We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It looks like the buildings grew from the forest floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“It looks like the buildings grew from the forest floor”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

A beautiful, huge property (over 100 acres?), with buildings nestled throughout. The architecture and finishes are wonderful and fit beautifully and the whole site feels completely natural. You can take several hikes and never leave the property - to see birds, a tea farm or plants. Thoroughly relaxed and peaceful atmosphere prevails throughout - and yet - you're a stone's throw from the train and from the buses to Machu Picchu. We regretted that our stay here wasn't longer.

Room Tip: The rooms are dispersed throughout the property, so if you have mobility concerns, you might ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

Inkaterra Machu Picchu is located in five-hectare (12.3-acre) of pristine cloudforest. We are glad that you enjoyed our stay with us and hope to welcome you again in a next opportunity.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,748
    544
    147
    57
    44
See reviews for
513
1,232
75
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We were so fortunate to have had Kuoda Tours book this hotel for us in Aquas Calientes. What an amazing "eco-lodge" feel.
Beautiful facility with wonderful, attentive service. The food in the restaurants was top-notch and we couldn't decide which server was our favorite, all were so nice!
Rooms were very comfortable, with a fire laid in in the fire place. Fabulous!
We took advantage of the hot stone massages in the spa. It was really heaven and we'd have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed in this hotel following a beautiful 7 day trek through peru and it was by far the worst food we recieved during out whole stay despite our other locations being in the middle of nowhere. The hotel itself is quite nice and the staff are friendly but the jungle like surroundings are all a little tacky for me but thats more personal taste. The rooms are comforable but the bed linen was extremely hard which made the beds quite uncomforable. We stayed in the first floor of a villa quite far from the lobby of the hotel so it was difficult to find and the fact that there was no light on the outside stairs up to the villa made the walk even more difficult. None of this would have been a major issue apart from the ridiculously expensive prices you pay and the food being absoloutly appalling. We had breakfast lunch and dinner in the hotel and the following day my mother got a very high temperature and an extremely upset stomach. I know you cannot 100% blame any place for food posiioning but it is very likely as she did not eat anywhere else so the timing was right and also the food was extremely poor quality. Our entire stay in peru we ate local simple food and did not have a problem. The dinner we recieved was in the cafe of the hotel which was very busy. As we did not eat meat we had the trout, It was hard and did not taste in anyway fresh - none of our party ate it. The next day we had what they called sea bass - but it did not seem like sea bass- again the food was inedible with the same problem - it was extremely tough and did not taste remotely like fish. None of our table who ordered it - 3 out of 3 again in total could not eat much of it despite us being starving but none of us were asked if there was a problem. Other food included a potatoe salad which tasted artificial. The breakfast also was far from great. The fruit was fine but the bread was simply dreadful and tasted days old. Unfortunatly the choices aren't great in aguas calientes as its a tourist trap town but I would avoid wasting my money on this place

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank adon1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing about our property.

Let us assure you that Inkaterra works with the highest standards for handling and manipulating food and give special importance in getting the best products to guarantee the quality and the freshness of our meals. Because of our precautions, our restaurants usually receive the best comments from our reviewers; we will review our processes to guarantee the quality offered.

We would like to thank you again for taking the time to contact us and for your kind comments for our staff that are always willing to assist all of our guests.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Just amazing, housed in little lodges in the mountain in-between the forest is stunning.. arriving via train and walking over the bridge the resort style property integrates with the local nature, with hummingbirds gathering at every corner. Amazing the owner has also put together a bear santuary to save the bears.. We were lucky to have a private experience where we feeding them. Hight recommended the only place to stay don't be duped to stay at the Orient Express property, this is the best by miles..
Don't use Inkaterra Expereince's (different company) to manage your travel though as they are terrible

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

Inkaterra is a Peruvian organization with 39 years of experience providing our guests with authentic nature experiences. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at our property and appreciate your lovely comments.

Inkaterra Experience provides private and customized trips exclusively for our guests. For years we have assisted our guests with their travel plans to Peru, including a personalized concierge service available 24/7 (24 hours a day, 7 days a week) during their visit. We appreciate your comments that will help us to keep improving in our service.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

After 8 days of trekking (ok, we did the Mountain Lodges of Peru trip..... but with a private guide and a bit more intense than the normal programme) the last hotel was just what you needed... Nestled in the hillsides with forests, rivers and pools this rather large facility seemed small as privacy was indeed the theme. We had upgraded to a superior room, the only unfortunate part was our Tour Operator had upgraded us to a Junior Suite, but there were non available.

Going through various paths we arrived to our spacious room with a nice sitting area looking amonst the forest and towards Machu Picchu. Our room was located close to the spa, but it was very quiet and no noise could be heard from the Andean Sauna to people relaxing in the Aquas Calientes pools.

The Spa facilities are not included in the room price and as are expensive as any international hotel in the biggest international cities. I opted out of a massage, but my husband tried the Andean Spa. A leave made hut with hot stones and herbs, relaxing with the birds singing outside. Fresh orange juice awaited you everytime you went out to cool down.

Everyone is invited to the cosy bar. Several nooks and crannies all with real wood burning fireplaces. Piscou Sour is the offered drink, just one, but it is hard to stop at only one as they are delicious.

We ate two meals at the Inkaterra Cafe, the food was excellent. Our fresh river trout so good the first time, we opted for the same dish the second night. An apertizer to try is the black quinoa stuffed pepper...

Service exemplary, only regret, I did not book us in a Junior Suite or a Suite at the beginning, when I was there and went through the website of the hotel, the benefits were incredible. Recommendation, go fo it if you can. In room diving, private splash pool....

Room Tip: If it the special trip you have waited for, go for the Junior Suite or one of the Suites. You can p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polarbearpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The location is quite close to the train station and not a long walk to the buses for the trip to Machu Picchu.

We checked-in in the evening after spending the afternoon walking around the ruins. It was raining (not unusual) and we were dismayed to discover that all of the rooms are located in villas scattered through the rainforest and that our villa was a long walk uphill on an open path in the rain - not what we wanted at the end of a tiring day.

There was no umbrella in the room and we did not find the dark wooden floor of our room very appealing and the supplied room slippers are not of the cellophane wrapped cotton variety but rather old used leather ones that we found to be sticky and refused to wear.

Everything else was quite ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us.

Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel occupies a private five-hectare (12.3-acre) of pristine cloudforest, the spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and gardens; trails wander through wild forest creating a lovely Andean village ambience.

As you mentioned, rain is not unusual in the area so we usually put umbrellas in our guests´ casitas (rooms) as well as in public areas; we are very sorry for the inconvenience described and we will review our procedures to guarantee every casita is equipped with umbrellas.

We recommend our guest to stay at least 2 nights so they can take the best of their visit. They could visit the Citadel in their second day, enjoy our free excursions provided within hotel grounds (Birds, Orchids, Nature, Tea and Twilight Walk) or just take some time to relax.

We would like to thank you again for taking the time to write us and for providing your feedback that will help us to keep improving.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The perfect place to recuperate in after the inca trail. The hotel is beautiful, with open fires and a great bar, the pool and spa are fantastic ways to stop your muscles hurting after the inca trail. Both restaurants serve great food and the hotel runs a number of activities - We learnt how to make tea which was really interesting and good fun

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel offers travelers an authentic travel experience, in an atmosphere of refinement and thoughtful hospitality. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit.

As our property is set in a private five-hectare (12.3-acre) of pristine cloudforest, we offer several excursions within hotel grounds that our guests can enjoy. We are happy to hear that you had a great time at our Tea excursion.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
2,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Property: Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing