We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable service and value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable service and value!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

After enjoying several different hotels throughout Peru, we arrived in Aguas Calientes to top off our vacation with a visit to Machu Picchu. Despite a last-minute itinerary change due to inclement weather, we arrived at the train station to find a Sumac representative waiting with a name card for us, to guide us to the hotel. What an unexpected and pleasant surprise! The fact that both breakfast AND a gourmet, three-course dinner were included with our room price was another added bonus. The staff is terrific, the accommodations are the finest we enjoyed in Peru (and that is saying something!), and the location (overlooking the Urubamba River) is perfect. This is a terrific complement to one of the world's seven wonders, with every thoughtful detail imaginable in place. I can't imagine staying anywhere else while visiting this famed city of the Inca Empire!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitti29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel.
As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq,
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,358
    335
    84
    34
    16
See reviews for
414
872
82
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Statesville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This special riverside hotel with the raging - and loud - Urubamba river is a perfect choice for location, comfort and service. Riverside rooms are beautiful with magnificent mountain views including Machu Picchu. It's close to shopping, the main plaza and restaurants. Hotel decor is beautiful and rooms nicely furnished. Wifi is good. TVs are old fashioned but who cares. Breakfast and dinner are included and good but dinner seems too heavy with cheese, cream sauces, etc. Showers are difficult to enter /exit. But this hotel is top notch for a very comforting stay while visiting the spectacular Machine Picchu!

Room Tip: Ask for riverside 2nd floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were only able to spend two nights in Aquas Calientes while visiting Machu Picchu. The SUMAQ Machu Picchu's rooms are a perfect size, charming, comfortable and decorated in a very tasteful Aztec motif. Ours was on the front of the building looking down on the Urubamba River as it runs through the valley. During our 12 days in Peru, we had the good fortune to stay in excellent hotels throughout. This was our favorite. The hotel and restaurant staff are quite pleasant, very attentive and available. Like the hotel, food in the restaurant is excellent as are the pisco sours! It's a short walk to the villiage for shopping and bus station for the trip up the mountain to Machu Picchu. Returning from the site, the bus will drop you off at the front door of the hotel. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel offers the Best accommodations close to Macchu Picchu. Rooms are very special. It more important the management makes each guest feel special. I was on a tour but we were greeted with hot tea after a very rainy day at Macchu Picchu . We had a simple cooking class were taught by a hotel chef on making Ceviche and a popular drink. The restaurant food was superb and the presentation was artistic and made one want to admire the plate before digging in. The small gift shop offers wonderful quality items. Bus to Macchu Picchu will pick you up at the front door. A postive experience Expensive but wonderful.

Room Tip: Face the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101NDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.


Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two days here in late February, 2013. We had a junior suite for about $300 per night on Orbitz. The price included breakfast and dinner for each day.

The room was spectacular and had a river view. The river was quite loud, but they had excellent sound-proofed windows. The room was well appointed and spotless. The service was beyond excellent. Possibly the best breakfast buffet I have ever had at a hotel. For dinner we had out choice of appetizer, main, and desert.

They will meet you at the station and take your bags to the hotel. This is very helpful because there are no cars or taxis in Aguascallenties (which to me is the best thing about the town after its proximity to Machu Picchu.

If you can afford it, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichOrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel. for this low season we post some special rates as you found it on orbtiz.com, finally you made it and sharing your feedback with us and this is very important for our business. we really appreciate it.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Who even knows where Aguas Calientes is? This very nice little hotel is situated beside a wild and very noisy river.. I liked that! The staff is responsive and their version of the local favorite drink is the best I found. The food is wonderfully locally influenced and sophisticated. It requires a considerable haul up or down the hill to and from the train but the hotel provides porters and exercise is good for you. The local town also has some interesting shopping and food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneJImHeywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Appreciate your review
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located on the edge of town but within an easy stroll from the center, this 2005 hotel is located across the street from a roaring mountain river. This hotel offers quite a pleasant albeit expensive stay. The expense is quite justified by what you get for the price. An OUTSTANDING dinner and breakfast buffet are included in the charge, and so are a pisco tasting and ceviche demonstration. Rooms are simple, clean, and comfortable. Service is exceptional and staff friendly, helpful, and courteous. Would recommend this hotel with enthusiasm and would most definitely stay there again if the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Checkmatecheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel

Really glad to realize that you had a wonderful experience while in our hotel, Thank you for your comments on our food. We are very happy you enjoyed it.

Thank you again for all your appreciation to us. I look forward to hosting you at Sumaq again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
2,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Property: SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing