We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, pretty Rupa Wasi”
Review of Rupa Wasi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rupa Wasi Lodge
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Reviewed November 17, 2007

I just returned from traveling in Peru with a group of friends, and we spent one night at Rupa Wasi. The hotel was arranged for us by the people at Kyuchi Rumi in Urumbamba. We were very please with the hotel. It was inexpensive, and definitely on the plain side, as far as furniture and decorations go, but it is in the trees with many windows which made it very beautiful. I stayed in a room with a double bed in a loft and a downstairs bunk bed. It was comfortable. If you plan to hang out in your hotel room, it wouldn't be great, though. There was nowhere to sit besides the bed. We just slept there and were very happy. We also had a great dinner at Indio Feliz.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 607 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2007

Great location, great staff, nice rooms, great view, and the best restaurant food of our two week trip to Peru. We spent 3 days/2 nights at Rupa Wasi and it was easily the best accomodations we had in Peru. It had the best water pressure/hot water of any place we stayed. The rooms were nice. We had a great view from our balcony. Tatiana at the front desk was helpful both pre-trip through emails and personally on our visit there. The hotel is right off the main plaza, so its convenient to everything. AND the food in their restaurant was the BEST of any place we ate in Peru. In Aguas Calientes and Cusco, everyone seemed to serve the same dishes. The restaurant at Rupa Wasi was gourmet, the food was home made and cooked, and every dish was a delight to eat, even the box lunch we took to Machu Picchu. I highly recommend this place. By the way, if you are looking for a U.S. style accomodation (my guess from reading some of these reviews), you need to get a clue. You are in Peru. This isn't the place where you are going to find a Ritz hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldTraveler78752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

We loved our stay at Rupa Wasi, however was disappointed with the small rooms and view we got. The showers were excellent, lots of hot water however the was a slight damp smell about the room.

I must say the staff were amazing! Oscar, Pablo and Ronnie ( cant remember the other names sorry ) all made us feel very welcome!

I do wish I stayed in Aguas Calientes a little longer, has an amazing vibe.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Aleyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Perhaps it was because we had just had some great stays in some inexpensive hostels, or because our expectations were raised (by the reviews and the hotel website), but we were disappointed by the Rupa Wasi. It was only OK.

We did not find the friendly, helpful staff - Only two polite people who spoke no English. The man who met us at the train station seemed to be doing everything: cleaning, desk clerk, etc. He twice got mixed up about what room we were in, how many nights we had stayed and whether we had paid or not. His records seemed to be handwritten notes on a single sheet of paper.

We saw little life in the restaurant, but were served a basic breakfast.

Our room, #2, was only OK. A shampoo wrapper from a previous guest was on a ledge in the shower.

Our overall impression was that this place is somewhat neglected and rundown.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryann-ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2007

An interesting place to stay while in Aguas Calientes. We wanted something basic without slumming it too much and that's what we got. We had the 2 bedroom suite in the trees. The place was small, clean, bright, quiet, well located, had very comfortable beds and the best shower of our 18 day stay in Peru. The staff seemed friendly and helpful. The only complaint is that the lights are a little dim at night so you might want to bring a booklight if you intend on reading.

When we first attempted to book they were very difficult to contact by email. I called them instead and didn't have any problems afterwards through email. They asked us which train we were on and sent someone to help us with our bags to the hostel. Our train didn't leave until 6:00pm the next day and they held our bags until we were ready for them without charge.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wandering_Hoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

I don't think I have seen so much variety in reviews for any hotel! We loved Rupa Wasi. We had the tree house room with windows on three sides(all with blinds) with wonderful views over the town. We watched humming birds while lying in bed in the morning. The bed was very comfortable with a duvet which made a change from the norm of very heavy blankets. Modern hotels of a certain standard are the same all over the world...sometimes it is good to stay somewhere unique.
The staff were helpful, and the restaurant was just great. In our 6 weeks in Peru this was one of the best meals we had and one of the most delightful hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakedistrictgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

We just concluded a two-night stay at Rupa Wasi. All things considered, I would recommend it highly. The rooms are spartan, but comfortable. We had a 2nd floor room with a view of the valley. What impressed us most were: the kind and helpful staff, and especially, the small restaurant under the supervision of chef Julio. It was the best food we had during our ten days in Peru. I wish Julio would move to the U.S. and open a restaurant in my town. He is really teriffic.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank photolandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waman Hotel
Waman Hotel
#11 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.2 mi away
Hatun Inti Classic
Hatun Inti Classic
#17 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rupa Wasi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rupa Wasi Lodge

Address: Calle Huanacaure 105, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $50 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rupa Wasi’s unique location provides for spectacular views of the mountains of Machu Picchu. Rooms boasting balconies allow our guests to take full advantage of these surroundings. This design marvel fits together magically with the green surrounding of Aguas Calientes to create a peaceful environment, an invitation to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rupa Wasi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rupa Wasi Eco Hotel Aguas Calientes
Hotel Rupa Wasi Eco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing