We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for Machu Picchu - DO NOT buy their packages” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rupa Wasi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rupa Wasi Lodge
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
new york, ny
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good hotel for Machu Picchu - DO NOT buy their packages”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was really looking forward to staying here after reading all the reviews. We booked the room a month in advanced and paid a 50% deposit, the responses take between 24hrs and 72hrs and often do not address all simple questions, but I figured there was a language barrier. They asked which train we were on for someone to meet us at the train station with a sign as it is a bit difficult to find. The town is small, but the streets are small. It is just a 5 min walk to the train station, and less than that to the bus to MP. There was no one to meet us at the train station when we were arrived, luckily, they had a sign for some other people staying at the hotel because it was raining. We purchased the MP package which included a $50 service charge for the purchase of the MP tickets. They asked what time we wanted the Waynu Picchu tickets for when making the reservation, and we told them 10am.

When we checked into the hotel, they told us that they would have the MP tickets after 6pm. After we had dinner, we asked for our tickets and saw that they had purchased them for 7am. I told the receptionist and she called the office. The office told her that there were no more tickets for the 10am group which is why they bought us the 7am. The whole point of purchasing the ticket through the hotel was to get them ahead of time. We checked the date/time stamp of the tickets and they hotel purchased them AFTER we checked in.

In addition, they didn't even tell us that they bought the 7am versus the 10am which we had asked for. Had I not checked the ticket and shown up at Waynu Picchu at 10am, we would have missed our only opportunity to go.

The rooms themselves are fine, the are equipped with de-humidifiers, and hot water. They have hair dryers to borrow. They provide towels, shampoos, and soap. The rooms were comfortable but are about 3 flights of stairs from the street. We were waken up at 4am by roosters that did not stop until we got up to head out to Waynu Picchu.

I demanded a refund for the service fee given what had happened. After 45 min of going back and forth with the office through the receptionist, they agreed to a $30 refund. The breakfast included is good, but slow so make sure you allot enough time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadewin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    201
    80
    51
    42
See reviews for
106
271
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We booked our room 3 months in advance, communication was always through email. It was amazingly easy to make accommodation reservations. We travel in mid May. We paid 50% in advance and the remainder balance upon our departure. We arrived at MP early morning, before 0800, and true to their word someone, a courteous young man was waiting for us at the train stop, he found us quickly and was quick to help with my youngest daughter's suitcase. The walk to the hotel is short from the train station, you take an interesting walk through the "mercado", past the bridge and up a long flight of stairs. The stairs are steep and a bit difficult if you're not used to the altitude.
We wanted to go upto see MP right away, so on our way to the hotel our greeter was able to take us to buy the MP entrance and bus tickets (suitcases and all).
We arrived to Rupa Wasi, in my personal opinion, the hotel / room was true to the pictures and description posted on the website, with one exception. On the website there is a picture that shows a beautiful view of mountainous terrain, I am not sure if it is possible to see that, it almost appeared as if we were surrounded by other building structures. I did not see such view, maybe I didn't explore enough. The hotel is very interesting, rustic, basic, with only the necessary non-luxury elements. I loved it!

My husband on the other hand, did not feel that the pictures were accurate. He felt that the room was too small, we chose the room with one large bed and two smaller beds, 1 bathroom (had a huge window in the shower but no curtain, we had to hang towels for privacy, no big deal). As I said before we visited in May, and temps were in the 50-60s, many of the hotels only have small portable heaters in rooms, which to my surprise were quite effective in keeping us warm at night.

We did not try the restaurant, which I really regret but the staff was very helpful, accommodating.
I've seen many reviews that describe AC as a shack town, but it is what it is, and I'm not there to be judgemental of the way people live, we travel to learn from and embrace other cultures, if we visit them, least we can do is adapt to their way of living not have a sense of entitlement that they should change to accommodate us, travelers.

Overall I would return and stay again and a heartbeat. Thanks to all for making our stay wonderful!

Room Tip: Being on the first floor, you just have to hope that you do not get people that are heavy-footed whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at Rupawasi yesterday while travelling with my parents. Overall, the stay was very nice and we enjoyed ourselves, though there were a few hiccups along the way. We arrived at the train station in Aguas Calientes and there was no one from the hotel to greet us, but a quick phone call to the front desk and someone was there within 5 minutes. The walk to the hotel was nice; the hotel is on the opposite side of town from the river and train track, which makes it a bit quieter than other parts of town. There is a long climb up some big stone steps to get to the hotel, so if you have trouble with stairs, have a heart condition, or are otherwise not able-bodied, I would recommend staying elsewhere.
Our rooms were ready for us even though we arrived at 11 am. Each room had a larger bed (a queen in one room, a double in the other) as well as a twin bed. We also had balconies that over-looked the town and had a gorgeous view of the mountains. Unfortunately, my parents soon realized they had no hot water, and soon water also started leaking all over their bathroom floor. A plumber was brought in, but they were told nothing could be done that day and there were no available rooms for them to move into, so they had to go without hot water the whole time. Luckily they weren't travelling alone and could use our bathroom. They were given a discount on their room because of it, though.
Reception staff were very friendly and courteous. We had them arrange for our bus tickets and entries to Machupicchu and had no problems. Most staff speak little to no English, but my husband and I are functional in Spanish so it wasn't a problem.
Overall, a nice stay in a unique hotel, and I would stay there again if ever we are back in Aguas Calientes. As an aside, the restaurant associated with the hotel, The Treehouse Restaurant, was excellent and the best food we found in town with the same prices as other places. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Would recommend Room #4 where we stayed...nice bed and beautiful balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdn_in_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Rupawasi is not your typical US chain hotel, but it was very unique which made it special. The rooms were a little small, but the balcony and view made up for it. Our room had a queen bed, but also had a twin bed at the end, which compensated for a little bit of the space, so technically they weren't small. The bed was REALLY comfortable (coming from US standards) and everything was clean. The water pressure in the shower was STRONG and the water was steaming hot (good thing for me!) and it was obviously adjustable! The service was great and the people at the desk very nice! Overall, I would give this a 4 star! It's not a large hotel with spa, pool and amenities, but everything else was GREAT and the price was VERY reasonable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natalicr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 2 amazing days at Rupa Wasi. Excellent end to end service from arrival at the trains station to a late checkout after conquering Huaynapicchu. Stayed in room 5 which must have one of the most magnificent vista bedroom views of any hotel I've stayed.  Rooms are rustic but comfortable.

The service sets this place apart as great overall value and a truely welcoming and competant young staff. See my review for the ajoining Tree Top Restaurant...one of the best meals we've had in Peru!   We pre arranged a 2 course meal when we booked our accommoadtion at Rupa Wasi Lodge. It is so impressive to see a young staff provide excellence in service together with High quality fusion food. Highly recommmended.

A suggestion to management- to be truly eco friendly, you may consider instant hot water as leaving the water running for 3-5 minutes untill it warms up is hardly environmental.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bflow66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We just stayed at the rupa wasi and it was terrific. The rain forest backs the hotel and gives the feel that you're away from the town. The staff was outstanding, especially Diana who made a special trip to the train station to give us an iPod we inadvertently left in the hotel. There are quite a few steps up to the hotel so if you have a problem with stairs you may want to look elsewhere but I found it to be a plus as it took you away from the town and next to the rain forest. Also the rooms are great but they are not big and so get one with a balcony so you can have a nice place to sit down. I would stay there again. If I go back I will. Ignore the rating for fitness center and pool they don't have one

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We made several attempts to reserve our room there. After reserving the Mountain view rooms a month before our trip, they contacted me a week later to tell me that they have "accidentally sold it to some one else. (Leidy K, Salazar,(Katy) Administradora) Later, we agreed to take the standard rooms and after calling them the day before our arrival, they promised to pick us from the train station.......; to our surprise , NO ONE WAS THERE FOR US!... Aguas Calientes is a very scary town when you don not know where you are going.... Me and my family had to walk through a town that we were not familiar with, the hotel looked NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURES SHOW and it is located in a very scary and unsafe looking side of town; by the way, you have to walk trough over 50 unsafe and wet steps to get there( No ramps or elevators) To make it even better, when we arrived to the hotel, they told me again that they have "ACCIDENTALLY SOLD OUR ROOMS"....After walking back to town late at night with our luggage, we were lucky enough to find rooms at the Gringo Bills where the stay was decent enough in a much nicer side of town. The American Embassy has declared Cuzco an unsafe city because of terrorist potentially kidnapping American tourists,.. We never felt unsafe in Cusco, but we definitely NOT RECOMMEND WALKING DARK ALLEYS looking for UNPROFESSIONAL, UNDEPENDABLE AND UNSAFE PLACES. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone for any reason!
Alain L. Melendez Feb. 8th, 2013

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank amelendez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paiche75, Owner at Rupa Wasi Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
First of all we are really sorry for all the inconveniences caused. We all the staff of the Rupa Wasi Lodge hope that you had a nice visit to Machupicchu.
i write to you just to explain you that we never got any confirmation from you for the reservation, our booking team answered you about the reservation but you replied to us late the first time (we only have 5 rooms so iwe dont take reservations for inquiries) so if we dont receive any confirmation or deposit for reserving a room we dont accept the reservation. we contacted you in order to let you know that we didnt have the room you asked at the first place anymore because we didnt have any confirmation of a deposit so we give the room to someone else.
Again we you called the day before our staff told you very clearly that we needed your arrival time in order to reserve you the room and pick you up from the train station, but you never called back with this information.
So without this information from you we cannot pick you up the train station and neither reserve you a room with us.
Please accept our apologies and we hope at the end you had a nice visit to Machupicchu
Also our staff got you the hotel room at Gringo Bills, so when you were escorted by one of our staff you already had a nice place to stay
Also when you say "that you had to walk through dark alleys and very scary and unsafe looking side of town; by the way, you have to walk trough over 50 unsafe and wet steps to get there( No ramps or elevators)" we advice you to read before you choose a place, and if you are looking for such amenities as elevators maybe you should book a 5 star hotel next time
Anyway hope you had a great time in your visit to Machupicchu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rupa Wasi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rupa Wasi Lodge

Property: Rupa Wasi Lodge
Address: Calle Huanacaure 105, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#6 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rupa Wasi’s unique location provides for spectacular views of the mountains of Machu Picchu. Rooms boasting balconies allow our guests to take full advantage of these surroundings. This design marvel fits together magically with the green surrounding of Aguas Calientes to create a peaceful environment, an invitation to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rupa Wasi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rupa Wasi Eco Hotel Aguas Calientes
Hotel Rupa Wasi Eco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing