We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel in the center of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburg, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel in the center of town”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

There were 4 of us -- two couples who stayed at the hotel. We asked for an upgrade as advised by another TripAdvisor member. The room was gorgeous with big flat screen TV, shower and bathtub with jets. A staff member (Lizbeth) picked us up from the train station and gave advice on attractions and relaxation recommendations (Wonderful Hands!). Breakfast was included -- loved the way they cut fruit and served several kinds of fruit juices. The staff helped secure a great tour guide to Machu Picchu. The only downside was walking up to 3rd floor room during the night. The hallways were dark. They turn the bed and leave those mini chocolates --- nice touch.

Room Tip: Upgrade --- for a few more bucks, it's well worth it! Ask for a electric watt converter. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaeCTorlakson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    313
    192
    60
    25
See reviews for
235
429
49
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way to Machu Picchu. The staff picked us up from the station, which was a 10 minute walk. Our room was on the 5th floor, so it was a bit of a walk. But it seemed to be the only room on that floor, and was huge with a little balcony. Staff was nice and courteous.
I didn't care much for their breakfast. Had better ones in all other places we stayed at in Peru. They have fruit and coffee in their lobby, but when we asked for milk for coffee, they said they would charge for a regular coffee. We opted to have it elsewhere.
Hotel is conveniently located on the main street, so everything is right there. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lv2Teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great experience at this hotel...they picked us up from the train station and walked us all the way to the hotel (courtesy service) ...very courteous service, cozy, comfortable and very clean rooms with ambient heater....no need to get a more expensive hotel.

Room Tip: we got a room facing the back so no noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

First off, you have to remember that everything in Aguas Caliente exists for the sole purpose of getting people (tourists) to and from Machu Picchu. And they charge for it. That being said, La Cabana was very affordable and well worth the money!

Everyone was very friendly, from the group that met us at the train station and carried our luggage up hill to the ladies at the front desk who were quick with answers and recommendations. As an example, we purchased our Machu Picchu tickets at the airport in Cuzco, and the agency promised us they would deliver the tickets to the hotel … which they did not. When the courier finally showed up, we were at dinner, so the woman at the front desk sent the courier to find us (fortunately we were at the hotel she recommended) to make sure we finally had out tickets. Never had that happen before, but thankful for them doing that since we were on our way to buy new tickets after dinner. [On a side note – try to purchase your Machu Picchu tickets either before you arrive in Peru, especially if you are there during peak times, or in Aguas Caliente. In April when we were there, we could buy them at the ticket office in town no problem].

The room was comfortable, the tv was in English, and the breakfast was good. Yes, the hotel is near the top of the hill, but hills are unavoidable in this part of the world – at some point, you are going to go up one and down another. And being a bit up the hill seemed to have brought the price down. I will gladly walk a little bit uphill to save $$. We looked at some of the other places we considered (most of which were more expensive) and we definitely made the right choice.

Stay here – get a good night sleep, meet some wonderful people and save some money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrecology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place has friendly staff and the best breakfast we had on our 5 week trip, only problem was that we did not have time to eat the breakfast since we were going to Macchu Picchu for the sunrise. The Hotel also had free coffee, tea and fruits the whole day. The staff was very friendly. Loved the place

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank braendgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, while exploring Machu Picchu. Staff is excellent. Rooms are clean. They met us at the train station, and walked us to the hotel. The hotel is on the main strip about 5 minutes from the buses to Machu Picchu. They answered all of our questions and even gave us a small parting gift. They let us sit in the cafe and drink free tea and coffee (after we could no longer walk after climbing Huyna Pichhu). Restaurant looked pretty good - although we didn't eat thereOnly reason that I gave four stars is price. However, all hotels in that area are very pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very nice hotel. We booked a triple room for my family, 2 kids of 3 and 1.5 years, because they didnt have available de double superior room. Our suprise was that when we arrived, they gave us an upgrade to the junior suite, very nice detail. Room was much bigger, but to be a junior suite the toilet was a bit small. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast was ok. Good cleaning. The only thing is that it is a 2 floor building with no elevator, but i dont think any of the hotels do have elevators in Aguas Calientes.
Really nice stay. I would recomend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: There are some double rooms that only have a window to the inside stairs. You have to ask for the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Enara8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
964 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu

Property: Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Address: Av Pachacutec 805, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel worried about provide excellent hotel service for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabana Machupicchu Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing