We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rupa Wasi was great!”
Review of Rupa Wasi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rupa Wasi Lodge
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Austin, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rupa Wasi was great!”
Reviewed November 6, 2007

Great location, great staff, nice rooms, great view, and the best restaurant food of our two week trip to Peru. We spent 3 days/2 nights at Rupa Wasi and it was easily the best accomodations we had in Peru. It had the best water pressure/hot water of any place we stayed. The rooms were nice. We had a great view from our balcony. Tatiana at the front desk was helpful both pre-trip through emails and personally on our visit there. The hotel is right off the main plaza, so its convenient to everything. AND the food in their restaurant was the BEST of any place we ate in Peru. In Aguas Calientes and Cusco, everyone seemed to serve the same dishes. The restaurant at Rupa Wasi was gourmet, the food was home made and cooked, and every dish was a delight to eat, even the box lunch we took to Machu Picchu. I highly recommend this place. By the way, if you are looking for a U.S. style accomodation (my guess from reading some of these reviews), you need to get a clue. You are in Peru. This isn't the place where you are going to find a Ritz hotel.

  • Liked — The great staff and great restaurant food.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTraveler78752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    204
    84
    54
    42
See reviews for
111
280
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

We loved our stay at Rupa Wasi, however was disappointed with the small rooms and view we got. The showers were excellent, lots of hot water however the was a slight damp smell about the room.

I must say the staff were amazing! Oscar, Pablo and Ronnie ( cant remember the other names sorry ) all made us feel very welcome!

I do wish I stayed in Aguas Calientes a little longer, has an amazing vibe.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Perhaps it was because we had just had some great stays in some inexpensive hostels, or because our expectations were raised (by the reviews and the hotel website), but we were disappointed by the Rupa Wasi. It was only OK.

We did not find the friendly, helpful staff - Only two polite people who spoke no English. The man who met us at the train station seemed to be doing everything: cleaning, desk clerk, etc. He twice got mixed up about what room we were in, how many nights we had stayed and whether we had paid or not. His records seemed to be handwritten notes on a single sheet of paper.

We saw little life in the restaurant, but were served a basic breakfast.

Our room, #2, was only OK. A shampoo wrapper from a previous guest was on a ledge in the shower.

Our overall impression was that this place is somewhat neglected and rundown.

  • Liked — bathroom
  • Disliked — benign neglect
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryann-ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

An interesting place to stay while in Aguas Calientes. We wanted something basic without slumming it too much and that's what we got. We had the 2 bedroom suite in the trees. The place was small, clean, bright, quiet, well located, had very comfortable beds and the best shower of our 18 day stay in Peru. The staff seemed friendly and helpful. The only complaint is that the lights are a little dim at night so you might want to bring a booklight if you intend on reading.

When we first attempted to book they were very difficult to contact by email. I called them instead and didn't have any problems afterwards through email. They asked us which train we were on and sent someone to help us with our bags to the hostel. Our train didn't leave until 6:00pm the next day and they held our bags until we were ready for them without charge.

I would stay there again.

  • Liked — value for price
  • Disliked — lighting
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandering_Hoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

I don't think I have seen so much variety in reviews for any hotel! We loved Rupa Wasi. We had the tree house room with windows on three sides(all with blinds) with wonderful views over the town. We watched humming birds while lying in bed in the morning. The bed was very comfortable with a duvet which made a change from the norm of very heavy blankets. Modern hotels of a certain standard are the same all over the world...sometimes it is good to stay somewhere unique.
The staff were helpful, and the restaurant was just great. In our 6 weeks in Peru this was one of the best meals we had and one of the most delightful hotels.

  • Liked — great views excellent food
  • Disliked — the unfinished steps up to the hotel....in Peru this could be the case for some time to come
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakedistrictgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

We just concluded a two-night stay at Rupa Wasi. All things considered, I would recommend it highly. The rooms are spartan, but comfortable. We had a 2nd floor room with a view of the valley. What impressed us most were: the kind and helpful staff, and especially, the small restaurant under the supervision of chef Julio. It was the best food we had during our ten days in Peru. I wish Julio would move to the U.S. and open a restaurant in my town. He is really teriffic.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank photolandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

Before arriving in Peru, the only leg of the trip I was concerned about was staying at the Rupa Wasi. Reason being, I had a gut feeling they were shady. I contacted the property directly several months before the trip. They were very unclear as to what type of room we could have (we were 4 adults). At first they said we could stay in one "deluxe" room, then a few days later wrote that we would have to pay for two rooms... When I forwarded the original message saying we could stay in one room - they then said that was fine but we would have to pay extra. Then they requested that we wire money to reserve the room. I felt uncomfortable doing that (especially after reading some of the tripadvisor reviews) - so they said fine, we could just pay upon arrival. I felt weird about their shady behavior and emailed the property at least 10 times right before the trip for a final confirmation - they never responded. Finally, Rodrigo at the KR (in Urubamba) called them for me and they confirmed that we did indeed have a room.
Fast forward to our arrival in Aguas Calientes. We arrived at noon and they told us we did not have a reservation! Once I told them that Rodrigo had confirmed, they changed their story and said they were expecting us on the 8am train (keep in mind we had never told them our train schedule) - as a result they had given our room away and had nothing for us!! Shady, shady shady. Once I sat there and told them to figure it out, they finally did "find" a room but gave us a much higher rate than they originally quoted. All in all this place is not worth it!
Once we finally got a room ( keep in mind the process took some valuable time away from our tour to Machu Picchu) it was about what I expected. A very rustic treehouse with a cool view. The bathroom could be cleaner with less bugs - but you pay for what you get. Moral of this story is this place is not to be trusted. They eventually did give us a room but put such a damper on our Machu Picchu experience. If they don't respond or seem sketchy it's because they are- save yourself the trouble and find a new place before you arrive!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The staff, the reservation experience, the entire thing.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rckchlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rupa Wasi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rupa Wasi Lodge

Property: Rupa Wasi Lodge
Address: Calle Huanacaure 105, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#6 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rupa Wasi’s unique location provides for spectacular views of the mountains of Machu Picchu. Rooms boasting balconies allow our guests to take full advantage of these surroundings. This design marvel fits together magically with the green surrounding of Aguas Calientes to create a peaceful environment, an invitation to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rupa Wasi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rupa Wasi Eco Hotel Aguas Calientes
Hotel Rupa Wasi Eco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing