We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good comfortable stay, excellent restaurant!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rupa Wasi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rupa Wasi Lodge
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good comfortable stay, excellent restaurant!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here one night as we wanted to allow 2 days for Machu! Excellent service we were met at the train station and taken to the hotel, we just got a lower room, comfortable stay, clean rooms, shower had hot water, simple but pleasant. The Treehouse restaurant was amazing one of the better meals I've had in the sacred valley!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paradisetradingco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    201
    80
    51
    42
See reviews for
106
271
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The staff are pretty knowledgeable about what is around and how to get there. Their service overall was amazing. We only booked a standard room but there was a guy waiting for us at the train station when we arrived who offered to help with our bags and show us to the hotel which was about a 10 min walk away. We were upgraded to a suite as I think there may have been a mix up with our booking. There is a bit of a climb via steps to the hotel but the views from the suite balconies make up for that. There is complimentary coca tea, coffee and water waiting at reception. The rooms aren't huge and could have done with a fan but are very attractive in an eco lodge style. The beds are so comfortable that you can't help but fall asleep on them. One thing that really stood out was the shower. The water pressure is staggeringly good and the water is very hot. The shower was a god send after a long day of treking.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Very good stay. Rustic setting though a saw very few bugs in our rooms, hot water was plentiful and beds very comfortable. The stairs were no problem to navigate, we went up and down them several times no problem. Staff was also very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Where to begin! We arrived via the 4 hour train ride from Cusco and were kindly greeted. We were upgraded to the suite! It was so cool-2 floors, 2 beds, lovely bathroom with eco friendly soups and shampoo, CLEAN!!! We walked a lovely mossy path up to the private lodge and went upstairs to see windows on three walls, huge windows! They looked out over the town and the majestic mountains. With the windows open we could hear the gush of the river and waterfall below. The bed was huge, really comfortable, and they had great wi-fi too. Lots of pillows. This is the perfect romantic setting or even great for a small family. The hotel even had a really nice restaurant. They made us great pisco sours and I tried guinea pig here! It's a clean and safe place to try such delicacies. Breakfast was cheap and lovely as well. When we checked out they were awesome to keep our bags and transport them to the train station for us in time to go back to Cusco. We stayed just one night in order to head up to Machu Pichhu early (which I recommend because less people equals better photos). Many thanks to the staff and everyone at Rupa Wasi. I want to go back! Heaven!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the suite. It is an experience of a lifetime and especially if you only stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennykr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Rupa Wasi is a treehouse type hotel with a nice restaurant. I’m not sure what other rooms are like, but we just had a basic, double room that looked onto the alley and it was kind of cruddy (room 2 I believe). The bed and pillows were comfortable, but the room had a musty smell and mold in the bathroom. The bathroom definitely needs attention as far as fixtures and mold goes. Also a big suggestion is to replace the commercial toilet paper and toilet paper holder, as found in many public places, with something suitable for a hotel.. This place was definitely not worth the money paid. We paid the most here out of all the 10 or so hotels stayed at while in Peru and the room was by far in the worst condition.

Room Tip: Ask for room off of the alley - avoid room 2 if possible... not sure if others are any better though
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_and_N_s_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We arrived here on the train from Cusco, and were met at the station by the receptionist from the hotel.
Rupa Wasi is located up near the tree line of Aguas Calientes, and it is a bit of a climb to get there, but as of mid November 2013, over 90% of the steps were done, the remainder were easily manageable though.

Check in was easy, and myself and my partner were upgraded from the basic room to the Panaromic Suite (very lovely), while the remainder of my friends stayed in the basic room, and one occupied the suite.

This review is based on my experience at the guesthouse, my friends didn't like their room as it was quite damp, and slept in the same room as our other friend who booked a suite.

Anyway, the panoramic suite was lovely, it's on the top floor of the treehouse like guesthouse, up a series of stone steps, and it's over two levels; downstairs is the bathroom and a single bed, and upstairs is the bedroom with a double bed. Both beds had amazing views of the mountains in Aguas Calientes. The room was very clean and tidy, yes, there are some gaps in the wooden walls, but there were no insects or creepy crawlies present.

We found the shower worked perfectly well, when you first check in and shown to your room, the receptionist tells you how to operate the shower - turn the hot water full on in the shower, and cold water full on in the sink until the shower starts running hot. That's it, not too difficult.

Breakfast is served in The Tree House, which was lovely - we had breakfast, lunch and dinner there, and all 3 meals were delicious - a special mention goes out to Christina, who is lovely!!
I would stay here again, but after seeing the basic room vs the suites, I would definitely book one of the suites.

Room Tip: Go for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We arrived here, and yes, as others have wrote, major construction happening on the lane and steps to the lodge. If you don't like steps, you will be amazed how many you have to negotiate to get here. Our room was disappointing, not sure if they have other room standards, but ours was small, smelt extremely musty and felt dirty. Bathroom still had hair on the floor from previous guests. Room had see through curtains which made it difficult to sleep when it was so light in the room. Breakfast was just ok based on limited offer...no juice, one cereal type, toast, and eggs only. Lunch boxes ordered for our visit we thought were overpriced for what we got....missing juice and granola bar which we didn't realise til at MP. Glad we only stayed the one night here. Would I stay again? No.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localexpertCusco, Propietario at Rupa Wasi Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Hi my name is Alvaro Bedoya, in name of all the Rupa Wasi Staff, we are truly sorry for the bad experience you had. As i see in your review many things went wrong, this is not usual in our service and infrastructure. We are investigating why did so many things went wrong and as i see it was a chain of mistakes that led from one to the other. We are truly sorry again and we would liked to know this before so we could compensate you in some way.
We are sorry again and this will serve us to put more effort in our service and constantly improve.

Alvaro Bedoya

Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rupa Wasi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rupa Wasi Lodge

Property: Rupa Wasi Lodge
Address: Calle Huanacaure 105, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#6 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rupa Wasi’s unique location provides for spectacular views of the mountains of Machu Picchu. Rooms boasting balconies allow our guests to take full advantage of these surroundings. This design marvel fits together magically with the green surrounding of Aguas Calientes to create a peaceful environment, an invitation to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rupa Wasi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rupa Wasi Eco Hotel Aguas Calientes
Hotel Rupa Wasi Eco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing