We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel La Cabana MachuPicchu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Nice clean hotel located at the top of a hill towards the "spa". Rooms were spacious and airy. Breakfast was great! Lots of fresh fruit, cheese, breads, cereal, yogurt. They also have a coffee/tea station available all the time - very thoughtful. Great laundry service - quick and cheap (much appreciated after our 4 day trek through the Inca Trail).
Odd town though - feels a bit third world (unfinished tin shack kind of buildings) but stunningly gorgeous setting nestled on the side of the mountain with a raging river running right through the middle of the town. It provided a nice place to recoup after our trek but don't come just for the "hot spa" - the waters are only tepid at best and quite dirty.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MaryNiklesToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at la cabana for one night and have mixed reviews.

Pros
- the staff put in a lot of effort and did attempt to go the extra mile. In general very friendly and accommodating.

Cons
- there was some poor organization on a couple of important items.
1. We had asked the hotel to purchase the tickets to machu picchu on our behalf (due to instability of the site used to buy the tickets). After I wired the money to the hotel they indicated there were some problems with getting the tickets. After some back and forth eventually the problem was resolved, however not before putting me through some unnecessary stress. I would not recommend purchasing tickets through this hotel
2. The rooms were nice but very noisy. Not ideal if you're looking to wake up early for the trek to Machu Picchu. There was loud music that could be heard until about 1:30am

Overall I give the hotel a 4 for effort but 3 for execution.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Diego_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

so it's not the "el mapi" but it's also not the price of that. but it does the trick for a decent hotel in a very little town, where the nicest hotels are over 250 (room equivalent to radisson or sheraton, not price) the room we stayed in was small, but wifi was free and there was cable. the most outstanding part about this hotel was the customer service. Vivienne at the front desk was very nice and helpful. free tea/coffee/water and fruit all day long in the lobby was helpful especially after a long hike up to wayna picchu and hike back into town from machu picchu in the pouring rain. checkout is at 9am, and the trains back to cusco don't start till 4pm so we spent most of the day in the lobby and the staff was very comfortable with that. they were courteous and even urged us to stay longer in the comfort rather than waiting at the train station.

for the price this place was perfect for the two nights we stayed there.

a note to fellow travelers. you will need your passport to purchase tickets to machu picchu. you will also need your passport at the entrance of machu picchu and at the gate of wayna picchu. they are serious about this. although being seasoned travellers, we left our passports in the hotel, and had to get manager approval at the checkpoints to be let in without identification.

if you want to hike wayna piccu definitely buy the tickets for the next day as soon as you get into town because they go fast as only 400 people are allowed to hike it a day. the wayna picchu hike is treacherous and not recommended if it's raining. hike at your own risk. also by your bus ticket in town as well. if you are going to hike wayna picchu recommend taking the bus up and down to town. it can rain at anytime and walking back to the hotel is not ideal in the rain as we experienced. if you are not going to hike wayna picchu, then take the bus up, spend a few hours in machu picchu and then hike back. it's all downhill and the path is well identified. it's good exercise. Would not recommend wayna picchu hike for anyone that is overweight, older or in poor health.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tpatel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My Family and I first off loved the welcoming and comfortable feeling we recieved right as we checked in. We also loved the little town it was in and we had a great room overlooking Puticussi Hill. MachuPicchu was probably the most spectacular part of our trip and the hotel services were definitly a part of that. Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

At the end of the Inca trail you see this surreal beauty called Macchu Picchu, and then you descend into this outpost of a town called Aguas Calientes which makes you just want to get through it so that you can go back up the mountain top at sunrise. La Cabana didn't make it any better for us. The first room we got was suspiciously stinky, and once we complained, the staff was nice enough to move us next door. The new room seemed better until we opened the bathroom door and were treated to the pleasant smell of sewage. The bathroom itself seemed fairly clean, but just stinky! I guess the hotel knows about this problem - there are large scented candles in the room - but these are no match for the odors. In the end we just used deodorant as room spray so that we could fall asleep, which we did once things quieted down around 11...on the positive side, the bed was very comfortable, sheets were clean, and the breakfast spread was great (and available at 4:45 am).

I don't know if other hotels are any better...and these guys are priced quite high for what is worse than a motel. So good luck, and may you get a good nights sleep at Aguas Calientes!

Also, as someone else pointed out, they have a 10% surcharge on credit cards (yikes!). Thankfully we had USD on hand. :)

Room Tip: Look around before you book here. And carry cash so that you can avoid the 10% surcharge.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeepakSury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two night with our group of six. Clean friendly hotel in the center of town but up the hill toward the hot bath pools. Good breakfast seen ice and a nice dry patio to hang out in after a long day at Machu Pichu. We stayed and extra day to visit the botanic garden and orchid garden which was a short walk from town. The hotel was a good value in the middle of a busy tourist town.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berniepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Cheaper than most hotels in the area. On first impression the lobby looks nice and rooms look cozy. We found that the bathrooms smell and when you flush the toilet, water bubbles up through drain in the middle of the room. We weren't brave enough to try the shower, and we mostly just stayed out of the bathroom as much as possible. Also, someone came in drunk around 3:00 and we could hear him throwing up as if he was in the same room. The only outlets in the room were two in the bathroom. If they had used the money they spent furnishing the lobby on plumbing and soundproofing it would have been a much nicer experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelwear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
821 reviews
0.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu

Address: Av Pachacutec 805, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: $93 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel worried about provide excellent hotel service for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabana Machupicchu Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing