We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Totana, Spain
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

An ideal base for Match Picchu, next to the railway station and a short walk to the small town Aqua Calientes. Staff were friendly and welcoming....Oromo was quite a walk away but that was fine. It was clean and comfy with all the usual facilities....including an open fire if needed.
Meals were good with a varied local menu....again staff were great....and dinner overlooking the river was nice.
It rained the whole time we were there....normal for a cloud forest location....but there were plenty of umbrellas and a walk through the jungle plants watching hummingbirds was nice.
A jungle paradise close to one of the worlds great heritage sites.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emlyn8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,715
    524
    140
    55
    43
See reviews for
495
1,201
75
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We just stayed a couple of nights. Had a fireplace and windows near the river. Opened the windows at night, lighted a fire and it was awesome. Meals, spa, awesome grounds all made for an amazing stay.

Checked out the Sanctuary Lodge at Machu Picchu and we were so glad we decided to stay here instead. Lots of bus traffic and noise up there.

Room Tip: Go for a fireplace. Is an awesome addition to the experience.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank txncruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at the Inkaterroa Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel and enjoyed it greatly@ It was like being back in time and the room was pure elegance! The restaurant was beutiful and the staff made it even better, The grounds of the area are too beautiful for words!
We were so tired and worn out afte a wonderful day at Machu Picchu this hotel was like heaven to us! Wish we could have stayed longer, but the souvenirs i the room for us to bring home still reminder us of the beautiful place.
If you are going to Machc Picchu, please dont miss staying at this hotel!! Heavenly!!!

Room Tip: we had a suite with an outdoor spa that was in a woods setting with a waterfall!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fshldydn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel is too ecochic for luxury. If you hate mosquitos, this is not the place for you.

Location: excellent - right next to train station and near bus to get onto Machu Pichu. The grounds look scenic but it was too dark to go bird watching or look at orchids.

Spa: Massage itself was good. Wasn't a fan of the reed flooring with plastic on top. Felt too much like a tent.

Restaurant: We were a very large party and it took forever to serve us. Not exactly their fault that we were a large party.

Shower: definitely required "shower slippers" but hotel slippers were worn before and did not look clean. No shower curtain (awkward if you are sharing a double with a friend!). We were afraid we would run out of hot water and the temperature was hard to control.

Mosquitos! There was a gap in our sliding door to let bugs in. I slept slathered myself in deet and slept with a citronella candle on. No vent in bathroom = must open window in bathroom = mosquitos/bugs

Cleanliness:
We got a boxed breakfast to go (kudos to them for this accommodation) but the bread was moldy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We enjoyed this gorgeous lodging with the grounds that are unbelievable. If you only have a couple of days this charming slightly rustic place will suit you. You can do all kinds of hotel tours of the birds , garden ,tea growing, orchids, etc included in your stay. You can also book a tour I believe even if you stay somewhere else. The naturalists are superb and English is much appreciated. We were here in February and there are no crowds and the weather was fine for us.
The restaurant is especially good

Room Tip: There is a walk because this lodging is spread out but so beautiful I will never forget it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarad32530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel is outstanding design in an outstanding location. I really enjoy reading Tripadvisor comments especially the 2 or 3% negative ones. The trains are small 4 or 5 cars that stop running at 9pm or so. How the train noise can bother anyone is strange to me and the river noise is a pleasant background sound. The design is spectacular and yes it has stone walking paths and small steps with no elevators or hand rails. If you like luxry in nature this is for you. If you want a Marriott or Four Seasons then you probably should not even visit Machu Picchu. Anyone needing a TV is strange. Yes I can always fine small details missing but 95% perfect is very good. There is no AC which is needed for some to remove the dampness, there could be more towels, more mirrors, better service at times but I have not found a 100% perfect hotel. I could not create a better hotel in this location.

Room Tip: If you are particular, I would ask to see a couple as ever place is very different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingKeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write this lovely review about our property. Inkaterra is a Peruvian organization with 39 years of experience in sustainable tourism initiatives providing travelers with authentic nature experiences in Peru.

Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel is one of Inkaterra’s properties, located in a private five-hectare (12.3-acre) mountainside reserve; the spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and gardens; trails wander through wild forest making it a perfect base for your visit to Machu Picchu.

We would also like to thank you for your feedback that encourages us to keep improving our services.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra during your visit to Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

From the moment we arrived after exploring Machu Picchu during the day we were treated with care and style. Upon arrival we were given a scented towel to relieve the fatigue and tension from the days activities. Our room was well appointed and appropriately decorated for a tropical jungle setting. Dinner was with a tour group so we did not truly experience the extent of the menu in the restaurant, but the morning breakfast was one of the best we have had in Peru. The hotel offers various guided walks around the property and we opted for the nature walk which was quite informative. I highly recommend it or one of the others. Since we did not pay for this room as it was part of our tour package and I don't know the prices of other hotels in Aguas Calientes, I cannot speak to the value, but it was a very pleasant and relaxing visit. I would go back on my own dime for sure and perhaps for more than one night.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with fireplaces. Ours did not have one, but we could smell the wood burning an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoweAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about our property.

Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel is a welcoming retreat that offers travelers an authentic travel experience, in an atmosphere of refinement and thoughtful hospitality; we are very glad that you enjoyed your experience at Inkaterra and will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in a next occasion.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra during your visit to Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.3 mi away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Property: Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing