We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay in agua...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay in agua...”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This is the place to stay in agua calientes if you can at all afford it. The common areas and grounds are cozy and gorgeous, the food is excellent, and the staff are friendly. Free wifi is a plus. Great place for viewing birds as well. In my view the hotel is a destination in itself and makes staying a night or two in AC worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,735
    535
    145
    57
    44
See reviews for
508
1,218
75
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Our stay at Inkaterra was one of the high points of our trip to Peru. All the staff was so helpful and sincerely wanted our stay to be memorable. We took the Nature Tour upon arrival and also viewed the Inka Trail presentation that evening - both were informative and enjoyable. The absolute best was our Machu Picchu tour (arranged through the hotel) with guide "Braulio" - his knowledge and passion for the MP site was incredible!!! If budget allows and you want an unique experience, then definately stay at Inkaterra.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
296 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

The room is, to say the least, spartan, which was a surprise considering the price. The door had a big gap under it (which we filled with a pillow to keep the bugs out). On the other hand the grounds are absolutely lovely and the dinner was excellent. There are tons of steps, sort of like Machu Picchu itself, so after a long day of climbing steps you wonder if you really want to climb some more just to get to your room. Since it has so much lush greenery there are bugs galore; we were covered up and walked quickly so that was not much of a problem.

If you are going to Machu Picchu this is a fine place to say for one or two nights; just know that it is "natural" and you will not be surprised.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExperiencedTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Really enjoyed this hotel where everyone was really helpful. A lovely setting and great evening meal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTLondonSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

the hotel is in a nice setting and offer few additional amenities, like spa, free bird watching tours, and a pool. unfortunately, the sauna needs to be booked 1hr in advance, the massages are overpriced, the pool is cold, you will need to rent binoculars at $10 for the birdwatching, etc. one would think that at the $500 per night price tag these additional amenities should not carry hidden fees. the biggest problem is the hotel's restaurant. it took them 1hr 30 min to serve us dinner, whereas half of the items on the menu were not available. they told us dinner, breakfast and lunch are included. we ordered lunch from the menu without prices and the waiter wrote our room number. when we finished eating they slapped us with an enormous bill. when we complained, they didn't want to take any responsibility for not letting us know that lunch is not included before we ordered. we wasted about 45 min of our time arguing with the reception staff whose english language skills were at a conveniently variable rate. after the tour agency took the responsibility of paying for the lunch, the restaurant slapped us with another bill only for the alcohol consumed at a price about $3 more of what it was written on the previous bill. sorry to say, one does not expect such fraudulent and petty behavior from a top rated hotel. we would have been better off staying at one of the $50 per night hotels in the area and make sure we pay for all our meals.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mometo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We booked a small group tour through AAA and General Tours and it was ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC. I highly recommend taking a tour that is booked through AAA ....at every stop on our trip we were treated like royalty and the tour was very reasonably priced for what we received. The INKATERRA was like a hotel you'd find in paradise or on lifestyles of the rich and famous.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dfischer91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
243 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

This is a very pretty hotel in lovely grounds, it must be the nicest building in the whole town. Breakfast was diappointing given the level of hotel and pricing. Dinner was OK, nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likest0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
969 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Property: Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing