We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We booked 3 nights and moved out after 2 nights!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We booked 3 nights and moved out after 2 nights!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2009

We booked this hotel in Aguas Calientes as a base for Machu Picchu. On arrival at the train station we were the only guests not met by hotel staff. There are no taxis in Aguas Calientes so when we eventually found out where our hotel was we had to drag our bags uphill for 10 mins until we reached La Cabana. On check in the hotel staff were pleasent and told us what was in the room (including towels and hot water!) and what to expect for breakfast.

We were put in room 16 which is on the first floor right at the stairs and the window from the beroom looks out to the landing which is an open balcony to reception and the dining room down stairs. The room was small with no wardrobe only 3 hooks and the bathroom has no window so is dark and in need of refurbishment.

After an afternoon at Machu Picchu we returned to the room for a rest. We soon realised that every guest in the hotel had to walk past our room along the tiled floor to get to the ground floor. A noisy dinner then ensued from 7pm complete with Peruvian band for a large group staying in the hotel. The noise was so loud we could not hear the tv in our room and add to this the nauseating smell of food coming up from the kitchen and we decided to abondon the room for a couple of hours to get some peace and quiet. We returned at 9.15pm and the dinner and band had finished. However we could hear everything that went on in reception including all the talking. After about an hour we went downstairs to complain that we could not sleep due to the noise and requested a move of room in the morning. Finally reception went quiet and we could get some sleep.

However we were woken up at 4am by the same 'deep fat fryer' smell coming from the kitchen and it was really overpowering. The other guests in the hotel starting walking around the tiled corridor outside our room at about 5.30am and chatting noisily. After the very basic breakfast we asked to be moved but no other rooms were ready. The girls on reception were very apologetic and told us a room would be ready after lunch. We were given 3 rooms to choose from and we chose one at the end of the tiled corridor so that no-one would have to walk past our room. Again the room was small and after half and hour we noticed and musty, damp smell from the curtains. Again we had to endure the deep fat fryer smell from the kitchen and the noise in the morning. There appears to be no sound proofing whatsoever in the hotel and open balcony means the sound and smells travel throughout the hotel. We decided at that point not to stay the third night even though it was prepared.

On checking out the girls on reception never queried why we were leaving early and said little apart from being very sorry. This hotel is more like a hostel and we say don't stay there. The hotels in Aguas Calientes overall are not great but this has to be the worst. We moved to another very pleasant and cosy (if over priced hotel) called Inti Inn.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoGaz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    306
    187
    58
    24
See reviews for
230
418
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

Don't book this hotel unless you don't mind being lied to and shunted off to a dodgy alternative. When we arrived we were told the hotel had not received our booking, despite our receiving confirmation of our internet booking months previously. Two other travellers arriving at the same time were told that the hotel was overbooked. When I asked a member of staff at our alternative accommodation what the problem had been at our original hotel he said the bathrooms were leaking. If La Cabana is going to treat people this badly they should at least get their story straight. The time we were in Machu Pichu was not a very busy one so I dread to think what happens when it is.

The alternative hotel we were taken to was very basic with a depressing atmosphere and the room had big windows onto the concrete corridoors but no outside view. It was in a shanty town up an alley I would not go up alone. However, what we saw of La Cabana while being kept waiting before being fobbed off by unapologetic staff was not good. It looked tatty, dirty and run down so some consolation for not staying there.

This was the only hotel of six that we stayed in during our trip to Peru and the only one that was not acceptable. The other five were extremely efficient, helpful, pleasant, and I would go back to them again. I spent hours carefully selecting them so it was a shame La Cabana let the side down. Avoid!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SnowMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

I wasn't expecting much after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor so it was better than I expected. The hotel met us at the train station and gave us a welcome drink. Our room was #16 which was right above the lobby via an open staircase. The only windows in the room open into the hotel hallway. The bathroom was a little run down. The hotel's restaurant was on the bottom floor. The night we stayed there they had Peruvian music until 9:30 at night. It would have been nice, but we were trying to get to sleep since we had to get up at 4 am for Machu Picchu. The worst part was the cooking smells coming from the kitchen in the evening. The hotel was ok but there are probably better places for the money. Our experience would have been better if we weren't directly above the lobby. They did hold our bags while we spent the day in Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexiLou075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

for 100$ per night we had a dirty and dusty room with a window on the hall of the hotel. the hotel is overall uncomfortable and too expensive

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

La Cabana is average for Aguas Calientes -- the service was good, rooms clean, and we generally had no complaints. We paid USD $120 for a night, which is ridiculously expensive, but appears to be around the going rate in Aguas Calientes. Overall, you should realize that the choice of hotels isn't very good in this city, and La Cabana is a serviceable option.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amk96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tejas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

Clean, comfortable, close to hot (calientes) springs (aguas), but 1 cheap lock on door, no carpet, small bathroom, and no closet.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouZu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

I stayed for two nights in La cabana, in Aguas Calientes, with my girlfriend. And It was a great experience. We stayed in the biggest room they have, which was very romantic, and had a good overview from three windows. The room was very comfortable and was of a rustic type, which added a taste of romance on our trip.
The shower was great, especially after climbing up Hwaynapichu.

The breakfast was really tasty, and had big varieties.
The Owner of the motel is a very good and friendly woman.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nawwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picch...
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#11 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu

Property: Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Address: Av Pachacutec 805, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel worried about provide excellent hotel service for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabana Machupicchu Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing