We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We liked this modern and stylish hotel. Our room was at the back and we managed to sleep through all the local celebrations and fireworks in the town (which apparently went on until arond 5 a.m.). The location is excellent and the dinner was very good - we had a front row view of the local celebrations down the main street. The breakfast was probably the best one we ate while we were in Peru.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolvesDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel was in a great location and very convenient to get around. Upon arrival, the reception was very modern and I had high hopes that the room would match. Unfortunately it was not so. The room was average, at best. It was clean but just not up to what I expected.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JYee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel staff picked up our bags at the train station (arrived on the VistaDome from Cusco) so that we could take the bus directly to Machu Picchu. Welcome drink (the Pisco Sour) in the evening was in a friendly bar and friendly bartenders. The inclusive dinner and breakfast the next morning were both of gourmet quality and served by an attentive staff. Little things like free large bottles of water in the rooms (other hotels in Peru charged unto $4 per bottle) and a clean, sleek, well appointed room made the stay extremely pleasant. At the end of the stay they delivered our bags back to the station while we could room around the little town. Avoided us carrying our bags up and down slopes as cars are not allowed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nice enough hotel for your trip to Macchu Piccu. But nothing about the hotel makes you feel "special". Restaurant is good for breakfast and dinner (which usually included in the price.) two blocks from the train you came on, three blocks from the bus that will take you up the mountain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ohiotraveler037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here after a 5 day hike on the Salcantay trail. Our tour group gave us the option of upgrading and it was definitely worth the $; king size bed, lovely shower (with blow dryer!!!!), separate waiting room (great for storing dirty hiking clothes). We didn't spend much time at the hotel (left the town within 24 hours of arriving), but if we had more vacation time to use, I would have stayed for 2 nights after the hike.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night.
Location was great. Plenty of restaurants opposite the hotel.
We added dinner in our hotel rate, dinner was a bit pricy and reasonably good, nothing special and not many choices. More variety in restaurants, and cheaper.
Included Pisco Sour welcome cocktail.
Looked after our luggage when we checked out to go to the Machu Picchu site.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c1defence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night between visits to Machu Picchu. Right in the heart of town which is pretty small. Very nice, new looking modern hotel which had nice design. The room was very clean. Beds were comfortable and linens were nice. TV was ok but didn’t get many channels. The bathroom was very good, A bit small but all tiled which looked nice. Good water pressure and plenty of hot water. The dinner was good with a great presentation. Waiter could have been more friendly. Breakfast was also included and was really good. Scrambled eggs, hash browns, pancakes, cereal, yogurt, ham and gourmet cheeses, toast, bagels, lots of fruits, OJ, coffee and so on. Check in service was friendly, at check out they took our bag to the train for us. Nice lobby, cool bar area to relax and get a drink and they have a happy hour. A business room with a few computer to use. No problem with noise at night, but we were in the back building. No elevator, but stairs weren’t bad. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 500's (back building) if you are worried about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FifiBojangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
653 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $213 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing