We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful oasis”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Piled off the Perurail link from Cusco feeling tired before we did the Macchu Pichu climb but were greeted at the train by courteous and polite staff from the hotel who took our bags - we then strolled to the hotel and were booked in efficently to lovely spacious rooms and a wonderful bathroom. Returning from our 4 hour tour we were treated to a lovely tea in the foyer followed by excellent drinks at the bar. Laterin the evening a truly 5 * meal - it could have come from a top restaurant in the UK. The delicious flavours were a mix of Peruvian and classical and the presentation was simply superb. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fronb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    330
    83
    33
    16
See reviews for
394
859
82
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After six days touring Peru, we were finally to Machu Picchu. Sumaq transported out bags to the Hotel as we were escorted to the mountain, with no effort or concern. After hours of travel and hiking; we arrived at our hotel. What a treat. We had a spacious and very clean room with wonderful bed linens. The bathroom was also large with lovely smelling products. I think the best part of the experience was the view of the river and delicious dinner. I recommend staying at Sumaq, it was conveniently located on the Machu Picchu bus route and a two minute walk to town. Overall, great experience. It was easy to check email, find a quiet place (with a view to read a book or relax) and recharge one's batteries for another great six days of travel.

Room Tip: The Hiram Bingham train runs directly behind the hotel. It was not a noise issue in the evening but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel for one night. First, let me start by saying if you're concerned about the rates, it's worth it! Since visiting Machu Picchu is a once in a lifetime opportunity for many, I think it's well worth spending extra to be able to experience it the right way.

When I first arrived at the train station in Aguas Calientes around noon (as suggested by the hotel when I first made the reservation), a representative from SUMAQ was there to greet me and offered me the option of going directly to Machu Picchu or going to the hotel first. I wanted to get situated so I went to the hotel first (which was only a few minutes away by foot). Another assistant from the hotel carried my bag as we walked. Once I got to the hotel, a fruit drink and some chips were waiting for me as another representative discussed the room and my tour plans.

I did a special Wayna Picchu Program which I'm not sure is still available at SUMAQ, but even if it's not, I'm sure they will provide something like it. On the first day, I was given to/from bus tickets along with entry tickets to Machu Picchu including a guide. Although it's not necessary to have a guide, it was sure helpful to learn the history of the ruins and to be shown around without getting overwhelmed. The time in which I went was also favorable since most tourists in the large groups normally arrive between 10 and 12. I was there between 2-4. Machu Picchu closes at 5. I recommend setting up your visit between 2-4 or go real early to beat the crowds (at least before 9). The guide was very friendly, answered the questions I had about the ruins and accomodated me with the pictures I wanted to take. Once the bus took me back to the hotel, I had dinner. I wasn't aware but the first meal was included in my total bill. The dinner was spectacular and one of the best meals I had in a long time (especially the bread and dessert). The room itself was spacious, clean and the balcony provided a wonderful view of the river/rocks outside. Beautiful location and surroundings! I stayed in a junior deluxe suite.

The next day I woke up at 5 AM to eat a great breakfast (which pretty much had anything you wanted) and headed back to the park to hike/climb Wayna Picchu. Now, since only 400 are allowed to enter that portion of the park per day, you need to make sure you get tickets ahead of time before they are sold out. I was able to get mine through the hotel via the program they were offering at the time. Be sure to ask them while you are setting up your reservation if hiking the WP interests you. Also, there was no guide for that part.

Once the hike was over and I spent a little more time discovering Machu Picchu, I took the bus back to the hotel (which is the only hotel the bus picked up and dropped off at) and was able to rest in the lobby until my train was scheduled to take me back to Cusco. The hotel attendants were pleasant and I never felt like I was being pushed out of the place just because my stay was over.

Note: This is so small and probably something that only applies to me. However, I was going to have lunch at the hotel but they don't have any Coke or Pepsi products. There are times when you just need to have a soft drink but all they had was Inca Cola (which looks like Mello Yello). Thus, I ventured out to a restaurant near the tracks inside the town of Aguas Calientes (which I probably should have done anyway to explore) and found a place that had my Coke Zero!

Anyway, you won't regret your stay at SUMAQ. The price is justified since this will be an extremely special experience and you don't want to short change yourself by staying at just any hotel. I appreciated the staff during my stay and the services they provided (such as receiving my bag at the train station so I didn't need to carry it there myself). The hotel was reliable and my item was there when they said it would be (which from my observation wasn't the case for those that stayed at other hotels).

Room Tip: I stayed in a Junior Deluxe Suite and was very happy with it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clovertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel

Really glad to realize that you had a wonderful experience while in our hotel, the only five star of Machu Picchu Town. Thank you for your comments about our oackage Wayna Picchu Program. We are very happy you enjoyed, as you recommend us we are going to update the program very shortly


Thank you again for all your appreciation to us. I look forward to hosting you at Sumaq again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel was amazing. First of all, the location in Aguas Calientes is fantastic - a very short walk to the bus stop stop that takes you up to Machu Picchu. The hotel itself is absolutely stunning - from the lobby to the actual rooms. Our room was very spacious, clean, and beautiful decorated. I loved the beautiful bathroom in our room too - very spacious. The views off our balcony were quite nice. The food here is first rate - I had a delicious dinner and an equally delicious breakfast. I highl recommend this wonderful hotel!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaT917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel while in Machu Picchu

Really glad to realize that you had a wonderful experience while in our hotel, the only five star of Machu Picchu Town. Thank you for your comments on our food. We are very happy you enjoyed it.

Thank you again for all your appreciation to us. I look forward to hosting you at Sumaq again in time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of Peru. The accomodations were excellent. Nice room and bathroom. Great restaurant with very good food. There is a very welcoming atmosphere at reception, and throughout the hotel exhibited by the staff. Close access to Machu Picchu. A beautiful mountain river is just a few yards across the street from the front of this hotel. Easy walking to shopping and restaurants. I definitely would choose the hotel again for a visit to Aguas Calientes!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was the one big splurge in my trip to Peru, and it was totally worth it for the following reasons:
1. Breakfast was fantastic. There were tons of options and it was completely ready bright and early before we headed up to Machu Picchu
2. The bus stops by the hotel to pick you up on the way to Machu PIcchu. If you want to go early, you would normally have to wake up before the crack of dawn and wait in line. If you stay at Sumaq, the bus picks you up. This was a big deal for us; it saved us like 2 hours of sleep
3. Our stay came with a free gourmet dinner, which was also amazing. Only negative - I wish non-alcoholic drinks were included in the "included dinner". My bottle of water was pretty overpriced (as to be expected in a restaurant like that) and who eats dinner without drinking anything? A minor disappointment
4. The view of the Urubamba river from our room was fantastic.
5. The hotel was extremely well organized. They were there to pick us up from the train station, they called the breakfast room ten minute before our bus reservation to check in with us. They met back up with us at the train station with our luggage in plenty of time for our train back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved everything about the hotel. The staff meeting us at the train, to walk us to the hotel, and tell us about the town! The huge room with a fantastic view of the mountain, and river! The half board deal, included a sensational dinner, all was better than we hoped, and worth the cost! Being so close to the bus to Machu Picchu, and sharing the experience with the staff all added to the pleasure in being here! Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Get a view if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel. Thank you for considering SUMAQ with your 5 points.
Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
2,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Property: SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing