We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best option in Machu Picchu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellent hotel, great reception, excellent cuisine, staff is realy nice. The best hotel experience. Spacy room and installation in perfect conditions. Located at about 20 minutes walk from the Inca musuem and about 10 minutes walk from the trainstation, this new looking hotel is a perfect option for the family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

I reserved 2 rooms via email for 1 night at Sumaq and the experience was great! I swear Jorge worked harder for our reservation than I have experienced with any other hotel.

I found this to be customary in this region of Peru, but every time we checked into a hotel, they seated you in a couch area, brought drinks to you while they checked you in. In addition, they offered Pisco Sours at happy hour, explained to us about our complimentary dinner AND breakfast. They brought our bags up to our rooms for us, explained to shut the windows at night because of mosquitoes, etc. They have clearly thought of it all! Amazing amazing experience here!

Oh, the rooms were good too (even though we didn't spend much time in them). They also helped us arrange for the bus to pick us up at our hotel (versus walking into town...even though it was a 5 minute walk). Very helpful! He also arranged a private guide for us. Truly, great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.
its a pleasure to help all our guest. We are committed with all our guests
Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was debating about whether to stay here or the Machu Pichu Sanctuary (run by Orient Express) and am glad I opted for the Sumaq. It’s a five star Peruvian hotel about 40% less than the Sanctuary with a better view of the surrounding mountains, have a roaring river outside your window and you get to see Machu Pichu the same amount of time as Sanctuary guests (during opening hours from 6 AM to 5 PM) given that that hotel is outside the MP complex and affords no views of it.

The neat thing about the Sumaq is that it is the only hotel with an arrangement with the bus co. to stop at the hotel. This is especially handy if you want to get up to the MP complex for sunrise at 6 AM. The first few buses that leave at 5:30 AM and for those buses people start queuing at 4 AM! These buses won’t stop at the hotel. However, subsequent buses that leave at 5:45 AM will stop at the hotel and they will arrange to keep a free seat for you, saving you waiting in the cold and awake half the night.

Even though the hotel is a five minute walk from the train station, English speaking staff will meet you there, carry your bags to the hotel and offer you tips along the way. (Like buy your water, snacks and fruit at the handicraft market by the train station to take up to MP because the prices there are nuts.) You get a nice fresh fruit juice and some homemade chips while you are being check-ed in. They will store your luggage while you go up to MP if your room isn’t yet ready (check in time is 12:00 PM and check out time is 10:00 AM) and arrange to deliver it to the train station if you want to go up to MP after checking out to maximize your time at the site.

There is complimentary tea at 4 PM with yummy carrot and banana cake, followed by a free Pisco sours between 6 -7PM. You then have to choose which of the three dinner seatings you want to attend for your free gourmet dinner. I asked if they had vegetarian offerings when I was being check in and like clockwork when I sat down the waitress brought me a vegetarian menu. I was very impressed at how well the staff with each other. It shows good management. As other reviewers have noted, the food is delicious and healthy with lots of food growing in their garden. It’s also very tastefully presented and delivered to you very quickly. Dinners and breakfast are included in the room price—you just pay for drinks. Breakfast is excellent as well.

The rooms are spacious and bright, modern and very clean. WIFI was reasonably fast and they have a good selection of cable channels. There were instructions on using the DVD player, but my room had none.

All the staff are super friendly and helpful. If you want to treat yourself while visiting MP, look no further than the Sumaq.

The only small niggle was that the hotel was only at 50-60% capacity but my room wasn't ready on arrival. I arrived at 9:30 AM so well before check in time so it's not really fair to complain, but I did notice that tour participants had rooms ready when they checked in early. But they stored my luggage and I was off immediately to Machu Pichu so no harm done.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel for considering SUMAQ with your 5 points.
Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is the last building in Agua Calientes on the way to Machu Picchu and the shuttle stops right in front. A bit of a walk from the train station, but hotel staff meet you there to carry your luggage and show you to the hotel. Very nice rooms and nice new tastefully designed hotel. Restaurant is very nice, with great view of the river. Not much english, but they try hard to be helpful.

One small glitch: we were told we would be taken to the train station for our trip back to Cusco, and we sat in the lobby waiting for that to happen. We were assured by one staff member (with poor english) that someone would take us, but that turned out not to be true. It is not a long distance to the train station, and not that hard to find, so it wasn't a big deal to go there on our own, but we could have missed the train if we had just kept waiting. But a great hotel overall, although it followed the Peruvian tradition of a nice buffet breakfast where the heating trays were not hot enough, so breakfast was a little cool.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face the back. Ours did, and it was fine. However, get one facing the river if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LZorroTheFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel for considering SUMAQ with your 5 points. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa.
Really glad to realize that you had a wonderful experience while in our hotel, the only five star of Machu Picchu Town. Thank you for your comments on our food. We are very happy you enjoyed it.
Also, we are very proud of our staff, all of them are very friendly and their languages are very good but as you know we are spanish speaker so might be our accent or pronuncation is not the adecuated.

Thank you again for all your appreciation to us. I look forward to hosting you at Sumaq again in time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Wonderful service with all the little extras such as treats brought to your room. Great location with a stop on the bus route from Machu Picchu. The best thing was being met as you arrive on the train. They take your luggage and take you directly to the point to board the bus to Machu Picchu.Wonderful dinner and brakfast and very very helpful staff. Only note is that you are beside a raging river in March, which requires that windows must remain closed, unless you like very loud noise.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river are the best but noisy unless windows are closed and drapes drawn, but river make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Roger and the entire SUMAQ staff made this a seamless and relaxing trip to a once-in-a-lifetime destination.

We were greeted at the train station. The hotel had a luggage cart and staff members there. Roger walked us and other guests the 5 minutes downhill to the hotel. We were seated in the lobby, given welcome drinks, and even checked into our jr suite with river view. The hotel had pre-arranged a guide for us and Roger said he was available whenever we asked. Within 20 minutes, he arrived and escorted us to Machu Picchu. The hotel even sent a staff person up to the main bus stop to reserve seats... the bus would stop at the hotel and we could get on taking the pre-reserved seats but without the walk and waiting. The guide was great and the hotel had flawlessly pre-arranged all of our entry tickets.

Dinner was included and it was superb. Many hotel restaurants lack in quality but the presentation, the food, the wine list was all fantastic along with the roaring river in the background.

The hotel helped ensure we were up at 4:30 the next morning for breakfast at 5 and bus departure at 5:30 for sunrise at Machu Picchu. We also had entry tickets to Wayna Picchu at 7 AM. Both spectacular and again the hotel made the bus ride easy. The room, bed, jacuzzi tub were all clean & beyond comfortable. Internet access worked well and was sufficiently speedy. When we returned we took in the including cooking/pisco sour making class. Although short, samples were included and all was great.

SUMAQ also ensured our luggage was transfered to the train station for easy pickup, even in the pouring rain as we headed out of town.

Thank you Roger & team for making this well worth the cost for the night. Having all of our tickets included, dinner, etc made this so easy. Capped of, when we returned dripping in sweat from hiking the second day... they made the spa showers available for us to clean up before heading back to the Sacred Valley. Anticipated every need.

Room Tip: Junior suite with river balcony well worth it; just keep the door closed after about 5:30 as the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel for considering SUMAQ with your 5 points.
As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A beautiful comfortable hotel located assuming you are lucky enough to to be assigned a room along the river. Easy access to the town center. Quality food presented in an elegant manner. Excellent prompt service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#2 of 30 in Machu Picchu
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $318 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing