We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very average room, but nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El MaPi by Inkaterra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very average room, but nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were here to visit Machu Picchu of course. Location was decent, hotel looked quite nice once inside. Restaurant was quite nice, and the included food was actually quite good. Especially for us North Americans with kids in tow. Room was small and simple, but ok. Room was more like a 2* room. Very basic. The rest of the hotel much bring the rating on this hotel up. Bathroom small and basic, beds small and basic. Used computers and internet, worked well. Has small, nice gift shop as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishboy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    695
    224
    67
    31
See reviews for
317
742
116
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was difficult for us to find a right hotel in Aguas Calientes. Some of them are too expensive over $1,000 per night, while others are cheap but look outdated and crappy. El MaPi falls in between those categories. It is three star hotel but it is obviously more that that. It is very clean and modern looking. The room was very spacious; we had one bed room and one living room.
We wanted to stay Inkaterra but it was not available on that day, so, we decided to go to El Mapi operated by Inkaterra. We really enjoyed there.

Due to the terrible delay of Peru Rail, we arrived in El Mapi very late at night. The kitchen normally closes at 9pm, however, they waited for us and served dinner although it was after 9pm. Great service. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent just one night at this hotel and wished we could have stayed longer. It has a very contemporary vibe. The rooms are quite nice, and the breakfast that was included was the best we had in Peru (and begins very early for those who want to catch the sunrise at Machu Picchu). To our surprise (and delight ) the price also included dinner and free Pisco Sours at happy hour. The location is terrific---on the main street about 5 minutes from the train station and market in one direction, and 5 minutes to the busses to Machu Picchu in the other.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhoff33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The town of Aquas Calientes is built on 2 (steep) hills, separated by a babbling, rushing brook. So, one is always walking up or down severe inclines or staircases in the town. El Mapi Hotel location is great, however, there is no elevator, and one must use MORE stairs at the hotel to get to the rooms, the bar, or the restaurant!

Quick walk from the train station, on the other side of the stream. Room was adequate (small) with twin beds or a king. No desk in the room, and a severe lack of electrical outlets. Wifi included in lobby and the rooms. At 4am, we could hear the staff setting up the tables and chairs for breakfast...I would suggest a room not facing the outdoor dining area.

Dinner and breakfast (included in room rate for me) were quite good. Staff is very helpful, pleasant, and accomodative and rather good English speakers. They stored our luggage while we visited MP.

There are many restaurants in the town, and each has a person outside to lure you to eat at his/her establishment. They become somewhat insistant, and won't take a "no with a smile". At one restaurant the outdoor "agent" promised a 20% discount, and when the bill arrived...guess what! No discount. I got it adjusted, but not without a multi-lingual fight. So, beware, and watch our for their hidden "service charges".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flaesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, really well located, just stepping outside and you are in one of thos calles full of little stores and good restaurants. Spacious rooms, very good food and service. Don't forget to pack a swimsuit to enjoy the relaxing hot spring after a full day of walking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Velzinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a luxury room which was beautifully designed - all white and natural wood. Great little outdoor space where you could have a drink and see the stars and the amazing surrounding mountains. Take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This modern hotel is an ideal resting place for visiting Machu Pichu. Friendly and very helpful staff together with good facilities make this a good 3/4 star hotel.
Restuarant was very busy as most guests are on a room and meal package but the food was good and the staff worked hard to serve everyone.
The rooms had all the necessary facilities with well equiped bathrooms and comfortable beds.
Nice ambience although very modern and not at all Peruvian - but did not detract from our one night stay.
Very close to coach drop off and pick up from Machu Pichu and the train station for travel down the Sacred Valley.

Room Tip: No rooms have real views as the hotel is in a deep valley - but not an issue as the scenery outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 stars 1,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#8 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#5 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Property: El MaPi by Inkaterra
Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing