We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,121)
Filter reviews
1,121 results
Traveler rating
464
353
205
70
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
353
205
70
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station machu picchu hot springs rose petals the main street top floor wonderful stay breakfast was delicious inca trail large room jacuzzi tub water pressure stored our luggage stayed here for one night junior suite yogurt stay in aguas calientes
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,121 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

I enjoyed this hotel very much. Our room was on the top floor and was very big with a huge modern bathroom. The tub also looked very nice although I did not use it. Staff was very polite and sent someone to the train station to show us to the hotel, which I appreciated since we arrived after dark. Kept our bags at front desk while we visited Machu Picchu and also offered to deliver to train station if needed. Only downside is this hotel is at the very top of the hill, so it took a few minutes to get to the bus and train station.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank friend24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABANAMACHUPICCHU, Director de Recepción at Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Yours sincerely
Dear :
Thank you for taking your time to share your kind review with the travel community!
We are delighted that we have met your expectations making your stay with us a memorable occasion. Your comments regarding our staff service and the quality of the room are very appreciated!
La Cabaña invests heavily in training our staff to provide first class customer care to make sure our guests leave us feeling that they have received exceptional service. When these efforts are acknowledged it makes all our hard work worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

Aguas Calientes seems to exist for one reason only; to accommodate the thousands of visitors of Machu Picchu. I believe just about everybody stays only one night, the night before or after visiting the extremely impressive and beautiful monument tucked away between the mountains above.
This results in the strange situation that service is hardly necessary, since guests will hardly ever return. As a result Aguas Calientes is a superb example of a tourist trap, just about everything is set in place to lure tourists inside for a quick bite or another sharp Happy Hour deal.
La Cabana lies slightly higher on the hill and as a result could be just a little quieter than the rest of the hotels (only just). Since many people get up at 4.30 to stand in the bus line at 5, even the slightest difference in noise can be beneficial. Rooms are actually quite comfortable, beds and linen are very good. One only wishes that other tourists would finally realize that whispering in hallways at night is always a good idea, especially when just about everybody will have to get up around 4-5 am.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Bloemski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

We stayed here afther three days hiking. It was verry comfy and we got a good night sleep here. Breakfast was good. The only thing less good is that its quite a walk uphill from the bus and train station.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jurgen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABANAMACHUPICCHU, Director de Recepción at Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jurgen
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed the room and the costumer service. We are continuously working to improve our services just as much as our facilities aiming the satisfaction of our guests.
Aguas Calientes is a very small and restricted town. Despite some hotels broke the local rules, at the time the hotel was constructed buildings with some facilities (like elevators) were not allowed to be constructed. But to improve our facilities a renovation plan is already being discussed. For sure we will be certain to share your comments with our team of the corresponding area. Nonetheless please accept my sincerest apologies.
We do honestly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile


Our room on the third floor of this hotel was large and comfortable. A staff member met us at the station and helped to carry our luggage. There was bottled water in the room and both cold and hot water with tea bags and coca leaves was available in the lobby. The hotel was happy to store our baggage when we went to Machu Picchu and would have delivered them to the station if we had wanted. They even let us choose lucky owls to take with us. The packed breakfast had plenty of items but other than the fruit and juice was rather dry.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Sus1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABANAMACHUPICCHU, Director de Recepción at Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear Sus
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the travel community. We really appreciate for leaving your positive comments!
We are happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a pleasant stay. We work very hard to exceed the expectations of our guests and we are glad that the staff delivered on this.
Thank you very much for your invaluable comments and recommendation.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

We stayed here during our 2 day Inca Trail trek and were really surprised at the quality of this hotel. Excellent hot shower (which massage feature, which I really needed after a hard day on the Inca Trail!) and probably the best hotel breakfast we had during our 2 weeks in Peru. (Yum tocino -- bacon!) I do agree with the other reviewer who suggested skipping the cute on-the-bed decorations for guest who are coming in tired from a trek. Kind of annoying to have to scoop up the flower petals when you just want to collapse from fatigue.
They also offered to hold our large packs while we toured Machu Picchu and deliver them to the station in time for our train. This was a very helpful service since the hotel is a few blocks up the hill (and no charge other than tipping the porter).

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABANAMACHUPICCHU, Director de Recepción at Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Elizabeth

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your return visit.
Dear Kath_lavender,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the travel community. We really appreciate for leaving your positive comments!
We are happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a pleasant stay. We work very hard to exceed the expectations of our guests and we are glad that the staff delivered on this.
Thank you very much for your invaluable comments and recommendation.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews