We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service all round.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent service all round.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were so glad to arrive at the hotel. We had hiked from K104 up to the Sun-gate and then down to Machu Pichu and then taken the bus down the hill, so we had all had quite a busy day. We had a good welcome with a drink a snack and flannels to wipe our hands. Our room was at the front and yes the noise from the river is very loud but after our full day walking and then a meal with drinks neither of us were disturbed by the constant roar, in fact for me it provided a pleasant backdrop. The hotel warmed us about mosquitos and in fact supplied a plug in deterrent but we had no problems. Not being up to venturing out in the evening we ate in the hotel and the 4 of us enjoyed our meal, the menu was fairly extensive and the food well presented. This being our first day in nearly 2 weeks that we were at a lower altitude we hit the pisco sours, beer and wine, perhaps that helped us sleep! Breakfast the next day was very good. The only downside for me was that the room was on the small side compared to those in other hotels we had in Peru.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the river, a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FandDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your high appreciation!!!

The Sumaq´s family was very happy to assist you at the hotel.
We are happy to read that you found pleasure and quiet in your room. As you mention, the location of Sumaq is privileged because it is at the foot of the Machu Picchu Mountain and has a panoramic view of Vilcanota River.

Glad to know that you did enjoy our breakfast and foods. As you have noticed, our breakfast buffet is variety and exquisite. And meals are prepared with great dedication.

Please be sure that we will make a follow of your comment about the spa.
We look forward to hosting you in the next future.

Best regards,
Ecommerce - Sumaq
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    320
    81
    33
    14
See reviews for
371
820
78
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpine
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a wonderful Hotel, The rooms were lovely and you can hear the river run all night long if you have a river facing room. The rooms were excellent and had everything you need. I had three different meaks at the restraubt abd the food and choices were awesome.

The only complaint I have is that the restaurant should be able to have water more available and it would be nice to get more of it without having to pay for it.

I would recommend this Hotel to anyone who needs to stay at Machu Pichu.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of Hotel are quit. No fitness center no pool. Easy to get to and would be my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kirby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Grettings from Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!

Thank you very much for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very glad for your words and recommendation for services and food. As you say, the location of Sumaq is privileged because it is at the foot of the Machu Picchu Mountain and has a beautiful view of Vilcanota River.

Do look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards,
E-commerce Sumaq
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jacinto, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

What a wonderful experience, from the staff to the tour guide which lead us around Machu Pichu for 4 hours. Our tour guide had his B.S. in history of the Inca people, what a wonderful day full of history and beauty. We stayed one night in a beautiful suite, and then the hotel arranged for us to get tickets to hike the STAIRS OF DEATH or Wana Pichu, what a beautiful hike, we worried about nothing because the hotel staff was very attentive and wonderful. Spend the money and stay at the best place in town... a romantic beautiful place...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for experiencing Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!

We are very happy to know that your stay in Sumaq was empty of care by our friendly team.

Without question, Wayna Picchu is a unique experience! You will never forget your trip in the heart of the inca´s culture.

We look forward to hosting you in the next future.

Best regards,

E- commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearmont, Missouri
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

What a wonderfully welcoming place this hotel is. It surrounds you with beauty from within and without. Look out any window to see clouds and forest and mountains and streams. Look around you in the lobby or dinning room or bar and you see the artistry of the Inca and Peruvian culture. The rooms are also beautiful and perfectly maintained.
Then, of course, there is the food. Just the best.
If you have the opportunity to stay at the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel, you are one lucky person.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeCMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!

We are very glad for your high appreciation!

It is exciting to read your comment and see that you did enjoy your experience in our hotel.

As your description, we designed Sumaq with the proposed to bring a cultural atmosphere where our guest can feel the Andean culture inside or outside of the hotel.

Our culinary proposal is also one of our best dedications, we buy the best imputs, the dishes are made trough an exclusive research and the results are the exquisite flavors.

Sure hope to welcome you back!

Best regards,

E-commerce Sumaq
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on the 9:00 am train and were met by hotel staff who took out luggage to the hotel. Our guide met us a well and took us immediately on our tour of Macchu Picchu. After finishing and returning to the hotel, we were met with warm towels to freshen up while they checked us in. We were also given fresh squeezed oj and homemade chips. Dinner at the restaurant was fantastic. We tried 4 different entrees and all were fantastic.. as were the desserts. Our wait staff led by Hermidario were wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel. Thank you for considering SUMAQ with your 5 points.
Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Try the Pisco Sours (Guido makes excellent Pisco cocktails). Also recommend the Cerviche (appetizer on the dinner menu- dinner is included in the hotel fee). Ask about the Pisco Sour and Cerbiche class- free of charge. River view was spectacular, our room could have used new rugs, but no big deal. Front desk is extremely helpful. Restaurant staff was fantastic.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel and share your experience with us

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Myself and my husband started out honeymoon here and what a great place to start. When we got off the train they were the waiting for us, took our bags and walked us down to the hotel. It is only two minutes away.

When we arrived first we were brought to a room junior sweet, which was not the room that's we had booked. We had been upgraded when booking to a sumaq sweet, we brought our bags down and explained that Jorge had upgraded our room, they got the room ready within an hour which was great. The room was far superior, huge comfortable bed and an amazing bathroom, we we looking over the river, then view is breath taking. I thought that as they knew that it was our honeymoon they would do a little something special but that was not done, we were spoilt on the train though!!

We had dinner that night, which was delicious, lamb shank, was very tasty! Food in the hotel is very good, breakfast has everything you would

We organized the tour to Matchu picchu through the hotel, the guide was so lovely, told us great facts. It lasts around three hours and then you are left to adventure around. It is pricey though, $170 per person.

We stayed here two nights, I would advise one night as there is not much else to do here. You arrive at around 12pm if going by train, so you have loads of time to look around and do the tour early, 6am, leave at 5.30am, you will be done by 12 and the train back is at 3pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, the train goes behind so can be loud at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenkane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel

Really glad to realize that you had a wonderful experience while in our hotel, the only five star of Machu Picchu Town. Thank you for your comments on our food. We are very happy you enjoyed it. also we really appreciate that you pick us for your honeymoon.
Thank you again for all your appreciation to us. I look forward to hosting you at Sumaq again in time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Property: SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing