We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inkaterra Machu Picchu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Inkaterra Machu Picchu”
Reviewed August 25, 2007

It was nice to stay in a resort hotel. We chose it because we were celebrating a special anniversary, and because the cost of the stay included a number of extras -- private tour guide and entrance to Machu Picchu, a massage for each guest, and all meals.

Other than the woman who met us at the train station and made arrangements for our room, the guides for the nature walks around the grounds, and the independent guide for Machu Picchu, we found the service experience rather negative.

They told us the restaurant was open until 4. The printed materials said the same. But when we went there just after 3:00, a waiter sat us and then told us the restaurant closed at 3:00. When we said we'd been told 4, he said it actually closed at 2:30. But he deigned to serve us anyway.

We're not the type of tourists who go abroad and expect everyone to speak English. So we learned traveller's Spanish. But over and over we found the staff would indicate understanding of questions and requests, but when it came down to it, they hadn't understood at all. It was as if they'd been taught to quickly respond "Yes, yes!" (answering in English even to Spanish) whether they understood or not.

This led to some real problems. For example, we missed each other on the second morning out to Machu Picchu, and lost an extra 45 minutes, because two guys at the gate told my partner they'd seen me leave. They also kept trying to charge us at every meal, even though meals were included in our package.

The guide at Machu Picchu, whose name was Dimas, was excellent. The massages were good, too. And the food was very good.

  • Liked — The grounds were nice.
  • Disliked — The service was consistently poor.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ryan61562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,709
    522
    139
    55
    43
See reviews for
494
1,195
75
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

The grounds of this hotel are beautiful. The rooms are large and serene. The only problem we had was with the service. It's not up to 5 star standards. They brought tea and cookies to our room in the afternoon, but the empty cups and plates were still in the room when we checked out the next day. The bed was turned down at night, but they didn't give us fresh towels. The front desk people were cold and acted like we were just another tourist to process through. This hotel's service was the worst we had on our entire trip.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KWhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2007

My daughter and I stayed here for one night after visiting Machu Piccu during a tour with Natural Habitat(excellent tour group). We arrived late afternoon after a busy day touring the ruins. We were exhausted. The room was beautiful. They provide sandles and robes to use (or buy) and even have fragrance oils for the lamps. Open to theoutdoors. Lovely bathrooms - huge very open shower. The grounds are gorgeous! We had a lovely balconey overlooking the grounds on the 2nd floor. I immediately went to the bar and brought back drinks with the intention of sitting outside and enjoying the last few moments of daylight. Just as we sat down our solitude was interrupeted by the sounds of the next door guest using the restroom. All that openess does not muffle the sounds of ones' neighbors. We heard every word and every drop that they made and they were not being loud. We whispered from then on. The food was okay - lots of choices. The drinks were the cheapest on our trip - free if you order pisco sours and they had a 2/1 happy hour special which was nice. They have a lovely souvenier shop which has lots of orchid items. The grounds feature an orchid walk, but it is locked up tight and is only available before check-in and after check-out. I was very disappointed by this and begged to have them bend the rules, but to no luck. At check out they add a $5.00 conservation fee (optional). I said no as they were not very eco-friendly with their products in the rooms. Don't get me wrong - the presentation was 5 Star, but conservation was not high on their list of priorities. They wrap the toilet paper in high quality paper and tie it with twine. Your bill is presented to you in a very thick - non-resusable carboard cover with your name and room# on it. I did complain about this and said that I would gladly contribute if they were more eco-friendly. It is a short walk from the train station. Would I stay here again - yes but only if I could see the orchids!

  • Liked — Beautiful Grounds
  • Disliked — Lack of access to beautiful grounds
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandonbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed in this beautiful hotel for two nights. It is paradise. Staff very helpful. Though the check out people were very cold, like if they wanted us to leave already to accomodate the next traveller. We had one staffer to look after our every need: Eric, very nice and polite.

We were very happy with the junior suite we got. Our teenage son and eight year old daughter were delighted. Good taste all over...What...no TV? It didn't matter. We had plenty of literature, a portable DVD and great nature view all over. We settled ourselves down for our first night there, my husband reading a magazine on the comfortable chair with his feet up on the table, my daughter on the king size bed selecting a movie to watch, my son investigating the open second story that had a single bed and a lovely sitting room with a big window overlooking the majestic green mountains. I was checking out the toiletries in the well appointed bathroom. All of the sudden my son calls me up and showed me a huge hairy black spider
(not as big as a tarantula though) resting in one corner between the ceiling beam, which was dark and the white wall. I like insects, but outside, or behind a glass, not to share my room, specially with my children around and not knowing if it is poisonous or not. We caught it, saved it in a half of a plastic water bottle and called Eric. Almost instantly he was knocking at our door. He took the spider with him to show it to the specialist. He reassured to us that this event was very rare so we shouldn't worry about finding anymore of it. That night was hell for us. When we left the room in the morning they cleaned up every single corner and piece of furniture. We enjoyed our day out and came back to rest for the night. Eric was right, we did not find anymore of that spider, but the next morning we found another one even scarier: bigger and lighter in color crawling down the wall. This time we took no chances and after taking a picture of it we killed it and showed it to the cleaning staff. Eric apologized explaining that we were in the jungle and that as much as they cleaned the rooms there would always be the possibility of finding a bug. What about the "rare event" explanation
he gave us the previous night? We spent the next night in the Sanctuary Lodge...hermetic and free of bugs! but it does not compare to the beauty and tranquility of Machu Picchu Pueblo hotel.
So if you ask me: Would you stay in that hotel again? I would tell you: YES, ABSOLUTELY!!!!! ...but with a big can of Raid.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the insects in the room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank worldadmirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

This hotel has an excellent location and a beautiful setting. But that is all!
It is expensive for what it offers. We paid more than US$ 400 per night for a room, which was dark , humid and on the first floor. We were told that this was already an upgrade, and that they could not give us a different room. We have never asked for an upgrade, we were just wishing a room which reflects the price we paid.
The hotel has about 85 rooms and it was probably filled to 80%. The evenings turned out to be a fight for a place at the chimeney: They have two places, which can accomodate about 12 people, Comparing that they must have had more than 100 guests you can imagine how demanded this place was...
The lady recepcionist gave us a long speech when we arrived even tough it was evident, and we told her so, that we were very tired coming from Machhupichu ruins. She also said that there were two times for dinner either at 7.00pm or at 8.30 pm. We decided to take the 7.pm to which she said this time was fully booked at the main restaurant, so we would have to have dinner at the cafe shop, which usually was used for groups and not for individual travelers like us. Even tough we insisted that we would like a place at the main dining room, the receptionist said this was impossible because the place was fully booked.It turned out to be that the cafe shop was a cold empty place and not inviting for dinner. So my husband decided at 7.pm to go directly to the main dining room and ask if we could have dinner there. This was perfectly possible and we realized that the place was not even fully booked, having about 60% of occupancy.
On next morning, we woke up early to go to the ruins again and it turned out to be that the hot shower was not working. We had a long debate on the phone with the receptionist when I reported this fact. Until I had to tell her that she was delaying me for going to the ruins early in the morning to see the sunrising and that I would appreciate if they could fix the problem while I was away.
I feel sorry that a lovely setting like the place of the hotel looses in value because of lack of sensibility for good service.

  • Liked — setting
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosotn. MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We booked directly with Inkatera for one night stay. Our trip flights into cuzco were cancelled due to natioanl strikes in Peru. We could not get to Cuzco never mind to Machu Picchu, thertrain was not even running on a regular basis. It was completely out of our control and we could not get there. I let them know as soon as this happened (3 days prior) our whole trip evenu=tually was canceleld after months of planning. They are unwilling to refund any of the over $500 we had paid for food and lodging. We are paying for a vacation that never happened and I understand some charges but not the whole, it is absurd and ridiculous. All other hotels in Pery were very accomodating and even apologetic for teh national situation that forced us to not travel. We have traveled all over the world and such a an approach but a reputable hotel is indomprehensible. They have lost our business for any future travel and that of all of our friends, Iwill even publish soethimg in our newspapaer warning traveleres of such tactics. Very bad managmnet.

Marta

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank tita58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, E-commerce Manager at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2007
Hello tita58,

We really appreciate your preference and understand your frustration; however, the facts are not exactly as stated on your posting.

On July 11 th and 12th, access to Machu Picchu was limited due to local strikes and flights into Cusco were cancelled on July the 11th. On these dates, some passengers were stranded in Lima and Cusco, but most were reaccommodated and rescheduled successfully. The few, travelers who were directly affected by the strikes were fully reimbursed by Inkaterra.

Luckily, the strikes ended on July 12 th and everything went back to normal. Your request for cancellation arrived on July 13th, 2007, one day before your expected arrival date on the 14th and after the problem had been solved. We understand that you cancelled your trip as a preventive measure and had difficulties with your international flight, which is outside our control.

Travel to Machu Picchu requires long term planning, thus our policies are strict regarding cancellations, and therefore we specifically suggest trip cancellation insurance to our visitors. However, we are accommodating with our guests in real difficulties, but cannot extend that courtesy to other cases.

Best,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We also stayed here in july 2007..and.... although the hotel. has beautiful grounds.... we loved all the beautiful birds and plants......thirty minutes after eating dinner..my son was deathly ill ..crying and vomiting all nite....the staff was not very friendly..and was worried about getting the room by 11:00 am the next morning..we traveled all over also..and was not sick anywhere else..I am sure there is a problem in the kitchen..also could not get any face cloths..it took two hours and five phone calls to get any service..we didnt get to go on any of the nature walks as they were not friendly.. We found most employees very rude. although when I finally got to the manager..he did give us some gatorade for dehydration..due to all the vomiting.

  • Liked — beautiful birds and plants
  • Disliked — terrible staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank busygirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Commercial Director at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2007
Dear busygirl2006,

Thank you for your comments, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Your experience came as a surprise, since we pride ourselves for having personal and responsive staff especially under difficult circumstances. Food quality and freshness are usually very high on our guest satisfaction surveys. Thus, were are very worried and sorry to hear of your son's bad food experience in Peru and your unpleasant stay in Machu Picchu . We asked the hotel management to clarify details about your case.

Unfortunately, stomach related difficulties are not uncommon in Peru due to the poor water quality at main cities, high altitude, spicy seasoning and varying degrees of hygiene. We understand that food related difficulties have various causes and varying incubation periods which can range from minutes to several days. Thus, most of the time it is very difficult to pinpoint their exact origin. Severe cases of food poisoning, with symptoms appearing in less than an hour, are associated with high poisoning which affects everyone exposed. This is why, we take extreme precautions selecting our suppliers, handling our foods, disinfecting all vegetables, maintaining strict kitchen standards and why we use only filtered spring water at the hotel.

We have no reports of such circumstances at Inkaterra Machu Picchu. Our Property Manager told us that your son had eaten Mexican food for lunch taken at a small restaurant in the village (which we don´t encourage) and had pasta and boiled tomatoes with us for dinner. He also told us that he personally visited you at your room, offered the assistance of a doctor, provided tea, Gatorade at your request and granted a complimentary lunch and late check out to help you attend your sick child.

We are again very sorry to hear of your case and are particularly concerned that our staff could not fully explain the circumstance and be of further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Property: Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing