We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average at best” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Presidente

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aguas Calientes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Presidente
Ranked #10 of 39 Aguas Calientes B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“average at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

stayed here as part of an intrepid tour, and got the impression that it would be better than what it was. Some of our friends rooms stank like mould. they seemed too lazy even to attach our shower rail properly and it just balanced on the partition separating the shower from the rest of the bathroom. staff were very unfriendly and looked very pained to do anything for you, we always seemed to be a hassle.the breakfast was actually pretty good for Peru standards, probably the best thing about the hotel. it was located right on the railway tracks, then again everything in this town is. We didn't get much sleep due to the roaring river that goes down the centre of town. I'm sure other places would be affected by this too. Was a bit disappointing and a great night's sleep would have made our trip to Machu Picchu much more enjoyable. Don't recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sare_sperky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    78
    110
    30
    20
See reviews for
39
96
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I didn't know what to expect when coming to Aguas Calientes, but I was pleasantly surprised on this hotel. The room and bathroom were good size and clean. They have satellite TV if you need to get a TV fix. The beds were decent and warm. The location was good too, decently centrally located to food, and shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwinterboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a very average hostal, comfortable to crash in after a very long trek along the Inka trail. The rooms have satellite tv, but don't have wifi, are relatively clean and there is loads of hot running water. The huge balcony is a great place to spray your body with insect repellant! The breakfast is decent and staff is friendly. Our tour company, Llama Path, arranged this stay and we were satisfied with the service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I imagine the rooms overlooking the main drag/railway line are noisy at night, and I asked for a quieter room towards the back and they were happy to do this.

One could hear the trains in the bathroom but not too noisy did not disturb my sleep at all.

My room had digital TV and hot water at 5am.

Otherwise very plain if smart: no bedside lamps for example.

Wifi is available in reception only and is free; there is also a PC in reception.

Breakfast was basic without a huge choice.

Staff looked terribly bored!

For a simple stopover there is no reason not to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
251 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,117 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel Presidente in Aguas Calientes is in a fine location but in many respects is below par.

The street in front of the hotel consistes of a double railroad track a few feet lower than the sidewalks on both sides (see photo). The back side of the hotel looks over a street on the other side of which is the river, so in essence it's right on the river. The hotel is only a short walk from the main train station and some trains (albeit not the one from Ollantaytamob) pass by the front of the hotel. It's also only a block or so to where you catch the buses that go up to Machu Picchu, which of course is why you're in Aguas Caliente in the first place.

The street/train track side the hotel is very non descript. In fact at times we walked right past it and had to come back to go in. The inside is quite nicely architectured with plants and lots of colorful tile work. It's actually quite pleasant visually.

Our room was average to large size but not well maintained. The bed was probably the most uncomfortable we had in Peru (out of 6 hotels we stayed in). The shower area was beautiful in a non rectangular shape, large and all tiled. Very well designed. However the room was not well maintained and the hotel poorly run. Our room was dirty. Stained rugs, stained drapes, sloppy or missing grout, paint slopped where it should have been masked, etc. For the two of us we were only given two tiny towels (face towel size) and had to go to the front desk to get bath towels. When we checked in there was only about 12 inches of paper left on the toilet paper roll and no extra rolls. We called down and they said they'd bring some up. When we came back from dinner a few hours later, still no toilet paper so i went down to the lobby in person. After waiting 10 minutes for the desk clerk to get off the phone, then another 10 minutes while she checked someone in I was given a roll - that's right, ONE ROLL.

Another person in our group who is quite an easy going person had a much worse room. Her bathroom had some sort of bugs wandering about which she didn't care for but could live with. Then water began leaking from the lighting fixture in the bathroom cieling and shorted out the circuit. She said she could live with the bugs but not the thought of being elecrocuted. After harrassing the front desk for way longer than should have been necessary she was given a different room, but only for one night of our two night stay, and had to switch to a 3rd room the following day.

A 3rd person on our group was put in a room that was 1 or 2 levels below the lobby level in what I would call the basement. The room was down a long empty corridor with no lights (or even doors to other rooms), past the staff laundry area and was all by itself. She was really quite uneasy there but there were no other rooms available.

The Wi-Fi only works in the lobby and every time I went down to use it, the lobby was cram full of college age people with backpacks who looked like they had just come off a full week of backbacking and were just hanging out - I assume waiting for their train time. They weren't obnoxious or anthing but they certainly spread out as they apparently were there for 4 or 5 hours between checkout time and what ever it was they were waiting for. Not only had they occupied all the available seating, many were sprawled out across about half the floor space as well. I had to sit on the stairs leading to the second floor to check my email.

The breakfast area was actully quite nice with plenty of seating and the breakfast istelf was very good with lots of options.

All in all, a great location and a wonderful looking building but with very dissappointing management and maintenance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Califdan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

It was a place to sleep before rising early to catch the bus up to Machu Picchu. We were glad to not use the old shower as there were bugs in the bathroom. We had a noisy room over the kitchen venting fan. The smells and the noise made for a long, sleepless night..

Room Tip: Rooms in the back overlooking the river seemed much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

You aren't really visiting Aguas Calientes for the hotel stay. You are going there to visit Machu Picchu. We took our stay at the Presidente as a family adventure and letting our kids experience something besides Hilton for a change. The place is about as basic as it comes. No telephones, spotty hot water, and we had to be split up over two rooms and two floors. One room smelled of mold, the other looked into the dirty room of a nearby home. However, we just needed a place to lay our heads for the night. The main reason we came was Machu Picchu. The breakfast was nothing to write home about. The staff were nice but almost absent. However, we got our sleep and had a great time at Machu Picchu. Would we stay there again? Probably not.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room towards the front of the hostel. This fronts the noisy, main street where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gone2TheBeachPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.1 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rupa Wasi  Lodge
Rupa Wasi Lodge
#12 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Presidente

Property: Hostal Presidente
Address: Av Imperio de los Incas 127, Aguas Calientes 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Presidente 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Hostal Presidente Aguas Calientes
Hostal Presidente Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing