We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apu Salkantay

Apu Salkantay
Cuisines: Peruvian, South American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
353 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent grilled trout, full house of customers and fairly good service. Very nice meal after a long day at Machu Pucchu!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    19
    30
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
242 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good service, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were a large group and everyone ordered something different. Portion sizes of all dishes was good and price was reasonable value for money. Service was a little slow with several minutes between orders from one person to the other. Would go back but there are many other places close by to choose from.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOVED this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Ordered the grilled alpaca (x3) and it was amazing...!!! Our plates were cleaned. It was very juicy and tender. I didn't like the dessert but the drinks were great and the price was very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla Beach, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Food Poisoning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I would defintely avoid 'Apu' restaurant! Our tour guide took us there after the Inca trail. I ordered the steak they actually asked me how I would like it cooked! I said well done & it came out raw inside. Sent my meal back to the kitchen, got it back & the top was black & still very pink inside. Next day I am vomiting etc. Spoke to the other people in my group that had steak & we were all sick.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Refuelling...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We went here as a final meet-up with our Inca Trail group and to be honest I think it was owned by our guide's family as he went off while we were eating to use their shower! haha. I can't complain about the food, it was really yummy and the portions were generous which was just what was needed after 4 days of hiking! I had the chicken burger which had plantain in it (made a bit of a change) and came with chips which were really nice. The prices are slightly steeper than most places we ate in Peru, but it was convenient and it would look impolite it we turned up & didn't eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rubber_Duckie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apu Salkantay also viewed

Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Apu Salkantay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing