We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option in Aguas Calientes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ecopackers Machupicchu
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We spent a night in the 6-dorm (31 Sol per Person) and the mattresses were very good, the beds comfortable. The Ecopackers is right aside the rail way tracks, so don't forget your earplugs.
The bathroom was big, the shower was very hot and with excellent water pressure.
Cleanliness was alright, in our room as well as in common areas.
Staff was mostly friendly and helpful.
WIFI is good.

The only thing to improve is the breakfast servive: They serve the included breakfast (bread, margarina, jam, hot drink, yellow coloured cold drink) from 4 am. That's great as you can even have your breakfast if starting early to MP. But when we arrived for breakfast at 7am, tables were dirty and full of dirty dishes. The Buffet was empty and the responsible lady ignoring us and watching an action movie. We had to ask her (almost to insist) to clean our table and to refill the breakfast buffet.
Therefore only 4/5.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thereblabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moritas99, Manager at Ecopackers Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Dear guest, thank you very much for staying with us and for your positive comments, please come back and visit us soon and recommend us to your friends and family, receive our warm regards from the Ecopackers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 388 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was my favourite hostel from my trip to Peru! The receptionist 'Maria' was so lovely and helpful and made my stay really special. She also speaks great Engilsh which was very helpful for me as my Spanish is not very good :)! The hostel is in a great location and you can have breakfast from 4 am so you can walk upto Machu picchu for sun rise. The rooms were the tidiest and most comfortable that I experienced on my whole trip and the food in the restaurant was also extremely tasty! I would definitely recommend this hostel, the only problem was that I couldn't stay longer!!

Room Tip: I stayed in a 4 bed dorm on the second floor. The bed was clean and comfortable and the shower was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pete b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moritas99, Manager at Ecopackers Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016


Dear guest, thank you very much for staying with us and for your positive comments, please come back and visit us soon and recommend us to your friends and family, receive our warm regards from the Ecopackers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I'll try to be as quick and specific as possible
*Im 27 y/o guy my cousin and I stay at Ecopackers ..
So. At the train station was a young lady waiting for us she introduced herself as Maria nice girl then she took us to the hotel which is literally 4-5 minutes away train and bust station
.
*Clean rooms clean white sheets and blankets with their own name printed on the sheets. Our room had amazing window view hot water was available and most important to me. We had FASTEST WI-FI CONNECTION I EVER HAD so I was happy

*On the last floor Is a Lounge :-) where you could play pool drink a cold Cusqueña or if u r hungry enjoy some delicious Peruvian food mmmm yummy

Prices were more than fair we only stayed one night
Manager Jose seems to be a well traveled gentleman well manners a good man. Maria reception young Lady from Cuzco very helpful as well

I'm so glad I booked with this guys .

Room Tip: Book ahead of time just as any hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juan Francisco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moritas99, Manager at Ecopackers Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Dear guest, thank you very much for staying with us and for your positive comments, please come back and visit us soon and recommend us to your friends and family, receive our warm regards from the Ecopackers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Really nice place in Aguas Calientes. The city is not pretty but very interesting and the hostel is located on the far side of the village, which is excellent since it is away from the noisy main street and close to the bus station towards MP and even closer to the first entrance if you are going to walk up.
The hostel itself has a nice reception, a good rooftop terrace bar/ restaurant and really nice staff. The rooms were fine too, so all in all very recommendable.

Room Tip: the last train stops at 2. AM in front of the hostel. I had a room on the front, it woke me up for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kees_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moritas99, Manager at Ecopackers Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Dear guest, thank you very much for staying with us and for your positive comments, please come back and visit us soon and recommend us to your friends and family, receive our warm regards from the Ecopackers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Average hostel (I guess they know that people usually stay only one night in Aguas Calientes). The bathroom was clean, but the bedsheets weren’t really clean and the lockers smelled. The location is good, really close to the train station and as Aguas Calientes is a small village the center with shops and restaurants is also really close. When we got up in the morning there was no electricity (all over Cuzco) but the staff helped us out with a flashlight, which was nice. I guess because of this they also couldn’t really serve breakfast. They told us that they couldn’t go to get bread. So we ended up eating one slice of bread from the past day and had some Mate de Coca. But it’s nice that they usually serve breakfast at 4 a.m. for all the Machu Picchu travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaffeeanne_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moritas99, Manager at Ecopackers Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016


Dear guest, thank you very much for staying with us and for your positive comments, please come back and visit us soon and recommend us to your friends and family, receive our warm regards from the Ecopackers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We decided to stay a night in agua calientes after completing the 4 day inka trail. Much to our delight we were pleased with our decision as the room we booked served our purpose of a nice cosy bed and hot powerful shower. The only downside I would say about the matrimonial room is there is no door to the bathroom, which isn't great if you need to go to the toilet and your sharing a room. Believe me, you may want a door after the Inca Trail!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalJacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moritas99, Manager at Ecopackers Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016


Dear guest, thank you very much for staying with us and for your positive comments, please come back and visit us soon and recommend us to your friends and family, receive our warm regards from the Ecopackers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay here. One night in private room, one in 4 person dorm. Service was great, English spoken well by all the staff we met. Beds were comfortable. Dorm bunks were large with new mattresses. Lockers were spacious. Breakfast was decent and starts at 4 am for all those leaving early to Machu Picchu. This makes it loud in the early mornings, but I'm sure this is normal most places here as tons of people start out very early on their day to the ruins. Nice bar with sofas and a pool table. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allenjbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moritas99, Manager at Ecopackers Machupicchu, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Dear guest, thank you very much for staying with us and for your positive comments, please come back and visit us soon and recommend us to your friends and family, receive our warm regards from the Ecopackers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waman Hotel
Waman Hotel
#11 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#13 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
Casa Machu Picchu Hostel
#10 of 84 in Aguas Calientes
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Machupicchu
Mama Simona Machupicchu
#2 of 84 in Aguas Calientes
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adelas's Hostel
Adelas's Hostel
#3 of 84 in Aguas Calientes
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecopackers Machupicchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecopackers Machupicchu

Address: Av. Imperio de los Incas 136, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $23 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ecopackers Machupicchu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Ecopackers Hostel is now open in Aguas Calientes - Machu PicchuCome and stay with us in our brand new Hostel with the same standard of quality and service that characterizes us.We offer you a priviledged location in between the Aguas Calientes train station and the bus station making it a lot easier for you to get to where you want to go and fast !In Ecopackers Hostels we pride ourselves in being a Hostel with very high standards. It is for this reason that we offer our guests a prime location, the best orthopedic mattreses available, sheets and bed dressing of the same quality of a 4 star Hotel, the best hot water system available, and also of course the best quality and customer service you deserve ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ecopackers Machupicchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing