We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El MaPi by Inkaterra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

the food at el mapi was very good, but unless you speak spanish it's almost imposable to get a coffee before your meal, free internet and a great location makes this a great start to your trip to Machu Picchu, the staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean with lots of hot water the only down side was the restaurant service was very slow

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norman m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    730
    235
    72
    31
See reviews for
326
791
125
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
257 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

There are very limited hotel options if you plan to stay in Aguas Calientes after visiting Machu Picchu, so be prepared to pay a lot for marginal service. Getting off the morning train from Cusco, we were told a hotel representative from El MaPi would meet us at the train station. We looked around to see every other hotel representative with a big identifying sign, but not El MaPi. After taking 5 minutes of frantic searching, we finally found their representative, who lacked a sign. We asked for directions to the hotel so we could quickly dop off our bags before taking a bus to Machu Picchu. He was busy and didn’t help, but after 10 minutes we insisted and finally got directions from him. We were not impressed. We then checked into the facility later that day after visiting Machu Picchu to find that although they charged high prices, the hotel delivered Motel 6 (or less) service. Rooms lacked iron & ironing boards, desk clock, safe was very small, hair dryer lacked power, no coffee maker, very little closet space and wi-fi service that was non-existent in the room. The only wi-fi signal one could obtain was near the front desk, and that had a very very very weak signal. I brought this up with the front desk, but they couldn't fix the problem. This amazed us because people at Machu Picchu had great cell coverage…everywhere…. What’s nice about this hotel is its location, which is just a handful of minutes from the train station and buses to Machu Picchu. There are many reasonably priced restaurants located around the hotel and the town market is just a few minutes walk. Although the town’s power was out from 4 am until 2 pm the only day we stayed there, hotel operations continued but at a lower level which was impressive. Overall we were not impressed, but realized there were very few options in this small town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BostonRedSoxFan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in a very quaint town. The town is closest to Machu Picchu. The hotel had clean rooms which were well appointed. The restaurant food was good, but it was slow getting to the table. Because this hotel is close to the bus station to go to Machu Picchu, many guests get up beginning at 4:00 AM so that they can catch the sunrise on the mountain. The rooms are very noisy. I could not get wifi in my room as promised, but it worked well in the lobby, hotel and bar. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very centric hotel and Picturesque. Nice staff and helpful too. At the restaurant the food was good but the service wasn't that good, took to long for a waiter to take your order, and longer to be serve.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

On checking in we were most pleasantly surprised by this lovely hotel at the base of Machu Picchu, newly redecorated and the lovely dinner and breakfast were part of the room rate! A most surprising find tucked in this delightful town! Wish we had another day or two to enjoy their plant and wildlife tours, they sounded great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayandLani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This very central hotel has charming staff; the bedrooms and bathrooms were spotless for our stay in mid September. Breakfast starts at 4am so rooms overlooking the central walkway and especially the restaurant/kitchen are noisy. Wooden louvres in the bathroom effectively distribute noise from other bathrooms. At US $500 for two nights, better value can be had elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight for our trip to Machu Picchu. We were given free pisco sour upon arrival which was refreshing. The rooms were adequate with contemporary decor. We had dinner in the restaurant which was good quality. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is within walking distance from the train station and located in the shopping district with plenty of restaurants around.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RJB4041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#5 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#8 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Property: El MaPi by Inkaterra
Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing