We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El MaPi by Inkaterra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at El Mapi after doing the short Inca trail.

It is well located as regards the bus station, the railway station and the many restaurants.

The evening meal was good as was the following day's breakfast. No complaints as regards the room, it was comfortable and we slept well (maybe due to the day's exertions!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    698
    225
    68
    31
See reviews for
319
744
117
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is in a great location on your way to Machu Picchu. The rooms were clean, but cold. They only had a small heating unit that could not warm the entire room. The power went out through out the night so there was no hot water for a shower warm shower. A freezing shower that you have paid over $250 for is very irritating. Food included in price was good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Makaha14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hotel is centrally located and the service was very good. We were picked up at the train location which is only a few minutes away by foot.
The price of the room included breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was average, but they did a good job with the eggs. Dinner was also ok.
The room was small and dated. There was also an entry area with a couch and table.
The biggest concern was the fact that the windows were single pane and did not block any noise coming from the common area. Luckily guests did not have a party "attitude".
Given the limited choice of hotels, this is not a bad alternative.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGVTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel the night before heading up to Machu Picchu. Didn't spend much time time there, but thought it was nice. The hotel and rooms are very clean and far enough from the train tracks so you don't hear the noise from the train like many of the other hotels in the area. The restaurant had really good food but you do need to make a reservation for dinner. We didn't have time for breakfast as we got up really early to get in line for the bus up to Machu Picchu (apparently the line gets insanely long in the morning so give yourself plenty of time if you want to make it there in time for sunrise). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent two nights at this great hotel in May, 2013, and felt that it was the best one in the town. I don't know the price of it as it was included in our "tour package", but we had two breakfast, and a wonderful dinner included. Did I mention the comp. Pisco Sour. Not only did they bring our luggage up from the train station, but seeing as we were getting a late train out of there they let us keep out luggage there during the day, and then brought in back to the train station for us. It's a modern, sleek looking hotel, with a very friendly staff !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on a visit to Machu Picchu. The room was very clean and comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was fabulous. The free pisco sour was mostly foam and not really worth the effort of getting it from the bar. Just pay for a drink and they'll probably make it better when it's not free. The breakfast in the morning was also fabulous with a lot of different choices. The staff were very courteous and professional. My only gripe was our room faced a courtyard and there were some loud people in the other rooms, so it wasn't exactly quiet - luckily, I was tired. I can't speak much for the value because it was part of a package, but I would stay here again even if it wasn't and I had to pay directly (I'd just ask for a room not on the courtyard.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takeitallin14
Level Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I booked this as part of a package, so I'm not sure the actual cost of the hotel. That being said, I would stay here again for sure! I could hear the river at night, and it sounded like the ocean. I didn't find the room to be noisy, and I was on the street facing side of the hotel. The room was very modern, and really comfortable. The bathroom was excellent. They offered a free drink upon check-in. The bar was great and modern. Excellent location, friendly staff. Book it!

Room Tip: If you want to risk the noise of people out late, ask for a room facing the street, its great to hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takeitallin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 stars 1,612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#8 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#6 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Property: El MaPi by Inkaterra
Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing