We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place, lacked hot water” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wachuma B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wachuma B&B
Ranked #17 of 39 Aguas Calientes B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good place, lacked hot water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here after a full day Inca trail hike. The staff was very helpful and the hotel was basic and clean. Compare dto many I have seen in Peru, this was nicer, however the problem was lack of hot water, after a 7 hour hike I was dying for a hot shower but there was no hot water. otherwise, a good hotel. Breakfast was very basic, the hotel has laundry service which was a huge help as on our way to the hotel we crossed a bridge and a dog happened to be peeing from above, ugh!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashak73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    55
    42
    6
    8
See reviews for
12
65
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Good location just above the market and between 2nd and 3rd footbridges on the right.

Friendly chap on desk, rooms are small but fine with comfy beds and hot water. Good WiFi coverage with two access points.

We missed breakfast as we left very early but they let us shower up when we returned to collect our bags late afternoon.

Recommend if you want to be comfortable but don't want to pay excessive prices in this tourist town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

This Hostel, is located on the main drag about 100 yards from the train station. It's location is so wasy to get to and convenient to everything.
The Bed & Breakfast, has rooms with private baths, single and double. It is designed as most hotels are the rooms surround an interior atrium area. This avoids the safety issues of having your room door open outside the hotel. This does mean that some of the windows open into the interior atrium.
The breakfast is typical: coffee or tea, bread, cheese and a meat with juice. We noticed little difference from place to place when breakfast was included in the room price.
We had a double bed with private bath and were very comfortable. This isn't the US it is Peru and the building codes, if any, are much different than you may be used to. The bathroom was built into an existing room and the walls did not go to the ceiling. The 'room' was just large enough for the full size bed. We enjoyed staying in the smallest room we had ever had! It was nice to find that the less room you have the less stuff you throw around.
The manager, Jimmy, was extremely helpful with any request we made. When he sent us to purchase tickets for the bus to Macchu Pichu he checked our purchases upon return to make sure we had the correct tickets and had not paid for anything we didn't need.
When we returned early the day we visited MP and requested a late checkout, he was very accommodating and for an extremely reasonable price he allowed us to stay in the room until early afternoon. I highly recommend the Wachuma B & B for the hospitality, cleanliness, comfortable bed, and ideal location. Enjoy where you are!

Room Tip: All rooms back up to the local school and an alley, higher rooms get less noise from the alley but m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinHB_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This place was good for a place to stay the night before Macchu Picchu. I would say that the location was great except for that all of the places to stay in Macchu Picchu are within blocks of each other. The room was adequate, the breakfast was absolutely nothing special and there was a lot of noise outside.

This place is good if you just need a place to sleep and don't desire anything else.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Esrozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Totally cool spot. The guys were incredibly helpful (especially with my textbook-style Spanish!) in getting me settled, and helping me navigate the surroundings. Breakfast was simple, and done early enough to hike up to Machu Picchu before the real crowds pour in. Internet worked fine, hot shower, no problems at all. VERY great price, and couldn't have been happier with my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We took the 4:30 train from Ollantaytambo so didn't get to Aguas Calientes until after dark and we were only planning to stay the night so we could catch the 5:30 am bus up to Macchu Picchu. It couldn't have been easier to find Wachuma. It was just up the main "street" right by the train station. You basically get off the train and turn right before crossing the river.

Jimmy and Italo greeted us upon our arrival and were really friendly and helpful. :) They showed us on the map where we could go for dinner and checked to see when we'd want our breakfast. Best of all, they helped us w/ a guide for Machu Picchu. We were introduced to Omar and we met w/ him later that evening for a prep talk, it was going to run $20 a person for 2 hours. (Note, when we met w/ Omar the next day, there ended up being 14 other people on the tour. My boyfriend and I opted out of the group, but Omar introduced us to his friend Alain for a private tour, $50 for the two of us for two hours. And Alain was AMAZING)

The rooms were really clean and pretty spacious, there was a TV which we hadn't had in a couple days having come from the Sacred Valley. Bathroom really clean, we didn't get to use the shower. There was a rally of some sort on the soccer fields behind the hotel, but they were done by 9:30, so it didn't bother us. If you're a really light sleeper maybe bring earplugs just in case, but I feel like that's just Aguas Calientes. They do have free coca tea down in the lobby, so that was nice also. And they let us keep our overnight packs there while we went up to the ruins.

I would totally stay here again if I was to do Machu Picchu again. They were a 5 minute walk to the bus line and it was hard to beat the price of $50 a night for 2 people. All the restaurants were just a block away and just a couple minutes up the hill to the hot springs.

Muchas gracias Jimmy y Italo!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vern R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hostal is very close to the trainstation and the two guys working there are very friendly and helpful.
Unfortunatley there was no hot water in the morning and the breakfast was some 20min late. No big deal in general but when it's about getting up at 4am to go up to Machu Picchu it's just too long.
The room was very small (no space for large luggage) and rather noisy. The bed very comfortable. Also we did not find the heating in the room.
For one night was ok, but not great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rupa Wasi  Lodge
Rupa Wasi Lodge
#12 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machu Picchu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wachuma B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wachuma B&B

Property: Wachuma B&B
Address: Alameda Los Artesanos MZ 23 LT13, Aguas Calientes Mach 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wachuma B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Wachuma B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing