We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

Visited Machu Picchu in March 2008 for 2 day/ 1 night.

Wow, what an amazing location for a hotel.
Originally we were meant to stay at the Sanctuary Lodge, however at the last minute our travel agent booked us into the Inkaterra since the Sanctuary was overbooked – which is the best thing that could of happened since the Inkaterra was an awesome hotel!

On first arrival at the hotel I was a little sceptical since it was raining heavily and the hotel looked dated and was sort of not what I expected (although I am not sure what I was expecting). But once we got into the room and had a shower in the beautiful bathroom with one big skylight as the roof I was in love with the Inkaterra.

The room was also very cosy, even though we did not have a fire place. The room was equipped with mosie repellent and lovely oils to keep the nasty bugs at bay. The room was extremely tranquil and so was the setting. Our room was in a block of about 6 rooms, but we did not hear a sound from other guests. We found the rooms to be very peaceful…all you could hear was nature. Additionally on first entering the room I was shocked that there was no TV or mini-bar, but it really added to the whole
Ambience of the hotel – you really do not need a TV or mini-bar when you can sit on your balcony and listen to nature.

Unfortunately we did not get an opportunity to enjoy the spa or the jungle tour and the many other activities on offer in the hotel. We wished we had booked the Inkaterra for at least an additional two days to enjoy some of the amazing activities on offer.

Location: Excellent, in the Jungle and walking distance to the town.
Food: All meals were outstanding. Selection and service exceptional.
Reception: Staff very friendly, informative and helpful
Rooms: Tranquil & cosy.

I don’t want to carry on too much but this hotel was fantastic and we loved every minute of our stay.

  • Liked — The location!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,657
    511
    136
    52
    42
See reviews for
476
1,162
74
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

As others have said, this is the place to stay near MP. It is worth the cost difference because even if there were no Machu Picchu nearby, this hotel would be worth a stay as a true luxury lodge experience. The food was excellent, the service outstanding, and the nature walks (we did birds and orchids) are unique and worthwhile.

MP itself was great and the hotel added to the spirit of healing of the area. One disruption we did have was that a farmers strike closed the rail line into and out of MP for the day we were to leave. Eventually that evening, the tracks were repaired and everyone got out safely. Just one of those things that can come up in a developing country.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank advisorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

This hotel is stunning. It is situated in the town of Aguas Calientes so has lots of markets stalls around along with restaurants. The train station is literally next door so you don't have far to go on arrival from Cusco/Ollantaytambo.

Although you have to take a bus to Machu Picchu from the hotel, it is only a 20 min ride, and a scenically pleasing one at that! Plus the buses are there all the time, so you never have to wait for long! The first bus goes up at 5.30 so you are always there by 6.00 when the gates open to the site, therefore you can still be up there to witness the beautiful sunrises!

The hotel itself is a haven, filled with beautiful flora and fauna, with accommodation scattered around the extensive site, separated by little walkways and waterfalls. It really is very private and a lovely place to relax.

I was lucky enough to stay in a room which had it's own private hot tub in the garden - WOW!!! This would be a perfect room for honeymooners - as the garden also has a huge double bed to lounge around on, along with an outdoor shower and a hugh double indoor one!!!

Food here is a treat, especially the lunch menu - there are never ending delights in this property and I would recommend this as the number one place to stay in Machu Picchu!

I booked my trip with 360 Luxuries - they offer a great tailor made service in Peru, using only the best hotels. They have a website which is worth a look too: [-]

  • Liked — Thefabulous big spacious rooms and attention to detail
  • Disliked — The expensive excursions and the service could have been slightly more efficient
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank adele81london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyertown, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

We just came back from an incredible stay at the Inkaterra. We debated where we wanted to stay while visiting Machu Picchu. The Sanctuary Lodge is supposedly "the place". After looking at the options, I came upon the Inkaterra. I am so happy that we made the choice to stay at this property. The grounds are fabulous. They have incredible 5 star dining. You can spend days just wandering through there beautiful landscaping wathcing birds. All of their programs are included with your hotel stay...except to see the speculated bear. The money used for the viewing is used to preserve habitat for the bear in Peru. You will not be disappointed. Highly recommended and would stay again.

  • Liked — Every aspect of the property, staff, and rooms meet your expectations and more
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

Inkaterra Machu Picchu, is another hotel to which I would happily return. From the moment we arrived I was impressed. When we hopped off the train we were able to turn our luggage over to hotel porters waiting at the station and proceed directly to Machu Picchu.
This hotel is well located a 5-minute walk to the train station, the Machu Picchu bus access point and set in beautifully maintained grounds. The rooms were well appointed and everything worked.
Internet access is free on 3 computers in dining area between two rail lines (we only had to wait briefly for access). The check in and out processes were completely painless. Staff were plentiful, responsive and attentive. Unfortunately, the check out time was before lunch, but there was no complication in having checked out prior to enjoying a great lunch, before our early afternoon train. The bar and restaurant facilities were well used, and I would encourage guests to seek reservations in the upper dining room on arrival. They have a similar policy of free drinks to the Inkaterra in the Amazon, with included “mix and match” during meals and a “Pisco Sour Hour”. While I understand the menu is the same in both dining rooms, the upper dining room is more interesting. The breakfast buffet was very good with at least 6 hot choices, and a better than average selection of the typical juice-fruit-cereals-breads-cheeses-sliced meat choices.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — They could have used a couple of more computers for internet access
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dad54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

We stayed at the Inkaterra while visiting Machu Picchu. The staff and grounds at this hotel were amazing. We arranged a tour of Machu Picchu thru the hotel and it was well worth the money. Our private tour guide gave us an educated history and overview of the grounds. While at the hotel we spent time in the lounge area for pisco sour hour and then for dinner. The food was amazing. This hotel is pricey but I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TRAVELNAKED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

I stayed here with 3 friends and it was fantastic. We thought the food was great , service even better, free pisco sours and the setting is out of this world. You have to stay one night at least and then go to Machu Picchu the next morning when it is misty and before the tourists arrive on the 10am train. The sauna is unbelievable. Would return tomorrow.... if only I could. Yes it is expensive but book a tour to be included and it is better that way.

  • Liked — unique and in a cloud forest
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BBLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Property: Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing