We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing more than a luke warm bathtub” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hot Springs (Aguas Calientes)

Hot Springs (Aguas Calientes)
Book In Advance
More Info
$562.50*
and up
Machu Picchu by Train Full-Day Tour
London, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing more than a luke warm bathtub”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Save yourself some $ and some germs
The hot springs are definitively not hot (luke warm at best)
but worst than that, they are just a refuge for people who haven't had a bath in a long while

The only safe(clean) water is under the warm spigots but there are only three of those and there is a line up there to wash.

Yuk!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sjb1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    282
    276
    137
    121
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
delta, BC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An ok thing to do in Agua Calientes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had just finished four days on the Inca trail, so the idea of hot springs sounded wonderful. We set off on a nice uphill walk through the town and paid our ten soles for entrance to the springs. Inside the gates, we crossed a picturesque bridge and walked along a wide path to get to the bathing area. There are adequate changing rooms. We looked down from here to see the several small pools below and could see shelves along the walls for towels and clothes. But as we started down the stairs with our stuff in our arms, we were stopped by a security guard who insisted that we not bring anything down to the pools with us. He told us to go back to the room of lockers that are managed by an employee. We had gone out of our way not to bring any valuables, including money, in with us, so we had no soles for a locker. There had been no indication that we would need any. So he kindly, although rather begrudgingly, took us back to the locker area and said we could pay one sole for the 6 of us. I'm still not sure where this one sole was supposed to come from, but we left our stuff and went down to the pools. They were not hot, only lukewarm, and didn't seem particularly clean. The most crowded one was the one where you could order drinks. Right next to the one with all the kids! It's interesting what is allowed here and what is not. We stayed for awhile and tried changing pools, but the other we went into had a rock bottom, which was not at all comfortable for bare feet. This was kind of an interesting place to visit, since it is a natural phenomenon, but not particularly well operated or luxurious.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank faithfulone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke, NZ
Level Contributor
170 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lukewarm”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Was surprised how long the walk to the Hot Springs was. Walked past all the restaurants and above the town. View was quite good. Arrived at Hot springs and expected hot water but it was only luke warm. There pools with concrete and/or shingle on the bottom. The water is not clear but when we went it was cleanish. The taps you use to rinse off were warmer than the pool. Disappointing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waste of time....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I guess we knew it would be a disappointment, but it just didn't feel right skipping the namesake of Aguas Calientes. We climbed and climbed (a beautiful view unless you've already been up to Machu Picchu- and then it will pale in comparison). When we finally arrived we wanted to take pictures of our feet in the hot springs and we were told we couldn't even touch the water unless we had a swimming suit on (a fact they might have told us when we paid our entry). It looked dirty and packed full of people...and it smelled like rotten eggs (naturally...) SO, I'd skip it if I were to do this trip again. I'd skip it for SURE.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RuthanneV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Fab views, dirty venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We walked to the Hot springs following a visit to Macchu Picchu to ease aching muscles. The Hot springs are a little way from the town centre and it's an uphill walk, we thought it worth the effort to relax in thermal waters. The pool water is filthy with hair and other rubbish floating around. The changing rooms are tiny and horrible and the attendants in the locker room rude. Other than that, the views are terrific, the walk enjoyable and the bar ok

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yvonnenetball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Springs (Aguas Calientes) also viewed

Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Hot Springs (Aguas Calientes)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing