We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,875)
Filter reviews
2,875 results
Traveler rating
1,974
620
170
65
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,974
620
170
65
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird watching cloud forest tea plantation nature walk humming birds spectacled bear orchid tour hot water bottles outdoor shower orchid garden eco center orchid walk open fire quinoa pancakes hotel grounds machu picchu flora and fauna
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 2,875 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here after our Machu Picchu visit. The hotel is a naturalist’s dream...it is so lovely. There are numerous casitas scattered about the property so you will have plenty of privacy. The casitas are lovely and spacious with the biggest king size bed we have ever slept in...the food was wonderful. Breakfast buffet plentiful...the hotel took care of transporting our luggage to the train station which was very much appreciated...the staff was delightful...my only negative is the amount of steps you have to climb to get around the property...steps, steps, and then more step...definitely not WC accessible ...if mobility not an issue would then highly recommend this property

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank cheekyrn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, Marketing Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We are very sorry that your stay was not as expected; Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel occupies a private five-hectare (12-acre) mountainside reserve, is an Andean village hotel, built on uneven grounds, due to the geography of the area, therefore the use of stairs was necessary included in the hotel design.

We appreciate the time you took to write about us and we feel extremely honored for your kind comments for our staff that is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

It is a pleasure that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the rest of Inkaterra properties.

Thank you for recommending Inkaterra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We loved everything about this unique hotel... from the gorgeous common areas to our treehouse-like room to the lanterns hanging from the trees and amazing food at both of the on site restaurants. After a long day of traveling and hiking in the mwe lucky to sink in to the comfy beds

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank flwrpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

This is a much larger Inkaterra than the one in the Sacred Valley, however, the fact that it is a cluster of casitas and rooms, scattered in the jungle, along walkways, doesn't make it feel so massive. Every guest room is assigned a naturalist who can take you on walks to see the orchids the birds flora and fauna and to understand the property on the Urubamba.
Our room was towards the back of the complex and had a fireplace, a queen size bed, beautiful picture windows with sitting area looking out to the mountains over the river the trees and birds.
The hotel's dining room is quite large with extremely high ceilings and on the river over the train tracks for great views if you sit at those window seats. Outside the dining room the bar area is a little too small, and the bar was a little too crowded because the bartender could not keep up with orders and there was a long wait. Not quite well enough staffed. Adjacent to the bar area outside the dining room, are two other "living room" spaces for overflow or lounging, that are nice seating areas, nearer the concierge - all this in a separate building from check in.
If you are mobilty-challenged, this would not be a very good hotel for you.
Breakfast was a good buffet and good items to order on the menu with service that was pretty quick. Dinner was good, well-presented, and timely service also.
If you want to explore the options in Aguas Calientes, there are a multitude and they are short walk outside the hotel door and across the bridge over the waterfall. You might want to remember, however, that this is a relatively remote village and everything must come in by train so you have to include that in the cost... which means anything you see there that you like you can probably find for much less in Cusco.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank VirginiaCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, Marketing Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, is a select boutique nature hotel considered “The Garden of Eden” by Condé Nast Traveler, lets you experience life at an exclusive royal Inca retreat for your stay.

Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel occupies a private five-hectare (12-acre) mountainside reserve, located at the foot of Machu Picchu Mountain, near the Machu Picchu Pueblo railroad station. With the look and feel of a rustic Andean Village, this welcoming retreat offers travellers an authentic travel experience, in an atmosphere of refinement and thoughtful hospitality.

The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and gardens; trails wander through wild forest. This is a place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Inca civilization, feeling an authentic travel in an atmosphere of refinement, caring, and warm hospitality.

Thank you for taking the time to share these lovely comments with us. We are pleased that you keep great memories of your stay at our property, thank you for your kind comments for our facilities and service.

We hope to welcome you again at this or other Inkaterra property.

Thank you for staying at InkaterraMachu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

We stayed here, at the smartest hotel in Aguas Calientes, and were somewhat underwhelmed - the service was very poor, with constant interruptions by staff delivering towels and linen to our rooms multiple times, and giving us a 6.30 am alarm call we had not asked for .The restaurant was pretty average; the staff tried hard, but not all were trained as well as might have been expected.
The very best thing about the hotel was that it has two spectacled bears, rescued from a circus, which are housed in luxury in the woods. Paddington Bear was the same species, which was of interest to our daughter back home in the UK. The man who took us to see them was very knowledgeable and obviously well known to the bears, which were both in wonderful condition.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

On the positive side, the setting, in a cloud forest with many birds, was great, and the food was excellent. But the facility needs updating, and it has the feeling of a large, impersonal hotel. The slippers provided were heavy rubber, did not fit, and probably had been not cleaned from prior guests. The large, heavy key rings could not fit into a pocket. Doors and cupboards had cumbersome latches, and the room was dark The signs on the large property are inadequate causing us to wander around unnecessarily.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank gottatravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews