Food was well presented and staff very attentive and good humoured. They even let us have a second breakfast before and after early trip up to Machupicchu - great place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ExeterUKMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you very much for giving us a very nice review. We are grateful for your nice words towards our property and services, Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel
Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had a great stay here which included breakfast buffet and 3 course dinner. Beautiful rooms and facilities with undertones of the great Inka culture. Amazing food, great view of the Urubamba River, and comfy beds. Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: request/purchase a river facing room, great views and soothing sounds as you sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmike01star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
thank you very much for giving us your feedback about our property. We appreciate your nice review

We really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberino Di Mugello, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

THe setting over the roaring river is stunning. The staff couldnt be more helpful, especially going to the bus station to ensure the bus to MP stops right in front of hotel. The breakfast and dinner were both included, making the value incredible for a family of four. The food was excellent. Prior to arriving i interacted with the concierge who made all the right suggestions. When we arrived our tickets for two days of hiking were awaiting, along with a brilliat guide named Roberto. Due to concierge suggestion we booked Wayna Pichu which was the highlight of our trip to Peru.

Only possible downside, but just to be aware, is the distance from the train, especially if its raining. But they meet you and take your luggage, and becomes part of the experience. Anyone who complains about this place has something wrong with them, not with Sumaq. Enjoy

Room Tip: make sure you are overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jefsackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.
We really appreciate your time sharing your nice review on our property
Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We spent one night here as part of a Globus tour group and the hotel were happy for us to check out an hour later with no extra charge. This allowed some of our group to do another trip up to Machu Picchu. We had dinner and breakfast and the food was fabulous, the dinner especially. We also had a welcome drink and the chefs did a cooking demonstration for our tour group.
The location is right on the river and a few steps walk from the train and shopping precinct, however it was quiet. A great hotel in a magical place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments on our services. We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was our first trip to Peru with my family. The hotel was very expensive, more than I normally spend, but I wanted to ensure we were comfortable.. I looked at reviews of all other hotels including Sanctuary Lodge and Sumaq was by far the best rated hotel in the area. We spent 2 nights at the hotel on a package that included dinner and SPA. Both were excellent. The staff was trying to help at all times. We also arranged for a private guide through the hotel - his name was Roberto. He was excellent. Very laid back and family friendly. We enjoyed our time with him and learning more about Peru and the Machu Picchu history and area.
The hotel is not fancy like in the US, but if you compare it to everything else in the area it's by far the best around in my view.

Room Tip: Get a Jr. Suite Half Board. We faced the river and the noise of the river was loud but relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much for giving us your feedback about our property
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our hotel and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at the hotel during the New Year' holiday. We couldn't have been more pleased with the service. Every staff member, to a person, was friendly and courteous. No one in our party were fluent Spanish speakers; the staff ensured we were taken care of. Special courtesies such as hauling luggage between the train and hotel were very nice and allowed us to skip check-in and go immediately up the mountain from the train station. The mountain shuttle bus will also stop at the hotel if you ask for it. Our room was in front at ground level looking at the road and white water river. The roar of the water from the river overpowered any road noise and bus traffic. We had no problem sleeping at night. Our room was very clean and very comfortable for the three of us - we each had our own bed in a very spacious and well appointed room. The morning breakfast buffet, included in our rate, was wonderful with local fruits, juices and entrees as well as the typical pastries you find everywhere. Dinner was New Year's Eve with a special event hosted by the hotel. Great food and fun though they could have used some additional wait staff to help with the number of guests in the dining room. We loved the band. We are adventurous eaters and enjoyed the meal with some special meats (for us) like alpaca. The prices here are a little high, but not a rip-off considering where you are and the services provided. We recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCFoodHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you very much, we really appreciate all of the highlighted comments about our facilities and services, your absolute satisfaction it is our only reason to be.

Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel thank you one more time for your visit and it would be lovely if you can visit us again sometime soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,024 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
2,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Property: SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing