We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Nearby Hotels
$150
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu(Aguas Calientes)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Ecopackers Machupicchu(Aguas Calientes)(Great Value!)
$28
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast(Aguas Calientes)
$75
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel(Aguas Calientes)
$384
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa del Sol Machupicchu(Aguas Calientes)
$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$548
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,383)
Filter reviews
2,383 results
Traveler rating
1,012
939
299
91
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,012
939
299
91
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmachu picchumodern hotelthe busincluded dinnerfree pisco sourscentral locationmiddle of townbreakfast and dinnerinca trailrestaurants and shopsshower curtainthe main streetcourse dinnerhotel restaurantyour luggageloved this hotelsmall town
Filter
Updating list...
1,071 - 1,076 of 2,383 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Most of Aguas Calientes is a work in progress, but El MaPi is impressive with nice design elements. Centrally located and within walking distance to just about everything. Check in was simple. They key and the little bag attached to it were a bit bulky, but I always knew where my key is. Lobby is big and comfortable with plenty of comfortable seating, internet room, a nice gift store and bathrooms. On the way to our room we passed the dining area that we would use for dinner and breakfast. The room was modern, comfortable and clean. The provided robes were a nice touch. The shower didn't drain too well as water pooled a bit and almost overflowed into the bathroom. Not that big of a deal. Dinner was adequate, included in the room rate and scheduled. I think we were on the 7:30-9:00PM shift. Three choices of each - salad, entree and desert - you got to pick one of each. Probably the least friendly people I encountered in Peru were the waiters here. Not to say they were bad - just most Peruvians are extremely friendly. The bed was very comfortable. The next morning we awoke to no power in the town. The staff put candles everywhere so we could bring them in our room for light. Cold shower though. Breakfast was also by candlelight and impressive. Less than 5 minute walk to and from the Machu Picchu shuttle bus and about the same to the train station. Hotel staff brought our bags to the station for us and waited for us to arrive for our train to Cuzco while we were off at Machu Picchu. Nice touch and very professional. Very good stay and I would stay again.

Room Tip: No elevators so request a ground room if you have mobility issues
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HemisphereRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Certainly unusual in design, feel and setting. The hotel is set amongst streets and alleys in Aguas Calientes and has quite an exotic feel. Large bold print phrases and sayings adorn walls in bedrooms and large print numbers on doors! Food good, different breakfast with fresh waffles and really enjoyed the bar in the evening. Service a little sketchy when needed help with room safe. Good location though, bang in the middle of the village.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank King_of_America_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

the food at el mapi was very good, but unless you speak spanish it's almost imposable to get a coffee before your meal, free internet and a great location makes this a great start to your trip to Machu Picchu, the staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean with lots of hot water the only down side was the restaurant service was very slow

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norman m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

There are very limited hotel options if you plan to stay in Aguas Calientes after visiting Machu Picchu, so be prepared to pay a lot for marginal service. Getting off the morning train from Cusco, we were told a hotel representative from El MaPi would meet us at the train station. We looked around to see every other hotel representative with a big identifying sign, but not El MaPi. After taking 5 minutes of frantic searching, we finally found their representative, who lacked a sign. We asked for directions to the hotel so we could quickly dop off our bags before taking a bus to Machu Picchu. He was busy and didn’t help, but after 10 minutes we insisted and finally got directions from him. We were not impressed. We then checked into the facility later that day after visiting Machu Picchu to find that although they charged high prices, the hotel delivered Motel 6 (or less) service. Rooms lacked iron & ironing boards, desk clock, safe was very small, hair dryer lacked power, no coffee maker, very little closet space and wi-fi service that was non-existent in the room. The only wi-fi signal one could obtain was near the front desk, and that had a very very very weak signal. I brought this up with the front desk, but they couldn't fix the problem. This amazed us because people at Machu Picchu had great cell coverage…everywhere…. What’s nice about this hotel is its location, which is just a handful of minutes from the train station and buses to Machu Picchu. There are many reasonably priced restaurants located around the hotel and the town market is just a few minutes walk. Although the town’s power was out from 4 am until 2 pm the only day we stayed there, hotel operations continued but at a lower level which was impressive. Overall we were not impressed, but realized there were very few options in this small town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BostonRedSoxFan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in a very quaint town. The town is closest to Machu Picchu. The hotel had clean rooms which were well appointed. The restaurant food was good, but it was slow getting to the table. Because this hotel is close to the bus station to go to Machu Picchu, many guests get up beginning at 4:00 AM so that they can catch the sunrise on the mountain. The rooms are very noisy. I could not get wifi in my room as promised, but it worked well in the lobby, hotel and bar. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews