We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast on our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best breakfast on our trip”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place has friendly staff and the best breakfast we had on our 5 week trip, only problem was that we did not have time to eat the breakfast since we were going to Macchu Picchu for the sunrise. The Hotel also had free coffee, tea and fruits the whole day. The staff was very friendly. Loved the place

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank braendgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    315
    193
    60
    25
See reviews for
235
432
49
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adams, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, while exploring Machu Picchu. Staff is excellent. Rooms are clean. They met us at the train station, and walked us to the hotel. The hotel is on the main strip about 5 minutes from the buses to Machu Picchu. They answered all of our questions and even gave us a small parting gift. They let us sit in the cafe and drink free tea and coffee (after we could no longer walk after climbing Huyna Pichhu). Restaurant looked pretty good - although we didn't eat thereOnly reason that I gave four stars is price. However, all hotels in that area are very pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very nice hotel. We booked a triple room for my family, 2 kids of 3 and 1.5 years, because they didnt have available de double superior room. Our suprise was that when we arrived, they gave us an upgrade to the junior suite, very nice detail. Room was much bigger, but to be a junior suite the toilet was a bit small. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast was ok. Good cleaning. The only thing is that it is a 2 floor building with no elevator, but i dont think any of the hotels do have elevators in Aguas Calientes.
Really nice stay. I would recomend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: There are some double rooms that only have a window to the inside stairs. You have to ask for the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Enara8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

All of Aguas Calientes has a very backpacker feel except for maybe 2 or 3 highest-end hotels.

La Cabana is near the top of the city, closer to the hot springs than the bus/train stations. It's right on the main street which can be quite noisy at night. We were given a room directly overlooking the main street, and when we complained about the noise, they said it was too late to switch rooms. Actually the entire hotel gets pretty loud, there were people in the main courtyard watching soccer until 11pm at night very loudly anyway. A little annoying because we had wanted to get to sleep early to catch the sunrise at Machu Picchu and climb Huanyapicchu.

The rooms are relatively clean and comfortable (more so than a standard hostel in Peru). In any case, if you expect an upscale hostel feel, then come here. If you are a light sleeper I would recommend a pricier hotel.

Other than the noise it was a good value. It's a little further than some other hotels/hostels but only by 5 minutes or so uphill. Not a problem for most unless you are injured or older.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was my first time visiting Machu and I kind of expected a very standard, regular service at a local, no-chain hotel. Expectations that were soon brought down by one of the best places I've ever been to, including, yes, chain hotels. This hotel is attended by two great girls who are always smiling and willing to help you with the stuff that goes around town. The bed is VERY comfortable and the bathroom/shower area is clean and has everything you need. The TV's are small but you don't really have to watch TV in such a beautiful place like Aguas Calientes. At the end of the stay, they give you a nice souvenir. Greatly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for room 50 and hopefully it will be available!!! It's the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank AtlBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

After reading reviews for hotels in Aguas Calientes, there were either two options: ultra luxury (which we couldn't afford) and hotels with bad reviews. The hotel that was recommended to us was already full. So I decided to choose La Cabaña. While they didn't pick us up from the station, it was not entirely their fault. There had been problems with the trains and miscommunication was only a consequence. We arrived safely by ourselves after an 8 min walk. The staff was really supportive after we told them we had lost our tickets to Machu Picchu. Can you imagine? While we tried to print them again elsewhere, to no avail, they came to the rescue and helped us in the blink of an eye. The room was simple but clean and comfortable. We slept like babies, had hot water, and access to TV for when we wanted to rest. The breakfast was simple but nice. They can make eggs upon request and have fruit, bread and other items available. The only thing I really didn't like was the coffee. All in all, this place is a great option for people who are looking for a place to crash before and after visiting Machu Picchu.
I would advise travelers to bring ear plugs, as the walls are very thin and you can hear what goes on in other rooms. We didn't mind. We were so tired to even notice.
J and JP

Room Tip: This is not a quiet property. Bring those ear plugs and you'll be fine. I think the rest of it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

When the train tracks had a landslide and we were stuck an additional day, the staff at La Cabana made the extra day a smooth and enjoyable experience compared to those unfortunate folks who waited til 3 AM for the trains to start moving again. the staff is super friendly and accomodating.

they met us at the train station also which was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu

Property: Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Address: Av Pachacutec 805, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#5 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel worried about provide excellent hotel service for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabana Machupicchu Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing