We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El MaPi by Inkaterra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent two nights at this great hotel in May, 2013, and felt that it was the best one in the town. I don't know the price of it as it was included in our "tour package", but we had two breakfast, and a wonderful dinner included. Did I mention the comp. Pisco Sour. Not only did they bring our luggage up from the train station, but seeing as we were getting a late train out of there they let us keep out luggage there during the day, and then brought in back to the train station for us. It's a modern, sleek looking hotel, with a very friendly staff !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    732
    236
    72
    31
See reviews for
328
793
125
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on a visit to Machu Picchu. The room was very clean and comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was fabulous. The free pisco sour was mostly foam and not really worth the effort of getting it from the bar. Just pay for a drink and they'll probably make it better when it's not free. The breakfast in the morning was also fabulous with a lot of different choices. The staff were very courteous and professional. My only gripe was our room faced a courtyard and there were some loud people in the other rooms, so it wasn't exactly quiet - luckily, I was tired. I can't speak much for the value because it was part of a package, but I would stay here again even if it wasn't and I had to pay directly (I'd just ask for a room not on the courtyard.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takeitallin14
Level Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I booked this as part of a package, so I'm not sure the actual cost of the hotel. That being said, I would stay here again for sure! I could hear the river at night, and it sounded like the ocean. I didn't find the room to be noisy, and I was on the street facing side of the hotel. The room was very modern, and really comfortable. The bathroom was excellent. They offered a free drink upon check-in. The bar was great and modern. Excellent location, friendly staff. Book it!

Room Tip: If you want to risk the noise of people out late, ask for a room facing the street, its great to hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takeitallin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here. The place is elegant, and ecologically sensitive. The rates are expensive but then again all the nice hotels here are as well. The bar has specials on drinks which are really good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

A calm place away from the storm of Aguas Calientes! Really lovely property with a tranquil, zen environment and clean top to bottom. For anyone having experience the town of Aguas Calientes, you know that while it has it charms it does tend to be a pretty frenzied atmosphere with tons of travellers and backpackers running around excited about Machu Picchu. El MaPi is the perfect retreat from all this and is one of the most solid and comfortable hotels in Aguas Calientes which still manages to reach the standard many western travelers tend to expect. Since visiting Machu Picchu in 2010 I've actually become a Travel Specialist with Class Adventure Travel and having seen El MaPi first hand, have no hesitation to send my travelers there for night within a Peru trip. Plus, you have got to have the breakfast buffet (served as early as 4am for early risers) complete with fresh juices, home made breads, mixed seeds nuts and honey for cereal, a huge variety of meats and cheeses and an excellent cup of coffee to really wake you up before hitting Machu Picchu at sunrise!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank laryssalatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wermelskirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We arrived in Aguas Calientes in the evening and were avited by the Hotel at the train station. They picked up the luggage and brought it quickly to our room. Very good. The rest of our stay was fair. Because of a local festival and the music played there, the problem of the hotel was clear: you can't really close the windows in your room, so it was not possible to sleep until 2am. The rooms were clean but need to be renewed urgent (eg you can't lock the door). Breakfast in the morning and delivery of our luggage back to the station were well done.

So, I am sure you don't have to spend so much money here, but can get equal standard otherwhere, too.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet rooms to the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schalke-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

After a challenging short inca trail hike, we checked into this beautiful little hotel in Aguas Calientes. Modern, chic welcoming and very clean, we stopped at the bar sipping our complimentary pisco sours surrounded by steep mountains. The dinner and breakfast included in our room price were excellent. The staff is so friendly! The rooms are crisply clean. Our room looked out onto a jungle wall reminding you are in the upper Amazon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugardaddygpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#6 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#8 of 23 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Property: El MaPi by Inkaterra
Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing