We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Aguas Caliente” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El MaPi by Inkaterra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location in Aguas Caliente”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was my favorite hotel in Peru. I loved that they recycle, right down to the recycled paper for the guest survey. Room was fairly large as was the bathroom.
the bed was very comfortable
There were also power outlets to accommodate US power appliances, but the 240V plugs were loose and my phone charger wouldn't stay plugged in unless I propped something underneath to keep if from falling out.
Yes, the walls are thin, but that was in the bathroom. We closed the door at night and heard nothing.
We traveled with Gate 1 who arranged to have a hotel porter meet us at the train station to take our luggage to the hotel. Since we were getting straight on the shuttle to Machu Picchu, this was greatly appreciated.
Dinner was included in our stay. We did the 7pm dinner but started in the bar with our complimentary Pisco Sour.
Service in the restaurant was quick and the food was excellent.
Dessert, well, I had the chocolate cake and it was a little dry, but that is was the only downside to our stay.
Next time, I think I would request a room that faced the mountains or at least a higher floor. We were on the ground floor and our view was of the plants outside.
The hotel porter also took our luggage back to the train station after checkout.
Definitely worth staying here if you are planning a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wynonna98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments for our facilities and service and also for your feedback that will help us to keep improving.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    733
    236
    72
    31
See reviews for
328
794
125
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I really wanted to like this place, but I had to "round down" my rating. The staff was friendly and the look was modern and cool. It was conveniently located in town. So what's not to like? It seemed sort of slapped together with Ikea level appointments and very thin walls. We had a package that included two meals -- breakfast was good enough, but dinner, though stylishly presented, was like a slightly improved airplane dinner -- very generic. Our second night's dinner was better and the restaurant staff was less overwhelmed with a big group, but it was still only okay. My sense is, though, that it may be a decent deal all the same for the Aguas Calientes market.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sierratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

The hotel’s concept seeks to create a place where our travelers can find efficiency and friendliness. We are sorry to hear that we did not completely met your expectation but we appreciate your feedback that will help us improve. We can assure you that we are working hard on improving our facilities and service and hope to be at your service in a future occasion.

We would also like to thank you for your kind comments for our location, ambiance and service.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
647 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Really enjoyed our night here. We were in room 115, our friends 104. Theirs had a dehumidifier in it and no outlook at all. Ours was higher and fine. Free water in room. Our included evening meal was great. Choice of 4 mains and starters beautifully presented we chose the 7.30 dinner sitting. Henri was barman and waiter and he enhanced our stay. Umbrellas in the room. Fresh omelettes for breakfast. There are hot spring baths at the top of the road. Wish we had taken our swimming gear. You could hire towels. Lots of places to eat lunch near the hotel. We tried El Manu up the hill on the left and Apu Qoyllur Riti ? opposite. Both were fine. We felt all prices here were a little higher than the rest of Peru for drinks souvenirs etc. Fridge in room. They met us at the station and collected our bags so we could go direct to Macchu Picchu. They also looked after our bags the next morning and would have taken them to the station for us if we had wanted them too. Forgot to mention Nilton another attentive waiter

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us this lovely review.

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comments for our facilities and service.

Thank you for staying at El MaPi byInkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay @ the Inkaterra El Mapi Hotel. The 3 star hotel is located about 3 blocks from the bus station for Machu Picchu on the main street of town. In other words, an excellent location! The hotel itself is very generic and sterile. I would equate the room style and size to that of a college dorm room. The bathroom was a decent size with a walk in shower with good water pressure. We did come across some dead bugs in the bathroom, which was somewhat of a disappointment. Its very efficient and gets it done for sleeping quarters that are close to Machu Picchu. Our rate included dinner and breakfast. You had to pick from 3 times as to when to dine (6pm-7:30-9). We found that to be a little odd. The food quality was subpar and the service was rushed (felt like being on an inexpensive Caribbean cruise). Our desert was an uneatable piece of day old chocolate cake. I am happy to say that the breakfast was considerately better. They provided an eggs/omelet station as well as normal buffet options. Most importantly, they start serving breakfast at 4am, which is great because you stay in this hotel so that you get on an early bus to Machu Picchu before all the train guest arrives. Unfortunately Wi-Fi was only offered in the hotel lobby & bar (free of charge) and not in your room.
I would recommend this hotel for its location to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimLag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.

We appreciate your kind comments as well as your feedback that will help us to improve our service.

Thank you for staying at El MaPi byInkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Obviously a good base from which to visit Machu Picchu. The hotel is set in a viilage location and just a short distance away is the departure point for the bus transfer climb to Machu Picchu itself. Also the train terminal is equally very close by. Indeed everything is close at hand including local restaurants and shopping.
The hotel seems to be undergoing renovations or extension in another wing, so construction noise is evident during the day. The wing I was located in was somewhat curious in that all rooms are situated either side of a marble floored corridor, hence noisy until residents settle down at night. Furthermore at 7.30 am the next morning there was a lengthy conversation being carried out noisily by a hotel employee (on a telephone) for approx half an hour in the room directly opposite mine. Further rest was therefore impossible.
Notwithstanding my room was bright, clean and comfortable with a small bathroom attached. TV reception was available on a good quality unit.
All staff encountered either at the front desk or in the restaurant were friendly and helpful (except for the room attendant aberration).
The dining room had a reasonable buffet menu for breakfast and the evening dinner menu was also acceptable.
In total a reasonable place to stay, subject to being aware of the construction and noises as mentioned

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tastony2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at El MaPi by Inkaterra, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property.

In order to improve our facilities, at the moment we are doing some improvements to our property that should be over soon; we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We appreciate your feedback that will allow us to take corrective measures and improve our service; we have transferred your concerns to our Management team.

We would also like thank you for your kind comments for our rooms and service. We hope to welcome you again in a next opportunity.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed at the El MaPi hotel for one night during a recent trip to Peru. The hotel is located conveniently close to the main plaza and to the buses which take people to Machu Picchu, and there are several good and interesting restaurants nearby. Our room, however, was very small and had no furniture except for the beds. Using a computer during my stay, therefore, was awkward. The "complimentary" dinner at the hotel was not particularly noteworthy, although the wait staff provided good service. The wi-fi connection in the room was weak and spotty, but good in the bar.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Check in at 3:30 PM was great and there it ended. We were on the fifth floor and could not get WiFi as advertised. The hotel is under construction and the noise and dust are awful and we felt like we had dust in our mouth way past the time the work crew left., Try and be away for the whole day from 7:30 to 5:30 PM. Be aware that due to a lot of hikers leaving early ( 5:00 to 6:00AM) and the fact that they send a cleaning crew at 7:00 AM to start cleaning the rooms sleeping in is impossible. The noise seem to be louder then any hotel we have been in at that expensive rate and I don't think that this will change even after they are finished with construction.The staff is wonderful and bears complaints with a smile. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the left side of the restaurant going up. The hike up to the fifth floor is te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#6 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#8 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Property: El MaPi by Inkaterra
Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing