We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but a climb getting there!”
Review of Rupa Wasi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rupa Wasi Lodge
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our room was huge but the climb to get to the hotel was a bit scary. There was construction going on, so we had to balance on a couple of wooden ladders on our way up. It turned out fine, but if you have a lot of luggage that may not bea fun trip. The room itself was clean and the shower was hot most of the time! It was also very quiet. The restaurant was delicious for breakfast. It was a nice place to stay but with the construction I might stay somewhere else next time!

Room Tip: The ones farther up have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 614 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here the night before we went to Machu Picchu. The ambiance of the place was very mystic and comfy. Our room was a neat 2 story set up (although it was scary going down the stars at night to the bathroom). The views were beautiful from our room. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant which was very good and the only actual "dress up" night for us on our honeymoon :) We had nice stay here.

**Be ready to get a workout on the way to your room! There are some steep steps to get there!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The overall theme of this stay was that appearances can be deceiving. The place looked great. But behind every surface, there were cut corners that negatively impacted the experience.

The room has no insulation to keep out noise. We wanted to sleep in after hiking the Inca trail, but no dice. It sounded like the other guests were in our room. The footsteps above made it seem like our ceiling and the floor above were one in the same. And the construction outside would certainly not let us snooze. On top of that checkout is 9:30 a.m.

Speaking of the construction, the entire road to the hotel is currently being torn up. There is a staircase you have to climb from the side street. Both are in rubble at present (Sept. 2013). Chunks of concrete clinging to the foundations of the buildings combined with some 1x4's made up the route. On top of that, it was a little tough to get the workers to stop swinging pick axes so we could pass.

Finally the showers were really great once the hot water got going. However, the window to our shower did not seal. So at some point between turning on the hot water and coming back to shower in the morning, a 3" diameter spider had taken up residence by the shower head. Being agoraphobic, I passed on the shower after that. This seems to be another symptom of shoddy construction. Along with the lack of insulation, the doors and windows do not seal well. Not only is there no weather stripping, but the shower window was warped and would not close completely. It was tied semi-closed, with a 1/2" gap, using a piece of string and a few nails. Hence my eight-legged nemesis was able to make an appearance.

Also the hotel just kind of stops inside as a giant construction tarp tries to separate it from the surrounding properties. There is no permanence to the barrier and it is very ugly. As with the rest of the hotel, it seems like they got to a point where they could take some nice pictures and then stopped the work short of finishing.

The restaurant was a bright spot. The breakfast was underwhelming but included in the rate. The dinner was not included and much better. However, it was very rich and we could not finish it all. That was probably a consequence of hiking and altitude. I highly recommend the Causita Acevichada. Delicious; get two! The entrees are very heavy and they need some lighter fair that are not salads (we were concerned, and maybe being overly cautious, about traveler's sickness from the water used to wash the lettuce).

Room Tip: Do not even bother with a lower-level room. The only reason I could imagine staying here is for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nph06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Rupa Wasi is a little oasis in not-so-interesting Aguas Calientes. It is a lovely hotel, with simple and tasteful yet (especially to those coming off a 5-day trek) luxurious rooms. Our room had a balcony, from which the views were grand. The shower was amazing. Expensive, but worth it. The staff is exceptionally friendly and seems happy to store luggage and even to help you bring it to (and from) the train station if need be. Steps up to RW are steep. The food is excellent, and breakfast may be eaten before the first bus to Macchu Picchu leaves. We loved staying here.

Room Tip: There is a panoramic suite with 360 degree views. This room has to be requested specifically and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenleafVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night, during our visit to Macchu Picchu. The room was just OK. Not great, not bad. But compared to the other options in the town, short of breaking the piggy back for sanctuart lodge--it's the best you're going to do. Wifi doesn't work in the rooms, fyi. And, if you're trying to get a quick breakfast before heading to Macchu Picchu to see the sunrise, be aware...the coffee is great but service is reallllly slow, even with noone else in the restaurant. Plan a little extra time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed two nights in their larger room, actually room downstairs with loft for bedroom. Everything was clean and worked. Staff very friendly and helpful. Accommodations are simple. Based on prices in Machu in general, this was reasonable but much more expensive than you would expect for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RD1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed in room #5. It was very relaxing. The beds were very comfortable. There was some noise outside the hotel, but it stopped by 6 pm. The front desk was helpful. And they take credit cards (a rarity in Peru).

The biggest issue -- particularly when paying $150/night -- is that there was no hot water. After 4 days on the Inca Trail, I just wanted a warm shower. All I got was ice water. I tried when I arrived, later that night and again the next morning. No matter what I did, I couldn't get anything other than ice cold water. It was a major disappointment.

The wifi didn't work in the room. It worked only in the reception area.

Room Tip: #5 has two beds: a single bed on the first floor and a double bed in the loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abseiltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waman Hotel Machupicchu
Waman Hotel Machupicchu
#11 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#14 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rupa Wasi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rupa Wasi Lodge

Address: Calle Huanacaure 105, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $49 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rupa Wasi’s unique location provides for spectacular views of the mountains of Machu Picchu. Rooms boasting balconies allow our guests to take full advantage of these surroundings. This design marvel fits together magically with the green surrounding of Aguas Calientes to create a peaceful environment, an invitation to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rupa Wasi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rupa Wasi Eco Hotel Aguas Calientes
Hotel Rupa Wasi Eco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing