We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what it was”
Review of Wachuma B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wachuma B&B
Ranked #16 of 39 Aguas Calientes B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for what it was”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This place was good for a place to stay the night before Macchu Picchu. I would say that the location was great except for that all of the places to stay in Macchu Picchu are within blocks of each other. The room was adequate, the breakfast was absolutely nothing special and there was a lot of noise outside.

This place is good if you just need a place to sleep and don't desire anything else.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Esrozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    55
    44
    6
    8
See reviews for
12
66
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Totally cool spot. The guys were incredibly helpful (especially with my textbook-style Spanish!) in getting me settled, and helping me navigate the surroundings. Breakfast was simple, and done early enough to hike up to Machu Picchu before the real crowds pour in. Internet worked fine, hot shower, no problems at all. VERY great price, and couldn't have been happier with my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We took the 4:30 train from Ollantaytambo so didn't get to Aguas Calientes until after dark and we were only planning to stay the night so we could catch the 5:30 am bus up to Macchu Picchu. It couldn't have been easier to find Wachuma. It was just up the main "street" right by the train station. You basically get off the train and turn right before crossing the river.

Jimmy and Italo greeted us upon our arrival and were really friendly and helpful. :) They showed us on the map where we could go for dinner and checked to see when we'd want our breakfast. Best of all, they helped us w/ a guide for Machu Picchu. We were introduced to Omar and we met w/ him later that evening for a prep talk, it was going to run $20 a person for 2 hours. (Note, when we met w/ Omar the next day, there ended up being 14 other people on the tour. My boyfriend and I opted out of the group, but Omar introduced us to his friend Alain for a private tour, $50 for the two of us for two hours. And Alain was AMAZING)

The rooms were really clean and pretty spacious, there was a TV which we hadn't had in a couple days having come from the Sacred Valley. Bathroom really clean, we didn't get to use the shower. There was a rally of some sort on the soccer fields behind the hotel, but they were done by 9:30, so it didn't bother us. If you're a really light sleeper maybe bring earplugs just in case, but I feel like that's just Aguas Calientes. They do have free coca tea down in the lobby, so that was nice also. And they let us keep our overnight packs there while we went up to the ruins.

I would totally stay here again if I was to do Machu Picchu again. They were a 5 minute walk to the bus line and it was hard to beat the price of $50 a night for 2 people. All the restaurants were just a block away and just a couple minutes up the hill to the hot springs.

Muchas gracias Jimmy y Italo!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vern R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hostal is very close to the trainstation and the two guys working there are very friendly and helpful.
Unfortunatley there was no hot water in the morning and the breakfast was some 20min late. No big deal in general but when it's about getting up at 4am to go up to Machu Picchu it's just too long.
The room was very small (no space for large luggage) and rather noisy. The bed very comfortable. Also we did not find the heating in the room.
For one night was ok, but not great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

It is a simple hotel, but very clean, and the staff is very friendly.
The night we spent there, there was a rehearsal for the anniversary of the city in the schoolyard that sits in the back of the hotel. This test was until 04:00 am. Outside this essay, the hotel is very quiet and well located. I Recommend to anyone who does not want to spend much. It was an excellent cost / benefit ratio.

Room Tip: If you need tickets to Machu Picchu, you can ask them by email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Wachuma B & B on September 29, 2012. Room was affordable and clean. Jimmy and staff are very friendly - they safely stored our luggage during our trip to MP. Nice to have a TV, but didn't use it. Th biggest downfall, and it is a huge one, is the amount of noise coming from the court yard out our bedroom window. Trying to get an early night sleep to prepare for the next morning was impossible, as was sleeping for more than an hour at a time. Army drills at 9pm, and then periodic yelling through out the night. A domestic fight was occuring somewhere in the neighbourhood, complete with blood curdling screams. The hall light was left on until very late, and it blared through the glass windows into our room. Not a pleasant night - our worse in Peru.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macfarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Wachuma is centrally located and close to the railway but backs on to a building site at present (noisy from 0800 but you'd want to be getting up to Macchu Pichu anyway).
The rooms were Ok once we had changed from a very small "matrimonial" room to a twin room which had much more space. A persistent but minor leak in the bathroom was a little annoying but solved temporarily with a towel. It was a later realization that the landings on the stair above looked down directly into the bathroom through the window into the atrium.
The heating was inadequate but the rooms otherwise comfortable. Breakfast was fine and the staff helpful. Google translate made up for our lack of Spanish. Wifi worked OK.

Room Tip: Avoid a matrimonial room if you want space and avoid the ground floor if you want privacy in the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
965 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inti Punku Macchu Picchu Hotel
Inti Punku Macchu Picchu Hotel
#21 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel
Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita ...
#4 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wachuma B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wachuma B&B

Property: Wachuma B&B
Address: Alameda Los Artesanos MZ 23 LT13, Aguas Calientes Mach 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wachuma B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Wachuma B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing