We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the center of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Folsom, Ca
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the center of everything”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This hotel looks rather non descript from the street but inside it is very modern and clean. It has a great bar and restaurant, with a nice big lobby and free internet area. The room was comfortable with 2 twin beds and a sitting room. Not sure why we got a room with twin beds but they were pushed together so my wife and I still got to cuddle, (awwww)

The hotel picked up our luggage at the train station and delivered it there on the day we left. On the train you can only bring a small gym bag, but even carrying that around town would have been a pain. When we got to the train station at 10 Am we gave our luggage to the hotel (or it may have been the tour organizer Viajes Pacifico) and went to MP. From where the bus from MP drops you off, it is a quick 5 minute walk to El Mapi.

I've seen a lot of put downs about Aguas Caliente on this site, I'm not sure why. To me the vibe of the town was no different than Gatlinberg, Jackson Hole or West Yellowstone. Just a tourist town with lots of young people at the hostels, bucket listers at the hotels, lots of restaurants to choose from. I would reccomend everyone stay overnight as hedge against bad weather if you only go to MP once. We went from 10 Am to 3 PM on arrival day and from 6AM to 10 Am on the second day. We got lots of great photos in different light conditons etc. Had it rained or been foggy on day one we would have been doubly glad we had the chance to go up the second day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trainman95630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    811
    256
    79
    36
See reviews for
373
902
141
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This modernized hotel, well located near the bus and train stations (both of which are needed to visit Machu Picchu), has many fine features. Its bar and restaurant are attractive, stylish and good quality. Its outdoor hot tub looked inviting, attractively landscaped with tropical plants all around. Our room was fine (though the ongoing construction of a new annex just outside made us close the curtains during day time. We suggested to the hotel they invest in sheer curtains.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WarsawWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Great hotel with lovely clean well appointed rooms. Very charming bar and nice breakfast and dinner. Good location. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedroandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ebgland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hotel was part of a package for us so I cannot comment on value for money. However, the rooms were very comfortable, the bar was excellent and the dinner menu surprisingly good. A great one-night stopover.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cambridge_Tourist85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Good location along the main street in Aguas Calientes.
Room was very clean and a good size. Good shower. Modern hotel.
Construction of additional rooms and spa in progress adjacent to our room, which we were not advised of either when we booked or at check-in - had to have curtains drawn most of the time and it was noisy.
Good restaurant and breakfast.
a hotel to definitely consider - hopefully construction will be finished soon.

Room Tip: Away from construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nimanju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Since being remodeled, this hotel is my go-to option for Aguas Calientes. I would say it's a good solid 4 star hotel with a great location. There are small hot tubs and the bar is cute with great service. This is a great hotel option someone looking for a mid-range hotel without spending the money you would spend at the Sanctuary Lodge or Machu Picchu Pueblo. You are also within a few blocks of some of the best restaurants in town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kassi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This was part of a package so I don't know how much the room was. We had a triple and the room was very large. Bathroom was nice as well. Location was in the heart of town and only a 5 minute walk to the train station. We also had the breakfast buffet which was good. Fresh squeezed orange juice! Had our free Pisco Sour in the bar. Bartenders were nice and made a great drink. I would recommend highly.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Property: El MaPi by Inkaterra
Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing