We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A lovely hotel in a great location. We enjoyed our complementary Pisco Sours. The room was nice with a couch and the bed was very big and very comfortable. The bathroom was clean, modern and the towels and robes were plush and big. Our meal for dinner and breakfast was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,117)
There are newer reviews for El MaPi by Inkaterra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 947 of 2,117 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed one night at the El Mapi Hotel. It is located right down town in Aguas Calientes. The rooms are small but clean and modern. The folks at the concierge even arranged for a private massage in my room. They gave us coupons for a free pisco sour at the bar, and to our surprise, a 3-course dinner was also complimentary. The only issue was the noise of doors closing from other guests who were leaving at the crack of dawn to get up to Machu Picchu to catch the sunrise; nothing ear plugs cannot solve though. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBGSinMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We all liked this modern hotel in old Peru. The nature quotes in the room were a nice touch. We loved the free pisca sours at happy hour. The bar and restaurant were nice and the service friendly and spoke English. It is on a small street full of shops and restaurants. One problem was they ran out of toilet paper in the middle of the night after spicey Peruvian food and no one available to bring more. It is funny now but not then.

Room Tip: As in many small hotels in Peru, there is no elevator. So unless you are a mountain climbing backpac...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gfarmer668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is great in Aguas Calientes. It was modern, nicely decorated, clean, great staff and service, our rate included lunch and dinner which were nice.
The room was very nice and comfortable. They have wifi. Location is perfect. Close to the Bus station to go to MP.

Bar staff was friendly and drinks were awesome!. Service was good overall, as the hotel was very busy.
Our bed was huge and very comfortable. Bathroom was spacious and well appointed.
Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalifa282003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you want a modern hotel with all facilities at reasonable price, this is the place.
Room and bathroom were smart and had everything required. An electric heater was provided as it gets cold in June. The inclusive dinner and breakfast were fine. The hotel will collect / / store /deliver luggage to and from the train station to allow you to maximise your time at Machu Pichu. The buses to and from MP work very well so it is no problem being based in Aguas Calientes. Overall a good choice for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin49uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were here to visit Machu Picchu of course. Location was decent, hotel looked quite nice once inside. Restaurant was quite nice, and the included food was actually quite good. Especially for us North Americans with kids in tow. Room was small and simple, but ok. Room was more like a 2* room. Very basic. The rest of the hotel much bring the rating on this hotel up. Bathroom small and basic, beds small and basic. Used computers and internet, worked well. Has small, nice gift shop as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishboy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was difficult for us to find a right hotel in Aguas Calientes. Some of them are too expensive over $1,000 per night, while others are cheap but look outdated and crappy. El MaPi falls in between those categories. It is three star hotel but it is obviously more that that. It is very clean and modern looking. The room was very spacious; we had one bed room and one living room.
We wanted to stay Inkaterra but it was not available on that day, so, we decided to go to El Mapi operated by Inkaterra. We really enjoyed there.

Due to the terrible delay of Peru Rail, we arrived in El Mapi very late at night. The kitchen normally closes at 9pm, however, they waited for us and served dinner although it was after 9pm. Great service. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $216 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing