We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost like camping”
Review of Rupa Wasi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rupa Wasi Lodge
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were dirty and tired after our hike to Machu Picchu, and eagerly looking forward to a hot shower and comfortable bed. Fortunately we arrived in the late afternoon, so there was hot water in the shower. But the bed was not so comfortable, and the hot water was gone by the next morning (so no shower then).

Rupa Wasi was actually an upgrade choice provided by our trek provider. The hike and guide were fantastic, and we were quite happy with our trekking company (Apus Peru), though I'm not exactly sure why they considered Rupa Wasi to be an upgrade. And in retrospect, I would have rather not paid the extra money (for the upgrade) and simply stayed in a hostel or camp site (as Rupa Wasi was almost like camping).

My biggest complaint was that our room was overly damp. This is obviously a problem recognized by the hotel, because the room came equipped with a dehumidifier. We ran it constantly to try to remove some of the dampness.

Our room was also on the first floor, and footsteps from above and noise from outside were a bit annoying.

I imagine that most of the people staying at Rupa Wasi were trekkers like us, and so it would have been nice for the lodge to provide soap, shampoo & conditioner in the bathrooms (or at least offer travel size containers for sale in the reception area). And lastly, the bathrooms were a bit worn out.

On the other hand, the lodge's restaurant (the Tree House) was quite good. We ate two meals there (a breakfast and a dinner), and the food was very tasty!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 606 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

It was a leap of faith to arrange, from Australia, our 7 day excursion to Cusco and surrounds via an eco-lodge in Aguas Callientes but we were thrilled with the outcome. We are a family of 4 with 2 children under 10 (5 & 8y) and wanted a package that would suit a quieter pace while still taking in all the major sites that Cusco, the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu have to offer. Carla and Roxana, via many emails, helped to plan our trip including accommodation, day tours, train tickets and some entry fees. Everything went as planned: our accommodation in Cusco (Hotel Unaytambo) was pleasant and well located. The staff were very helpful. Our day trip through the Sacred Valley was fantastic. A co-owner of the Rupa Wasi lodge, Alvaro, took us. We saw Moray, Maras (Salineras), Ollantaytambo and we even visited a chicheria to drink the traditional Peruvian chicha drink made of purple maize. A porter was waiting for us at Aguas Calientes to walk us to Rupa Wasi. The staff at Rupa Wasi were friendly and helpful. The room was fairly small but for one night is perfectly serviceable. My only complaint is that the walls are thin and there was a baby in the room next door which made a good night's sleep a little difficult. That said, judging by the lack of small children in Machu Picchu, I imagine that this problem is rather unusual. The dinner at the Tree House Restaurant was fantastic. My causa con ceviche was top notch and, being of Peruvian descent, I have eaten quite a bit of both in my time! Our guide in Machu Picchu was very good providing us with a comprehensive tour with plenty of interesting information before allowing us free time to wander ourselves. Back in Cusco, our city tour was excellent - thanks Juan. So all in all, the staff at Rupa Wasi managed to make our whole trip to the region very memorable and special for all the right reasons.
Other pointers: I speak and write some Spanish and that is helpful when travelling in Peru in my experience. I would take care with travelling with very young kids to Machu Picchu. The few parents with toddlers looked quite harassed, which was not all that surprising given that opportunities for serious falls are several.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I don't have any complaints about our one-night stay here in Aguas Calientes. We went for a standard room, so we had no view and our room was basically just a queen bed, a single bed (not sure why we had two beds, but it was actually helpful because we laid out all our clothes on the other one), and bathroom. The room was nothing special, but after the 4 day Inca Trail, it had a bed, a shower, and it was only around $80 a night. Oh, I forgot- this was actually the most comfortable bed we slept in in all of our Peru stay. Now, I don't know if it was really amazing because we were used to sleeping on the ground for the previous 3 nights or because it was really comfortable..lol

Also, the staff was really great. This was a good place to stay for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NextVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I looked for a long time at all the hotel options in Aguas Calientes and it was pretty slim pickins'. When I found this hotel, it seemed promising and like the best choice out of the options available. This hotel is tucked away behind the main plaza and is up on the hill. It has a lush jungle feel with all the plant growth and foliage at the entry. A hotel rep met us at the train station to bring us to the hotel, so we didn't have to wander around looking for it. We bought a package that included our Machu Picchu and Wayna Picchu tickets. I was a little nervous about leaving an important detail like MP tixs in someone else's hands, but I confirmed with them a lot over email prior to our trip and everything went off without a hitch. They handled everything just like they said they would. We were in room #2 on the first floor right outside the lobby. The rooms are all wood so it feels like you are in a treehouse. The room was clean and the size was ok. Our room got a little stuffy and humid at times, with limited cross breeze, but that was really it for negatives. There are no TVs so make sure to bring your book :) If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs...the roosters in the neighborhood wake you up, as does the sound of upstairs guests walking on the creaky wood floors and other guests getting up early to head to MP. There is wifi, but we couldn't get signal while in our room wi the door closed, so we would sit in the lobby to check email etc. Probably what makes this hotel best is the Treehouse restaurant next door (separate review). This restaurant is a huge assets to the hotel and was some of the best food we ate on our trip. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for its helpful and friendly staff, location (away from the hubbub of AG and very close to MP bus stop), jungle/treehouse feel and the great food across the patio.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHAustin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

There are many choices in lodging in the little "boom town" of Aguas Calientes, however this little gem was the perfect choice for my husband and I. We were upgraded to one of the balcony rooms upstairs and the windows in the vaulted ceiling had the most amazing view of the steep walls that surround this funky town! The location is off the main tourist section, but everything is so close that is is still very convenient. Our group that had just hiked the Inca Trail had dinner (along with our guide) at the adjoining Tree House restaurant and everyone was extremely pleased with their meal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank outdoorgal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This cute tree-house style hotel is just beyond the main plaza and away from the main strip of restaurants which means it is quieter but very handy for the train, the bus to Machu Picchu and an easy walk to dinner. The in-house restaurant is great- definitely eat here, it is far superior to the tourist level quality everywhere else in Aguas Calientes for no more money. We had an upstairs room with a little balcony and in the morning we asked for our coffee on a tray so we could enjoy our little outdoor space. Bear in mind the decoration/style of this place is sort of funky California, which I love. Sound was a little bothersome, you could hear other guests and the sound from the festivities in the square kept us up one night, but I think they would have kept us up wherever we were in town. Staff were super helpful, and I imagine they get weary with everyone asking the same questions about the Machu Picchu experience, but they did not show it. Good for them, real professionals.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HE_Low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Can't say enough about this little gem, which lies safely tucked away from the most touristy parts of Aguas Calientes. The staff picked us up at the train station, handled our luggage to and from the hotel, and was just really helpful and accommodating throughout our stay.
We were staying in room No 5, in "the treehouse", which had amazing views. The rooms are simple, yes, but we had everything we needed. The restaurant was absolutely amazing and we had probably the best meal during our whole trip here! Highly recommended if you are looking for something between hostels and high end hotels.

Room Tip: Room No 5 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pia1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,096 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waman Hotel
Waman Hotel
#11 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.2 mi away
Hatun Inti Classic
Hatun Inti Classic
#14 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rupa Wasi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rupa Wasi Lodge

Address: Calle Huanacaure 105, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#6 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $51 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rupa Wasi’s unique location provides for spectacular views of the mountains of Machu Picchu. Rooms boasting balconies allow our guests to take full advantage of these surroundings. This design marvel fits together magically with the green surrounding of Aguas Calientes to create a peaceful environment, an invitation to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rupa Wasi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rupa Wasi Eco Hotel Aguas Calientes
Hotel Rupa Wasi Eco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing