We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ideal hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El MaPi by Inkaterra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ideal hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Was worried as this hotel was fairly cheap - no need; it has everything necessary and was good quality. Room was clean and spacious with a good bed and bathroom. Bar, dinner and breakfast was all good standard. Reception, rooms and bar/dining are in separate adjacent buildings; suspect to maximise development of the available site. Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itinera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    733
    236
    72
    31
See reviews for
328
795
125
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is a growing hotel and although during the day you are maneuvering around construction workers they disappear in the evening. As a compensation the staff offers you a free Pisco as hour in their beautiful marble top bar. The rooms are new and clean and come with nice amenities including robes. The hotel is situated in the middle of Aguas Calientes ( Machu Picchu) and about a 5 minute walk to the bus up to the site.
The food is fabulous! The breakfast buffet couldn't be better complete with a chef to create made to order omlettes and a waiter to smooth out the granola after you have taken some.
Dinner was spectacular and the service couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: Find out where the construction is and avoid this. Probably the lower numbered rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmcc51Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Best regards,

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write this lovely review.

The hotel’s concept seeks to create a place where our travelers can find efficiency and friendliness. We would like to thank you for your kind comments for our property and we are very glad you enjoyed the service offered in our restaurant.

Thank you for staying at El MaPi byInkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nv.
Level Contributor
202 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

The El MaPi is two blocks from the train Station, and provides portage service for luggage. It is 1/2 block from the main Plaza, 1 block from the bus to Machu Picchu, and in the center of shopping. It consists of multiple buildings, a garden and outside patio seating. The restaurant serves buffet style and the entire operation seems there for tour groups, and there are plenty of them.
Our room was large, very clean and nicely appointed. We had an oversize King bed and slept soundly until about 4:30 A.M. when the really early risers are heading up the mountain. There is little sound deadening in the hotel, but since we were almost all there with the same objective, this was not overly offensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toomacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comments.

Thank you for staying at El MaPi byInkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have read all reviews and this hotel was my choice being close to bus station but not too close to the train station. I had to use a travel agent to book it as it appeared to be sold out for the particular night I needed on every website including El MaPi own. I was ready to stay 2 nights in Ollanta and just go to MP for a day trip but somehow Pachamama Explorers agency of Cusco was able to book it for me. The hotel is very nice, special and has quite a good service. The rooms are small but nicely decorated and the beds are comfy. There is a big issue of not having elevators while having multiple floors - we were on the 5th and it was not very pleasant. Also our travel agency booked us a dinner (and forgot to mention it) - so while it was a nice surprise we had a little problem with the time. 7:30 pm seating was fully booked and we had to choose between 6 pm and 9pm. Since we planned to go to MP at dawn we had to chose 6 pm and it ruined my trip to hot springs - I did not have time to enjoy it. After rushing to hotel I found that the dinner wasn't ready until 6:30 pm. But the dinner was very good and I did not have other problems with the service.

Room Tip: try to get lower floor since they have no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InR04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was my favorite hotel in Peru. I loved that they recycle, right down to the recycled paper for the guest survey. Room was fairly large as was the bathroom.
the bed was very comfortable
There were also power outlets to accommodate US power appliances, but the 240V plugs were loose and my phone charger wouldn't stay plugged in unless I propped something underneath to keep if from falling out.
Yes, the walls are thin, but that was in the bathroom. We closed the door at night and heard nothing.
We traveled with Gate 1 who arranged to have a hotel porter meet us at the train station to take our luggage to the hotel. Since we were getting straight on the shuttle to Machu Picchu, this was greatly appreciated.
Dinner was included in our stay. We did the 7pm dinner but started in the bar with our complimentary Pisco Sour.
Service in the restaurant was quick and the food was excellent.
Dessert, well, I had the chocolate cake and it was a little dry, but that is was the only downside to our stay.
Next time, I think I would request a room that faced the mountains or at least a higher floor. We were on the ground floor and our view was of the plants outside.
The hotel porter also took our luggage back to the train station after checkout.
Definitely worth staying here if you are planning a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wynonna98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments for our facilities and service and also for your feedback that will help us to keep improving.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I really wanted to like this place, but I had to "round down" my rating. The staff was friendly and the look was modern and cool. It was conveniently located in town. So what's not to like? It seemed sort of slapped together with Ikea level appointments and very thin walls. We had a package that included two meals -- breakfast was good enough, but dinner, though stylishly presented, was like a slightly improved airplane dinner -- very generic. Our second night's dinner was better and the restaurant staff was less overwhelmed with a big group, but it was still only okay. My sense is, though, that it may be a decent deal all the same for the Aguas Calientes market.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sierratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

The hotel’s concept seeks to create a place where our travelers can find efficiency and friendliness. We are sorry to hear that we did not completely met your expectation but we appreciate your feedback that will help us improve. We can assure you that we are working hard on improving our facilities and service and hope to be at your service in a future occasion.

We would also like to thank you for your kind comments for our location, ambiance and service.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
646 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Really enjoyed our night here. We were in room 115, our friends 104. Theirs had a dehumidifier in it and no outlook at all. Ours was higher and fine. Free water in room. Our included evening meal was great. Choice of 4 mains and starters beautifully presented we chose the 7.30 dinner sitting. Henri was barman and waiter and he enhanced our stay. Umbrellas in the room. Fresh omelettes for breakfast. There are hot spring baths at the top of the road. Wish we had taken our swimming gear. You could hire towels. Lots of places to eat lunch near the hotel. We tried El Manu up the hill on the left and Apu Qoyllur Riti ? opposite. Both were fine. We felt all prices here were a little higher than the rest of Peru for drinks souvenirs etc. Fridge in room. They met us at the station and collected our bags so we could go direct to Macchu Picchu. They also looked after our bags the next morning and would have taken them to the station for us if we had wanted them too. Forgot to mention Nilton another attentive waiter

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us this lovely review.

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comments for our facilities and service.

Thank you for staying at El MaPi byInkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#6 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#8 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Property: El MaPi by Inkaterra
Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing