We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aguas Calientes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Machu Picchu
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed here with a group of 10 friends, so we occupied 5 rooms. The ones at the back, overlooking the river and having a extra window are the best, the others have a window to the court yard. Everyone was satisfied with the rooms. There was plenty of hot water (I don't take 5 minutes showers, so I don't know how long it lasted) and since I was not there to watch TV I don't know how it worked and how many channels it had. there were no bad smells. It is not a luxurious hotel, but for the price ($55, for Aguas Calientes this is at the lower end, the town is very overpriced) it is okay.
Breakfast next door was excellent, the staff was very helpful with a ticket problem we had.
NOTE: The pictures given here are not correct. I suspect, they are old and the hotel has been remodeled or even rebuild totally. Go to there website: www. hostalmachupicchu.com to see how it looks now.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Purplecat8104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Machu Picchu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 55 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

We got room 205 with two large windows on the river Urabamba or Villcanota. The balcony was outside the door. The river is very loud, but we found it very nice. The one road in town runs along the river, so there is lots of bus traffic that starts at 0530. We had lots of hot water, and no problems like the other reviewers. Breakfast was included and served next door at the Presidente. Most of the other rooms looked much smaller with no view at all. The courtyard is very nice, with a resident mascot parrot named Pancho. Well worth the $50/day.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms that overlook the river. We liked it, but the rushing water in the river is l...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elops_saurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

First of all,we made a reservation for that hotel and we received an email to confirm it. When we arrived, they didnt have any record of our reservation. We finally got two rooms. When you walk into the room, an overpowering stench surrounds you. In one of our rooms, the windows didn't close so the room was freezing! Not exactly the desired environment when settling in Macchu Pichu. Also, while showering, the water starts off warm (but with very low pressure) and about five minutes in, the hot water shuts off! Also, the TV only has three channels and the room only provides one outlet which is occupied by the TV. Next, the staff is not very friendly. In fact, they overcharged me 10 dollars for my room! The rates are listed clearly at reception so I noticed immediately while checking my bank account that sonething was wrong. I asked them to give me back the 10 dollars but they refused. I was extremely dissapointed. We tourrists spend a lot traveling and I felt taken advantage of!
In all, this hotel is awful, overpriced and a dissapointment. Don't even bother!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IsaMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We arrived here late at night and left early the next morning so for a nights sleep it did the trick! The courtyard was nice and it was great to watch the River cascade past the lounge balcony.

The room felt quite cramped by the time we had unpacked and while it was not dirty the room and bathroom had a 'tired' feel about it which gave the impression it was grubby. Having read previous reviews the hotel must have tidied itself up as there was no stinking mould.

Breakfast is still next door and this was one of the best breakfasts we had while in Peru.

All in all, a hostel that serves its purpose - its not remarkable or outstanding.... but does the trick before a trip to Macch Picchu.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank helensuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

This hostal need more maintenance. Everything is over dated and need some new paiting. Me and my boyfriend only stayed here for one night but we would not come back ever. The room is really smal with no television, heater or anything. The worse thing is that the bathrooms didn't seem clean and the drain of the shower was clogged, accumulating water. It was impossible for another person to use it - very disgusting. We thought that it was very expensive for the level of the hostal.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fezoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

You are right in between the busses that drive to Machu Picchu and the train tracks. Small and noisy rooms. Courtyard. Value 4 money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable. The rapids outside provide a soothing screen of white noise. There are no distractions -- no television, no telephones, no internet. The interior garden is pretty and has a resident macaw who likes to converse with guests. Security is sometimes lax, but the police station is across the street. The staff speaks almost no English. The location is a half block from the buses to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johnvinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,056 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,023 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hatun Inti Classic
Hatun Inti Classic
#14 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ecopackers Machupicchu
Ecopackers Machupicchu
#3 of 45 in Aguas Calientes
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Machu Picchu

Address: Av. Imperio de Los Incas 135, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $328 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Hostal Machu Picchu Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing