We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 7, 2013

After an entire day of hiking, it was great to come back to beautiful, clean hotel accommodations. The food was great as well. I would remiss to say that I was expecting it would be this good since you pay for what you get for. Would definitely recommend to friends.

Room Tip: I would say get a room with a balcony facing the running river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is such a wonderful hotel in Aguas Calientes. My traveling partner and I spent two nights at this hotel and really enjoyed every aspect of the stay. A very friendly and service oriented staff with excellent English helped us in every way. The dinners which are part of your 1/2 board are fantastic -- very gourmet. The facility is truly lovely and kept up beautifully, very clean and spacious rooms. I could go on and on really. Conveniently located -- the bus up to Machu Picchu stopped right at our hotel. This hotel was the "splurge" on our trip and we felt well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the night of May 21/13 and while our initial welcome was wonderful and dinner was outstanding things went downhill from there. Our room was at the back of the hotel and right outside the window were the train tracks. Every 2 hours all night long we were awoken by the train rumbling by!! We had a terrible nights sleep, or lack of. When we arrived we were offered a "service" by the staff of making a bus pickup reservation for the morning so we did not have to walk to the bus station. DO NOT DO THIS!!!! They are totally disorganized such that despite being told we would have a 6am bus pickup we stood outside the hotel for over 45 minutes watching bus after bus pass by. This disorganization by the staff took away our once in a lifetime chance of seeing the sunrise over Machu Picchu. It was one of the rare clear and sunny days and we were stuck standing in front of the hotel. No doubt the staff did not think this a big deal but for us it was our opportuntiy to see a Machu Picchu sunrise and it was taken away from us by their disorganization. I would not stay at this hotel unless you can have a room facing the road and do not let them take your bus tickets for a pickup that does not happen!

Room Tip: Only stay in a room facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caymandivegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We are sorry that your stay was not the best, unfortunately some rooms are near the train tracks but we have windows to reduce noise in the rooms regarding bus ticket we appreciate your feedback we will take into consideration to avoid any mistakes in the future. we always try to make our guest happy in their staying

we appreciate your words

best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel and accommodations. Service was exemplary. Staff are gracious and very helpful. Dining was an extra special experience. The food sublime! Beautiful, artful and the best meal we had on our whole trip.
The hotel is an oasis after visiting Machu Picchu.

Our compliments to the chef and and Gabriel, our host.

Room Tip: The lower stories, the sound of the river soothes you to sleep after a day of hiking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I spent a night here whilst visiting Machu Picchu. Our only regret was that our visit was so short. From start to finish the service provided by the hotel was outstanding in every way with many nice little touches like complimentary welcome drinks. The hotel is located about 20 minutes walk from the centre of Aguas Calientes but this is not a problem as the hotel porters transfer your bags from/to the station and the Machu Picchu buses stop right outside the hotel. Our room was spacious, quiet and extremely comfortable. We ate dinner in the hotel and the food was excellent. The standout feature, however, was the staff who could not have been more friendly and helpful. OK it's expensive but it really does deliver - it's definitely one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpyoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for choosing Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel

Really glad to realize that you had a wonderful experience while in our hotel, the only five star of Machu Picchu Town. We really appreciate your comment in our services. We are very happy you enjoyed it.

Thank you again for all your appreciation to us. I look forward to hosting you at Sumaq again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was undoubtedly our favorite hotel during our 10-day trip to Peru. The quality of service and the accommodations were first class in every way. The included pisco sours, dinner, and breakfast were all excellent. The hotel is also conveniently located on the bus route up to Machu Picchu, so the hotel staff will have a bus stop in front of the hotel to pick you up. When we were not informed by our tour company of the need to reserve a time the previous night, the staff made a special trip to reserve spots for us on the next bus down. When we arrived to the train station early and inquired about our bags, the staff made a special trip to retrieve them ahead of time for us. Sure, it is expensive, but I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tengorazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights.

The staff met us at the Train station and walked us to the hotel. Don’t worry your luggage is taken care off.

Upon arriving we were giving drinks and were checked in. However we had to wait for an hour until our room was ready (we arrived quite early). This gave us a chance to walk into town for lunch which is only 5 minutes away.

Set at the foot of Aguas Calientes, we had the Junior Suite Double; very clean, spacious room with two double bed and a balcony with a beautiful a view of the river that leads up to Machu Picchu. Our room even had a built in Jacuzzi bath (hydromassage tub) which is excellent after a long day visiting the Machu Picchu ruins and climbing the Huayna Picchu.

Our package included Dinner and Breakfast. The hotel also serves complimentary cakes, tea /coffee during tea time at the lobby which is an added bonus.

There is also complimentary Pisco (Peru national drink) at the bar after 6pm.

The bus stop to Machu Picchu is right outside the hotel. You can even get the hotel to book the bus for you.

The free WIFI connection is excellent.

The breakfast was really good with a good variety of food, from Western to local food.

Dinner was excellent with some amazing dishes, be sure to try the Ceviche dishes, this fish dish is very fresh and better than most restaurants I tried in Cusco and Lima.

The staff and service was excellent.

Overall we had a wonderful time, especially as this was our honeymoon.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the River View if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChungH905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel. Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We think you have made a good review about our hotel perfect exactly as everyday happen
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#3 of 30 in Machu Picchu
2,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $347 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing